R7000 overclock - stability test

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:30    Post subject: R7000 overclock - stability test Reply with quote
Hello,

Just wondering - if any1 can tell\explain.

Overclocking to R7000 from 1GHz to 1.2GHz or 1.4GHz.

What would be the proper way of testing the stability?

What is the most important thing to look at (watch) once router is overclocked? Temps or?

From my reading, most of the people say 1.2GHz is safe\stable, what about 1.4GHz?

I am doing a lot of Samba transfers, and i noticed better transfer rate while overclocked to 1.2GHz, am i gonna see even better rates overclocking to 1.4GHz?

Current:
1.2GHz

CPU Temperature
CPU 56.9 °C / WL0 44.79 °C / WL1 51.25 °C

Thanks in advance
Sponsor
mystykmax
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am curious too. Just bought the R7000 and have overclocked to 1200. I'm curious if the FSB is 200 which requires jumps of 200 or if I could do 1300 without issue other than perhaps heat.
NiTrus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 20:13    Post subject: Re: R7000 overclock - stability test Reply with quote
s-f-r-j wrote:
Hello,

Just wondering - if any1 can tell\explain.

Overclocking to R7000 from 1GHz to 1.2GHz or 1.4GHz.

What would be the proper way of testing the stability?

What is the most important thing to look at (watch) once router is overclocked? Temps or?

From my reading, most of the people say 1.2GHz is safe\stable, what about 1.4GHz?

I am doing a lot of Samba transfers, and i noticed better transfer rate while overclocked to 1.2GHz, am i gonna see even better rates overclocking to 1.4GHz?

Current:
1.2GHz

CPU Temperature
CPU 56.9 °C / WL0 44.79 °C / WL1 51.25 °C

Thanks in advance


i overclocked 1400,800 for a few months without incident..After Kong's warning about overclocking, im back to stock speed..

_________________
NETGEAR R9000 | RT | 40134
NETGEAR R7800 | AP | 40134

s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you mind sharing the link?

Thanks
NiTrus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 15:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
s-f-r-j wrote:
Do you mind sharing the link?

Thanks


nvram set clkfreq=1400,800
nvram commit && reboot

_________________
NETGEAR R9000 | RT | 40134
NETGEAR R7800 | AP | 40134

s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 15:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
sorry for misunderstanding, i meant Kong's warning Smile

i dont see any issues with 1200,800 atm
NiTrus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
s-f-r-j wrote:
sorry for misunderstanding, i meant Kong's warning Smile

i dont see any issues with 1200,800 atm


its on the old R7000 thread..kinda near the end if i remember correctly..

_________________
NETGEAR R9000 | RT | 40134
NETGEAR R7800 | AP | 40134

s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 15:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Np, ill check it Smile

Big thanks for your responses.
toxinburn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
s-f-r-j wrote:
Np, ill check it Smile

Big thanks for your responses.



All i did was use
nvram set clkfreq=1200,800

nvram commit && reboot

on the r7000p netgear in the commands section at first after the reboot i couldn't connect i had to unplug it then plug it back in then in win 10 do the troubleshooting for network then i was back in business and sure enough the clock changes were there and temps were about the same as with 1000 so i will test at 1200 for a bit and if it gets to hot ill go back down even though kong i hear warned against it I am not sure why exactly, just do not change the 800 bit 1200 or 1400 max I expect the changes to minor and barely noticeable honestly. But hey I overclock everything I can usually video cards or android processors but I figured id try this out too hopefully i don't burn it up just gotta keep an eye on the temps will run it thru some stress as i have 5 people using the net all the time on this router that is one way to find out how it holds up. Anyhow GL if you have any probs losing connection just run the windows troubleshooter and it should fix it up for me it tried to get connection from the modem which is why mine was messed up but after the troubleshoot all is well. I got mine set pretty good now I believe I ran some test at dslreports for network bloat etc, and I got all As and A+ after a few other tweaks i did. I hope it gives me the lil edge i have been looking for in games.
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1390
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
s-f-r-j wrote:
sorry for misunderstanding, i meant Kong's warning :)

i dont see any issues with 1200,800 atm


Here's a link...
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=262762&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=12

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - Wired GigaBit Backbone
| 2x DNSCrypt-Proxy V2 | DHCPv4/v6 via DNSMasq | Telus-IPv6 |
| USB Storage - Scripts Only | 7x VLANs/BRs | WiFi 5x SSIDs |
| 3x OpenVPN-Clients | QoS | SSH | Entware | YAMon3 | Ad-Blocking |

R7800 Gateway & VPN1 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25
R7800 WiFi & VPN2 & VPN3 - KONGAT 39855M Release 2019-05-25

Bufferbloat on 39855M
______________________
YAMon 3.4 | Ad-Blocking for DD-WRT | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
DD-WRT Beta Builds | CloneVince's copies of Kong's Arm Firmware
foz111
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can't (or i was unable to) OC the R7000P pretty sure it drops the ram down to 400 from memory so vpn throughput is slower than stock.
R7000 is fine @ 1.2Ghz some soft brick @ 1.4 some run fine i seem to remember but i recommend you get ttl serial cable before attempting to oc @ 1.4Ghz just in case
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum