Linksys E4200 Router released (test build available)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 45, 46, 47  Next
Author Message
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:
i have no performance measurements yet,but the chipset used for the 2.4 ghz interface is older and no real 3x3 interface from what i have seen here


The 2.4GHz radio is internal to the 4718 SOC so it is a radio we have had in other routers.
It is 2x2 mimo and will not perform any different from what it has previously done..

The 5GHz radio is a true 3x3 mimo though.

I guess that the problems may be the core rev of that radio, it is a 4331b0 (corerev 29) , right?

yep, it's 29
Sponsor
james1795
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jan 2011
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:06    Post subject: E4200 Reply with quote
When i was looking at my repeater, and client router, looking at the sys info tab, and then clicking status it would show the status of 300mbps on both routers and client (E3000) and repeater (E2000) .In that I was looking at the same thing that the 4200 was transmitting, I was thinking it would be transmitting at 450 mbps, thus allowing the two other routers to pull 300 mbps. Since it is not transmitting at 450, and only transmitting at 215 the other two routers wouldn't be pulling 300 mbps. I am thinking once the w/1 5 ghz thing is fixed, not the one above it stating w/0 2.4, i am not going to be able to transmit at 450.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
LOM wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:
i have no performance measurements yet,but the chipset used for the 2.4 ghz interface is older and no real 3x3 interface from what i have seen here


The 2.4GHz radio is internal to the 4718 SOC so it is a radio we have had in other routers.
It is 2x2 mimo and will not perform any different from what it has previously done..

The 5GHz radio is a true 3x3 mimo though.

I guess that the problems may be the core rev of that radio, it is a 4331b0 (corerev 29) , right?

yep, it's 29


Then it is not well supported in the current dd-wrt wl driver, it will be handled as a 4331a0 corerev 26 radio..

The more recent Linksys E4200 wl driver supports corerev 29 with its own ucode/initvals and there is of course a reason for doing so.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7085
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
you're wrong. our current driver does support up to corerev 30.
maybe you didnt notice that we updated the driver 1 week ago

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 15:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
you're wrong. our current driver does support up to corerev 30.


So you have d11ucode29_mimo ?
No, I don't think so.
It supports up to corerev 26 + mapping of corerev 28 radios to corerev25 and corerev 29 radios to corerev 26.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
tcviper
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Brainslayer built seems to work like a charm so far so good Smile Awesome!
diabolic53
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
so, testing so far , slightly less performace in wireless, i'm getting about 5mb download and i used to get 6 , i see that the max ip connections is 4000, and from what i've read the router's cap is about 120.000 or so ( smallnetbuilder test)- correct me if i'm wrong
i'l keep posting if i find something else wrong
Good work guys Smile
P.S. don't forget about CTF , it does wonders for this router Smile
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anybody testing this build. does 2nd radio work for you at all? I'm asking because I can't associate to it - it transmits ssid, but no association. Tried in any band, mode... with 3 diff clients.
diabolic53
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 17:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
nope, not working for me either, on the Cisco firmware it was only capable of 5Ghz if i recall, and as my wifi board doesn't see 5Gz ( hoping to get a shiny new N6200 ) i thought it was my board.
So no i can't connect to wlan1 only to wlan0
GuruMeditation
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Only tried with N Only (5Ghz) and didn't see the SSID. Will mess with it more tonight.
kayone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 18:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same here. No chance connecting to 2nd radio, although SSID is clearly visible.
What is strange, if you go to WL0-Advanced, I can see some options for mimo, while none on WL1-Advanced.

Also, as a side note, I recall someone saying on official forums that to achieve higher speeds both WL should be set to same name. I was able to achieve with stock firmware 300Mbps at 4m distance with a AGN6200

Checking status, its visible that there are errors:
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:64343 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:32087
TX packets:86973 errors:139 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7386382 (7.0 MiB) TX bytes:80536495 (76.8 MiB)
Interrupt:3 Base address:0x1000

eth2 Link encap:Ethernet
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:18 errors:411 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:1464 (1.4 KiB)
Base address:0x8000
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 20:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
This test build should work on 2nd radio too with restriction that 40Mhz wont work. So you get 216.5 Mbps max for now.
Please report....



dd-wrt.v24-16740_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e4200.bin
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  dd-wrt.v24-16740_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e4200.bin
 Filesize:  3.32 MB
 Downloaded:  788 Time(s)

BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7085
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 21:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:
you're wrong. our current driver does support up to corerev 30.


So you have d11ucode29_mimo ?
No, I don't think so.
It supports up to corerev 26 + mapping of corerev 28 radios to corerev25 and corerev 29 radios to corerev 26.



29 has no own ucode. i believe its shared with d11core 30. need to review it in more detail. but the corerev 29 works now with 5 ghz with our latest code. needed to fix some kernel things first.

there some proofs


dd-wrt:/home/seg/DEV/broadcom_2_6/src/linux/brcm/linux-2.6.23/brcm/wl/sys # cat d11ucode_ge24.c|grep ucode
* $Id: d11ucode_ge24.c,v 1.8.2.45.2.1 2010/09/17 07:28:43 Exp $
#include "d11ucode.h"
CONST uint32 d11ucode_ge24_bommajor = 598;
CONST uint32 d11ucode_ge24_bomminor = 314;
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_mimo)[] = {
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode24_mimo);
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_mimo)[] = { 0x00000000 };
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode24_mimo);
CONST uint8 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_lcn)[] = {
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_lcnsz) = sizeof(d11ucode24_lcn);
CONST uint8 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_lcn)[] = { 0x00000000 };
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode24_lcnsz) = sizeof(d11ucode24_lcn);
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_mimo)[] = {
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode25_mimo);
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_mimo)[] = { 0x00000000 };
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode25_mimo);
CONST uint8 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_lcn)[] = {
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_lcnsz) = sizeof(d11ucode25_lcn);
CONST uint8 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_lcn)[] = { 0x00000000 };
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode25_lcnsz) = sizeof(d11ucode25_lcn);
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode26_mimo)[] = {
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode26_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode26_mimo);
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode26_mimo)[] = { 0x00000000 };
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode26_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode26_mimo);
CONST uint8 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode27_sslpn)[] = {
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode27_sslpnsz) = sizeof(d11ucode27_sslpn);
CONST uint8 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode27_sslpn)[] = { 0x00000000 };
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode27_sslpnsz) = sizeof(d11ucode27_sslpn);
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode30_mimo)[] = {
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode30_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode30_mimo);
CONST uint32 BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode30_mimo)[] = { 0x00000000 };
CONST uint BCMPREATTACHDATA(d11ucode30_mimosz) = sizeof(d11ucode30_mimo);

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7085
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
CoolGate wrote:
Eko wrote:
This test build should work on 2nd radio too with restriction that 40Mhz wont work. So you get 216.5 Mbps max for now.
Please report....


OpenVPN ? Smile


these are test firmwares. you will get openvpn versions as soon as everything is finished. we cannot build all targets every 5 minutes we do a enhancement

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Picchioni
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just installed, will report feedback after some playtime.

I can associate on the 5ghz radio under 20mhz mode with no problems.

_________________
Picch
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 45, 46, 47  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 12 of 47
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum