Asus RT-N66U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 77, 78, 79 ... 167, 168, 169  Next
Author Message
xknobi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am still playing with the LAN side, I guess that's why I didn't noticed the WAN problem.
Sponsor
kelley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 22:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
okay then, I can wait on fractal...

asking the question from another direction: with the UN-buggy 1.0.1.3 CFE in place, can I now flash directly from ASUS stock to the say brainslayer's (the recommended) 19342 mega nv64 bin, or do I still need to go the the RT-N66U mini trx first?
BasCom
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 1378
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 23:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
dont flash BS-64k. no one tested yet. highly brick danger
_________________
RT-N66U @ Build 25697M K3.10.63
TL-WR842ND v1 @ BS-build 23919 WDS AP
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 WDS Client
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 Client Bridge ( Routed )
Mangix
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Aug 2011
Posts: 375

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
kelley wrote:
okay then, I can wait on fractal...

asking the question from another direction: with the UN-buggy 1.0.1.3 CFE in place, can I now flash directly from ASUS stock to the say brainslayer's (the recommended) 19342 mega nv64 bin, or do I still need to go the the RT-N66U mini trx first?


this will definitely not work. build 19342 is way too old and will cause a brick.
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mangix wrote:
kelley wrote:
okay then, I can wait on fractal...

asking the question from another direction: with the UN-buggy 1.0.1.3 CFE in place, can I now flash directly from ASUS stock to the say brainslayer's (the recommended) 19342 mega nv64 bin, or do I still need to go the the RT-N66U mini trx first?


this will definitely not work. build 19342 is way too old and will cause a brick.


I have a new firmware for the updated CFE's its ready, I type'o'd my password wrong and got banned from barryware ftp... the new bin is at 20363

I will PM barryware to remove it and I will upload the new bin for you guys... tested and working well!!

-Fractal
BasCom
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 1378
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
may i ask, are your changes a secret? by creating a ticket, maybe cfe 1.0.1.3 builds will be availible official. devs dont need to investigate theirselves. And if they do close the ticket, leave `em alone. they do close many important tickets or dont care. damn Eko wasn´t seen since ~3 month. he did care broadcom units. BS does only on his x86 boards. just see changesets.
_________________
RT-N66U @ Build 25697M K3.10.63
TL-WR842ND v1 @ BS-build 23919 WDS AP
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 WDS Client
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 Client Bridge ( Routed )
kelley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
fractal - just want to be clear lest I do something rash:

with the 1.0.0.3 firmware update properly installed via the latest/greatest ryzhov_a patch method, I should be able to flash from stock 3.0.0.4.260 (or Merlin?) straight to 20363, skipping any intermediate flashes, *without* brickification?

_k
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
kelley wrote:
fractal - just want to be clear lest I do something rash:

with the 1.0.0.3 firmware update properly installed via the latest/greatest ryzhov_a patch method, I should be able to flash from stock 3.0.0.4.260 (or Merlin?) straight to 20363, skipping any intermediate flashes, *without* brickification?

_k


you are correct...

-Fractal
kelley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
works like a charm. thanks for the help.
_________________
2x RT-N66U B1
cfe: 1.0.1.3 c/o ryzhov_a
fw: 21625 big c/o brainslayer
AlexHighTower
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2011
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello again,

I also updated CFE and going to upload fractal 20363,
but I have two questions:
- will it be able to flash do dd-wrt builds when any will be available from fractal?
- what is the difference between mega and std fractal builds?

_________________
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std - build 14896
Asus RT-N16: DD-WRT build 19545 (kingmod)
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
AlexHighTower wrote:
Hello again,

I also updated CFE and going to upload fractal 20363,
but I have two questions:
- will it be able to flash do dd-wrt builds when any will be available from fractal?
- what is the difference between mega and std fractal builds?


Yes you will be able to update from 20363 build to any future fractal or dd-wrt build.

-Fractal
AlexHighTower
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2011
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
Yes you will be able to update from 20363 build to any future fractal or dd-wrt build.

-Fractal

It is strange, but I updated to CFE 1.0.0.3 and upload fractal 20363 std 64K fw...
what I have:
- wire clients can't obtain ip address via dhcp
- wire clients can't connect to router even if I set up ip manually (192.168.1.2/255.255.255.0)
- can connect to router only via wi-fi (ip assigned via dhcp)
- WAN can't get ip via dhcp
- if use static ip on wan - can't access internet from router
- wi-fi on 5Gh is not visible (on stock fw I was able to connect to it)

what I did wrong and what to do?

_________________
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std - build 14896
Asus RT-N16: DD-WRT build 19545 (kingmod)
onedda
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello People

I would like a little bit of help if at all possible.

I bought this unit today and is shipped with F/W 3.0.0.3.112

I am only asking if there is a simple guide on what i need to flash this unit to DD-WRT.

I dont know much about linux.

I have been looking through the threads and theres is loads of different F/W`s that people have been saying.

I would just like one of the guys who has flashed this router to just say "use this F/W and use this file in this order".

Then it would be simple.

Cheers
Onedda
al360ex
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2012
Posts: 15
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 16:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
onedda wrote:
Hello People

I would like a little bit of help if at all possible.

I bought this unit today and is shipped with F/W 3.0.0.3.112

I am only asking if there is a simple guide on what i need to flash this unit to DD-WRT.

I dont know much about linux.

I have been looking through the threads and theres is loads of different F/W`s that people have been saying.

I would just like one of the guys who has flashed this router to just say "use this F/W and use this file in this order".

Then it would be simple.

Cheers
Onedda


I'm new to all of this too. This is what I undertood I had to do so far :

1. Upgrade to the latest firmware from Asus
2. Update CFE (And don't forget to edit the CFE. Only if you forgot to backup your original.)
3. Flash NVRAM (30-30-30)
4. Flash with 20363 Mega - 64K NVRAM
5. Flash NVRAM (30-30-30)
6. Enjoy !

EDIT : If you don't need the 64K NVRAM and are ok with having only 32K NVRAM, then you can simply go here and install the "normal/Official" version of DD-WRT. Be sure however to download the one for your router (RT-N66)

You can also read the DD-WRT wiki for the RT-N66U.


Last edited by al360ex on Fri Dec 14, 2012 22:00; edited 1 time in total
onedda
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for the info, But i dont want to mess with the CFE stuff, but is there a DD-WRT F/W that can go straight on this unit with only 32k CFE?

ahh sorry didnt see your update, still alot of files in
here ftp://ftp.barryware.net/Fractal%20Builds/DD-WRT-BINS/20202/

As all i want to do is get openvpn working as a deamon so i can use "HIDE MY ASS" vpn stuff on the router rather than my desktop machine so all traffic is running through a vpn connection. if you get what i mean.

Thank You
Lance
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 77, 78, 79 ... 167, 168, 169  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 78 of 169
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum