router interface slowdown

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
routman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2011 16:24    Post subject: router interface slowdown Reply with quote
Router: TP-LINK TL-WR941ND
ver 3.4
rev 1.2
FLASH CHIP: Winbond (no intel)

FIRMWARE INSTALLED:
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/24/10) std
(SVN revision 15962)

I have a big slowdown when I use the router interface, (in it, not browsing the web) when more than one PC is connected to some lan port of the router:

example:
a) one Pc conected to the router: I can use the router interface smoothly. I click some tab, and I get a normal fast response.

b) I connect one more PC to the router, and it gets very slow (with 2nd PC off), I click some tab of the interface and or takes a lot to respond or it stay forever, and a i must click refresh.

c) When computer "two" is ON, generally works fine.

Browsing the web, works fine in every case.


must I set something in the router??




regards.
Sponsor
routman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 22:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
up!
joshuajon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm experiencing the same problem with the control panel interface on a wzr-hp-g600nh with two computers connected to the LAN as well.

This was a NIB router freshly flashed. It worked poorly from the first minute I turned it on. I never had the LAN ports disconnected but I'm going to try ASAP to see if this makes the web interface usable.
routman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 23:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
And besides this, I notice that I get very slow speed for transfer files from one PC to another, over LAN.
But if I unplug the third PC from the router, the speed for transfer files from one PC to another backs to normal.
Not sure, but I think the third PC has a crossed cable.


Confused
joshuajon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 23:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried unplugging both LAN cables to no avail. Sometimes control panel tabs load, other times nothing. I've tried IE, FF, Chrome, and Opera... I'm looking into Konqueror but I'm starting to feel like it can't be a web browser issue.
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
when this is going on, are you doing active internet traffic while you are trying to access the webgui?
_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
routman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
in my case, no. This happen with not other activity stressing the system.
yousaf465
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Sep 2010
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the third pc in your own control ? I mean it not of your neighbors.
_________________
Upgraded to
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std -
build 21061

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/12/12) std
(SVN revision 20119)

TP-link 741ND
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (11/21/10) std
(SVN revision 15778)

Finding the correct MTU value for your ISP | BrainSlayer Vlan on Atheros
|

debrick Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH
routman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, all the pc are at my home.
yousaf465
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Sep 2010
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
routman wrote:
yes, all the pc are at my home.



Did you scan your third pc for any viruses.

_________________
Upgraded to
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std -
build 21061

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/12/12) std
(SVN revision 20119)

TP-link 741ND
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (11/21/10) std
(SVN revision 15778)

Finding the correct MTU value for your ISP | BrainSlayer Vlan on Atheros
|

debrick Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH
routman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
all the PCs are scanned, and with the antivirus and antispybots updated.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum