VLAN success on WRT1900ACSv2, WRT3200ACM, et al.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
SurprisedItWorks
DD-WRT Guru

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 22:04    Post subject: VLAN success on WRT1900ACSv2, WRT3200ACM, et al. Reply with quote
[edited Nov. 6, 2018 and Nov. 22, 2018 to make minor corrections and clarify.]
[Edited May 17, 2019 to point out the tremendous simplifications developed by TheDude1864. See the posts below, at least four of them, beginning on May 13, 2019]

I have VLANning working on the two-cpu WRT1900ACSv2 (running dd-wrt Brainslayer build 36698). In view of the many failed attempts discussed in the forum on VLANning the two-cpu WRTs, I felt I should share. Disclaimer: I am an engineer by profession, but I work in a completely different field. I am not a networking engineer or a computer engineer. I'm basically making all this up. So offer fixes if you spot the need!

Also, note that things are significantly different for the one-cpu WRTs, so this discussion will not apply directly to those routers, though it may give you some useful clues for your own exploration.