Broadcom repeater bridge. Any good? Opinions?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
StorBeau
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 23:44    Post subject: Broadcom repeater bridge. Any good? Opinions? Reply with quote
I've been trying to make a wireless repeater or repeater bridge for ages. I'd really like to make a secure repeater. Either WPA or WPA2. I'd also like it to be reliable. But I've had bad experiences trying to do this with DD-WRT on Atheros hardware.

I've been hearing a recommendation to buy an Asus RT-N12, and flash to DD-WRT for this.

I just want to know, has anyone done this with WPA or WPA2 security successfully? If so, can you share with me what devices you used, and your config?

All of my repeaters seem to exhibit problems when I test them. Not being able to ping devices including the default gateway on the LAN segment of the router connected to the LAN (the repeated router), getting one PING and missing the next 3, roaming causes a Windows message of a connection to an unsecure network, and the latest one is working perfectly with one network adapter, but not any other. I just want something that works.

I've read all the wiki entries countless times, and read the announcements, so I hope my post conforms to the rules.
Sponsor
ndewan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes .. I have it working, look at my sig for model/build etc.
_________________
===================================
1 * DIR-866L - 29193 Mega (Main Gateway)
1 * EA4200 - 29193 Mega (Main Gateway)
1 * EA6500 - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
1 * EA6500v2 - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
1 * WRT610N - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
===================================
Hammergott
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 19:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Successful WPA2 Repeater-Bridge between Netgear
WNR3500v2 and WNR2000v2 without Problems in
Configuration and Function! All written/read
in/out of Wiki!
On both latest Builds K26 mini 16454!
Regards
Hammergott

_________________
Möge der Hammergott mit Euch sein!
speedy71471
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 20:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
works great for me. (see sig)
_________________
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 16758M NEWD Eko mini-usb-ftp (AP) (OTRW)
Linksys E2000 16758M NEWD-2 K.26 Eko mini (repeater bridge) (on 5GHz)
StorBeau
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 23:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks guys. From my understanding, any Broadcom router can function as a repeater or repeater bridge, correct? Such as an Asus RT-N12 for only AUD $63.

Having said that, I've made a list of your repeater and repeater bridge capable routers, if I understand your signature correctly.

These are the routers that are known to work well with DD-WRT and their prices.

Linksys E2000 - AUD $115
Linksys E3000 - AUD $168
Linksys WRT610Nv1 - AUD $200 (any version)
Netgear WNR2000v2 - AUD $65 (any version)
Netgear WNR3500v2 - AUD $142.00 (any version)

At the time of writing, the Australian dollar was approximately at parity with the US dollar.
speedy71471
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
If its only going to be a repeater go cheap. The E3000 for example would be a total waste.

That E2000 price sure seems high.

Go on eBay, get something used for cheap.

_________________
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 16758M NEWD Eko mini-usb-ftp (AP) (OTRW)
Linksys E2000 16758M NEWD-2 K.26 Eko mini (repeater bridge) (on 5GHz)
ndewan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 23:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
StorBeau wrote:
Thanks guys. From my understanding, any Broadcom router can function as a repeater or repeater bridge, correct? Such as an Asus RT-N12 for only AUD $63.

Having said that, I've made a list of your repeater and repeater bridge capable routers, if I understand your signature correctly.

These are the routers that are known to work well with DD-WRT and their prices.

Linksys E2000 - AUD $115
Linksys E3000 - AUD $168
Linksys WRT610Nv1 - AUD $200 (any version)
Netgear WNR2000v2 - AUD $65 (any version)
Netgear WNR3500v2 - AUD $142.00 (any version)

At the time of writing, the Australian dollar was approximately at parity with the US dollar.


I can vouch for the Cisco/Linksys family. Assuming a AUD/USD parity, your prices are a little high. I will gladly sell you a lightly used WRT610Nv1 and a shrink wrapped E3000 for these prices above ... Smile

There is no way you should pay more for a WRT610V1 than a E3000. The e3000 is a later model (same as WRT610v2).

You should be able to get them for a lot less on Amazon/eBay/craigslist.

I use my e3000/wrt610n's in a RB mode to stream media (tonight's World Cup match will be one) without any problems. Recently has Pandora (3 sessions), Netflix(2 Sessions) and Willow.tv going on simultaneously without any performance problems.

Depends on your usage, sometimes having the horsepower comes in handy.

_________________
===================================
1 * DIR-866L - 29193 Mega (Main Gateway)
1 * EA4200 - 29193 Mega (Main Gateway)
1 * EA6500 - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
1 * EA6500v2 - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
1 * WRT610N - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
===================================
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 0:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Repeaters are for extending antenna range. And any cisco ashtray type model will have deficient range. Get a router with external antennas. They will be intrinsically better. Indubitably!

RT-N16 have gotten some bad reports. Asus 520GU is cheap and works well, if you don't need N.

_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
speedy71471
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 0:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
E2000 has plenty of horsepower for a PS3 Netflix stream at x-high/hd. (for example)

That is not to say it could stream BluRays - it can't.

_________________
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 16758M NEWD Eko mini-usb-ftp (AP) (OTRW)
Linksys E2000 16758M NEWD-2 K.26 Eko mini (repeater bridge) (on 5GHz)
carillon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 0:28    Post subject: E3000 AP with E2000 RB Reply with quote
I'm running build 16403 on both routers.

E3000 wl0 G-Only; wl1 N-Only 5GHz
E2000 N-Only 5GHz

Seems to work fine with speed about half when connected to the RB compared to the AP from the same location in the house. Wish I had bought another E3000 for the RB so I could have two radios on the RB.
speedy71471
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:55    Post subject: Re: E3000 AP with E2000 RB Reply with quote
carillon wrote:
I'm running build 16403 on both routers.

E3000 wl0 G-Only; wl1 N-Only 5GHz
E2000 N-Only 5GHz

Seems to work fine with speed about half when connected to the RB compared to the AP from the same location in the house. Wish I had bought another E3000 for the RB so I could have two radios on the RB.


Why? You could not bond them together even if you did...

_________________
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 16758M NEWD Eko mini-usb-ftp (AP) (OTRW)
Linksys E2000 16758M NEWD-2 K.26 Eko mini (repeater bridge) (on 5GHz)
carillon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks I didn't realize that... I was thinking I would be able to repeat the two different modes on the RB if it also had 2 radios.

So much to learn! Embarassed
speedy71471
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 248

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
carillon wrote:
Thanks I didn't realize that... I was thinking I would be able to repeat the two different modes on the RB if it also had 2 radios.

So much to learn! Embarassed


Supposedly you could do it using WDS but in my opinion (not universally held) WDS sucks.

_________________
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 16758M NEWD Eko mini-usb-ftp (AP) (OTRW)
Linksys E2000 16758M NEWD-2 K.26 Eko mini (repeater bridge) (on 5GHz)
carillon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Speedy, on your configuration are you running N only on your main AP at 2.4GHz and 5.0GHz?

Also, I've looked everywhere for a recommended setting for the E3000/2000 with dd-wrt to put me in the ballpark for best performance and can't find anything. Do you know of anything out there that I could compare to my settings that has been proven stable with better performance that stock firmware?

Thanks
oxygenx
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 566

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 12:56    Post subject: Re: E3000 AP with E2000 RB Reply with quote
speedy71471 wrote:
carillon wrote:
I'm running build 16403 on both routers.

E3000 wl0 G-Only; wl1 N-Only 5GHz
E2000 N-Only 5GHz

Seems to work fine with speed about half when connected to the RB compared to the AP from the same location in the house. Wish I had bought another E3000 for the RB so I could have two radios on the RB.


Why? You could not bond them together even if you did...

He could use one radio as client bridge and one as ap. by that you'll get the full speed.

_________________
Router: WNDR3300 (wl0: n-Only 5Ghz, WPA2-AES, wl1: g-Only, WPA-Mixed-Mixed)
WDS Node 1: WNDR3300 (wl0: n-Only 5Ghz, WPA2-AES, WDS-connected Router, wl1: g-Only WPA-Mixed-Mixed)
WDS Node 2: WRT54GL (g-Only, WPA-Mixed-Mixed WDS-connected to Router)
Modem: Cisco EPC3202
clients: Notebook 1, D-Link 323, PS3 Slim, Kathrein UFC960 connected to WDS Node 1 via Gigabit Switch. Notebook 2, Deskjet 6980 connected to WDS Node 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum