DD-WRT ON LA FONERA... IT'S TIME!!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39  Next
Author Message
Xavior
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 23:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, yeah I must have had the Fonera connected wired to the WRT54GS network. It doesn't seem to work in client bridged or client mode. The computer is unable to obtain an ip address once the cable has been removed from the Fonera. It works fine when the cable is plugged in, but then that kinda defeats the purpose of it being a repeater.
Sponsor
yozh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
yeah what about 3-13-07 ?
shiekh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 199
Location: Grand Junction, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 23:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to report on the USB to TTL adaptor; works just fine on a Mac (^C is recognized without any problem using ZTerm)

About $25 with postage.
http://www.sigma-shop.com/product_info.php/products_id/146
Drivers at http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

I particularly like this unit because it:
* has a 3.3V output option and gets its power from the USB (need connect only 3 wires)
* uses a common USB cable connector
* has drivers for all common platforms (Windows, Mac, Linux)

and no problem with it needing to be connected some point in the start-up cycle.

I took the connector from a bust PC power supply.


Last edited by shiekh on Fri Mar 16, 2007 19:21; edited 12 times in total
burnte
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Pennsylvania USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 23:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
You only ned RX and TX for these kits. What would the third be? Ground isn't really needed with these.
shiekh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 199
Location: Grand Junction, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 0:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried, it works with the ground wire, and does not without...

Last edited by shiekh on Fri Jul 13, 2007 21:37; edited 1 time in total
yozh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 23:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
ANy comments on the latest builds ? I was out for a bit ? MAC fileter works yet ?with AP +WDS Tab ?
d0im
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 21:00    Post subject: dhcp & routing for lan? Reply with quote
I'm running DD-WRT v24 Beta (03/23/07) on my la fonera - flashing worked fine - thanks :)

However I'm wondering if the network settings are correctly applied. I have set the WAN interface to a static ip address and the wlan in briding mode, however the bridge (br0) just contains ath0 - so for what?
At least the internet is working for the wlan interface ath0 :)

But it would be great if I could get it to also act als dhcp server + router for the LAN (= ethernet port). Had someone success with something like that?

It seams that it treats WAN and LAN ports as the same - eth0. The virtual interface just points to the private IP :169.254.255.1 and so isn't used..

I tried to manually put eth0 to the bridge br0, but obviously then the internet doesn't work any more as the WAN needs eth0 too...
joksi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 1240

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
When you choose client bridge mode, both eth0 and ath0 will be contained in the bridge automatically. You dont need to use commands in the shell for the webinterface functions.

Everything works as it should. I have 0323 now since its release two days, and it works great.
d0im
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 13:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't want to have a wireless bridge - sry perhaps my explanation wasn't to good..

The fonera should act as AP as well as gateway for the (ethernet)LAN. But for WAN the ethernet port is also needed with another IP address.
I'd prefer a bridge between the WLAN and the LAN, but I don't know if it's possible that way, so routing between two different subnets (WLAN,LAN) would also be ok..
joksi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 1240

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 16:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
You want your fonera to have LAN both on WLAN side and on ethernet, and at the same time have WAN on the ethernet too. Have I understood you right?

If thats the case, it should be able, if you set eth0:1 to WAN and eth0:2 to LAN
d0im
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Mar 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 16:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
yep, correctly!
Can this be done with the webinterface? I've found no way to do it :/
capitaine_choc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
shiekh wrote:
Anyone got the client-bridge mode working yet?
Too bad cause I wanna use a fonera like this!
shiekh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 199
Location: Grand Junction, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Client Bridge Success FW 03/23/07
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=13039
capitaine_choc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the info!
capitaine_choc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Posts: 21
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm gonna try

Last edited by capitaine_choc on Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:23; edited 1 time in total
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 35 of 39
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum