Openwrt K on la Fonera without serial console...when DD-WRT?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Author Message
billibling
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
where is the link to heini66 mirror?

i tried to compile timbuktus new 102 mb source file and i end up in this
make[4]: Leaving directory `/kamikaze_r5946/package/wireless-tools'
make[3]: Leaving directory `/kamikaze_r5946/package'
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S10boot' to `/etc/init.d/boot': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S50cron' to `/etc/init.d/cron': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S60dnsmasq' to `/etc/init.d/dnsmasq': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S50dropbear' to `/etc/init.d/dropbear': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S45firewall' to `/etc/init.d/firewall': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S50httpd' to `/etc/init.d/httpd': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S40network' to `/etc/init.d/network': No such file or directory
ln: creating symbolic link `/kamikaze_r5946/build_mips/root/etc/rc.d/S50telnet' to `/etc/init.d/telnet': No such file or directory
make[2]: *** [install] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/kamikaze_r5946/package'
make[1]: *** [package/install] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/kamikaze_r5946'
Build failed. Please re-run make with V=99 to see what's going on
make: *** [world] Error 1
Sponsor
Camicia
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 6:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Andre(hw0012),
I guess you turned it off while it was flashing or something went wrong during the flash process. Serai console should be sufficient. In case it is not, JTAG will resurrect your Fonera.

Camicia
hw0012
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi there, what I did was typing these four lines
Quote:
cd /tmp
wget http://coppercore.net/~kevin/fon/openwrt-ar531x-2.4-vmlinux-CAMICIA.lzma
mtd -e vmlinux.bin.l7 write openwrt-ar531x-2.4-vmlinux-CAMICIA.lzma vmlinux.bin.l7
reboot

after enter, the Fonera startet rebooting (ssh connections was closed). Does the flash process start during the reboot? (sorry for my dump question) Because after about ~5 Minutes after the reboots nothing was happening, so i pulled the power of it. Should I wait longer on this Process? I order 2 new Foneras and Serial MAX232 Kit, so it will be good to know it better next time. How long can the flashing last, after the reboot (the first 4 Lines of the tutorial)?




Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts:

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
billibling wrote:
where is the link to heini66 mirror?
Here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=5083&start=330

And another thing. If you build your own anyway, check out directly from the OpenWrt servers... (https://dev.openwrt.org/)
billibling
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Timbuktu wrote:
billibling wrote:
where is the link to heini66 mirror?
Here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=5083&start=330

And another thing. If you build your own anyway, check out directly from the OpenWrt servers... (https://dev.openwrt.org/)

is there a version that compiles and works ?!
t4thfavor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
wondering if anyone has fixed the WLAN led GPIO issue?

I have been looking for a fix and have not found one.
pobletewireless
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 22:58    Post subject: WHAT MEANS THIS ERROR? Reply with quote
Hi I have installed kamikaze r5959 kernel 2.6 in my fonera but i get this screen in starting up...

BusyBox v1.3.1 (2007-01-02 00:12:29 CET) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/bin/ash: can't access tty; job control turned off
_______ ________ __
| |.-----.-----.-----.| | | |.----.| |_
| - || _ | -__| || | | || _|| _|
|_______|| __|_____|__|__||________||__| |____|
|__| W I R E L E S S F R E E D O M
KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r5959) -------------------
* 10 oz Vodka Shake well with ice and strain
* 10 oz Triple sec mixture into 10 shot glasses.
* 10 oz lime juice Salute!
---------------------------------------------------
What means the line
/bin/ash: can't access tty; job control turned off? How can i solve it? Thanks
jofro
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I ran into the same problem as hw0012, and now have a bricked fonera. I ended up making serial cable and am able to get to redboot. So my question is do i just pick up on step 6 of Camicia's how to?
Thanks,
Joe
Camicia
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Dec 2006
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes.Form step 6 it will be fine
Boom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Camicia I hope you do not mind I made up a wiki page based on your info for installing the Fonera DD-WRT.

The url is http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/La_Fonera

If anybody wants to structure it better feel free, this was my first wiki page.
CanOfMDAmp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 23:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
To those that may be able to help,

I recently aquired a few La Fonera routers through their "Fonero gets Fonera" program for the holidays, and have been trying to get at least one of them into client mode for a while now. I was trying to manually reconfigure the wireless connections and routes and such, but now that DD-WRT has been released for it, I would like to try and reflash, as it seems a bit easier to configure. I attempted to follow your tutorial here, and I came across a problem in the first couple steps.

I already had SSH enabled, so that wasn't an issue, but after I had downloaded the image you hosted, I had trouble rewriting the firmware. I used the "mtd -e ..." command, checked spelling and everything multiple times, but every time I ran it, it would spit back
Code:
Could not open mtd device: vmlinux.bin.17
Can't open device for writing!

And it would then drop me back at a prompt.
If anyone has any idea what that means, please help me out.
mr.f00
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2007 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmmm i guess i skiped the step with vmlinux.bin too,
just try to do this:

cd /tmp
wget http://coppercore.net/~kevin/fon/out.hex
mtd -e "RedBoot config" write out.hex "RedBoot config"
reboot

telnet to it (maybe there will be an error with vmlinux but don't care about)
and than step by step writing the vmlinux image(download with tftp) ... and so on

hope this helps
ruitalia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm using La Fonera v 0.7.1.2 and i'm not flashing that with success :(

I have followed these steps [http://blog.blase16.de/index.php?url=2006/11/28/Hacking-Fonera] but the fonera admin returns this: http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/7558/semttuloaa2.jpg when i try to send
Code:
/usr/sbin/iptables -I INPUT 1 -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
and
Code:
$(/etc/init.d/dropbear)


Have somebody this problem or know how to solve it?

Thanks!
ruitalia
elektik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
ruitalia wrote:
I'm using La Fonera v 0.7.1.2 and i'm not flashing that with success :(

I have followed these steps [http://blog.blase16.de/index.php?url=2006/11/28/Hacking-Fonera] but the fonera admin returns this: http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/7558/semttuloaa2.jpg when i try to send
Code:
/usr/sbin/iptables -I INPUT 1 -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
and
Code:
$(/etc/init.d/dropbear)


Have somebody this problem or know how to solve it?

Thanks!
ruitalia


Did you make sure your internet was not plugged in when you got it? if it auto-updated, you can just reset your settings via your reset button on the bottom on the fonera.
ruitalia
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, when i tried to flash the Internet cable was unplugged. I have read some infos about it and i discovered that v 0.7.1.2 does not support this flash [i upgraded my self to v 0.7.1.2] and i cant reset to v 0.7.1.1 to future flash.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 9
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum