Static DNS not taking effect!!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
trimi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 19:41    Post subject: Static DNS not taking effect!!! Reply with quote
Hello,
I installed DD-WRT on my wireless router Linksys WRT56G2, and installed DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/10/09) micro - build 13064. The problem is that although I typed in the DNS settings for DHCP (Static DNS)on the router, I still cannot connect to the internet without setting DNS server address on TCP-IP connection settings on the Windows OS.[/img]
Am I missing something??
Thank you



DNS.JPG
 Description:
dns_file
 Filesize:  57.22 KB
 Viewed:  10665 Time(s)

DNS.JPG


Sponsor
Pied Piper
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 499

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
start by reading the forum announcements. If you are using 13064 you likely also did not do a proper hard reset.
deltatux
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 21:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Works here with builds 15962 and 16214...

Maybe time to upgrade your router to newer builds?

deltatux
trimi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 9:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did a proper hard reset (30/30/30) I believe!
On router database I don't see any other build for my router (Linksys WRT54G2 v.1.0)but 14311 and 14896, and the 13064 build is marked as "recommended". I was wondering should I upgrade to one of these beta builds or not??
Thank you guys for your input
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
gateway should be 0.0.0.0
_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
Pied Piper
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 499

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
trimi wrote:
I did a proper hard reset (30/30/30) I believe!
On router database I don't see any other build for my router (Linksys WRT54G2 v.1.0)but 14311 and 14896, and the 13064 build is marked as "recommended". I was wondering should I upgrade to one of these beta builds or not??
Thank you guys for your input


You still haven't read this forum's announcements, obviously.
68Firebird
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 15:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try filling in all 3 static dns spots.
_________________
WRT54G-TM (Gateway) std-nokaid-build 14929
WRT54G-TM (Repeater) mini-nokaid-build 13525
WRT54G v4 (Client Bridge) mini-nokaid-build 13525
wrtabuser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 121

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use frater's suggestion and correct your gateway then uncheck use dnsmask for dns.
Reboot router and do a release/renew on your pc or laptop.
Ipconfig or ifconfig should show those two static dns you defined.
trimi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 20:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Changing the gateway and then unchecking the dns mask for dns fixed the problem. Everything works great.
I really want to thank you all for your time and effort.
All the best to you,
deltatux
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
trimi wrote:
I did a proper hard reset (30/30/30) I believe!
On router database I don't see any other build for my router (Linksys WRT54G2 v.1.0)but 14311 and 14896, and the 13064 build is marked as "recommended". I was wondering should I upgrade to one of these beta builds or not??
Thank you guys for your input


DO NOT read the router database for the latest version. Read the forum instead, there's a post on the recommended BrainSlayer build you should use and 14896 is not it.

I use 16214 right now and it's quite stable.

deltatux
trimi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dear Deltatux,
Thank you for your suggestions. I will try to dedicate more time to the forum and get more familiar, in spite of very limited time I have, and use the more stable build as you mentioned.
Thank you again
--
Just updated to DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) micro - build 14929, and so far so good!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum