NTP - Do you disable it unless running a NTP server?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Themus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 21:12    Post subject: NTP - Do you disable it unless running a NTP server? Reply with quote
Every year when DST changes, my daughter complains her restrictions have changed.

Today I had time to check and noticed the time was an hour later in the status section of the firmware. I know I had all the settings correct NTP Client. For the fun of it I changed them and found it did not change anything.

I googled and found how I could manually change the time through the Administration section and that worked.

Of course, now twice a year I have to adjust it for DST.

So, my simple question is this option not valid unless you have a NTP server running on your home LAN?

Thanks!

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) std-nokaid-small
Sponsor
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=146663
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Themus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 22:21    Post subject: Thanks for fast reply. So use a Cron job? Reply with quote
I learned a lot on that post! Glad I wasn't alone. Thanks for sharing it.

So if I have this right, I can add this command to the "Additional Cron Job box," in the GUI and it would update every Sunday at 4 am.

I can see where the 4 am comes into play. What if you wanted to have it done on Saturday?

Cron Job:
0 4 * * 0 root stopservice process_monitor && startservice process_monitor

Great help. Thanks for the quick help.
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1261
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
And according to this post that they have fixed the issue with ntp not updating in changeset 17851 where it will now update hourly, not when the router 1st boots like it did before.
_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
Themus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 14:20    Post subject: I saw that post later - but how do you apply the patch? Reply with quote
@Luniz2k1: I saw that too. But in reading that post, and seeing that code, how do you apply it to our current firmware?

Is there a file to download or do you have to re-install a whole new firmware version?

I am still "green" on some of this stuff.
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1261
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 18:41    Post subject: Re: I saw that post later - but how do you apply the patch? Reply with quote
Themus wrote:
@Luniz2k1: I saw that too. But in reading that post, and seeing that code, how do you apply it to our current firmware?

Is there a file to download or do you have to re-install a whole new firmware version?

I am still "green" on some of this stuff.

You'll need to wait until a newer build (17851+) is released.

_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum