Asus RT-N16 Loses Settings Upon Reboot/Power Loss

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
All4Fun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:11    Post subject: Asus RT-N16 Loses Settings Upon Reboot/Power Loss Reply with quote
I've tried the following firmware versions with the same symptoms where the router loses all of its settings following a reboot.

v24-13575
v24-14896
v24-15140

I've seen a spattering of other users having the same issue but with no response.

Any ideas.
Sponsor
stevocz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2009
Posts: 70
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
try this
Code:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/V24-K26/svn15453/dd-wrt.v24-15452_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin

_________________
RT-N16 back to asus firmware - dd-wrt is very unstable for this router with atheros clients
All4Fun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
stevocz wrote:
try this
Code:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/V24-K26/svn15453/dd-wrt.v24-15452_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin


Thanks. Trying now. Crossing fingers.
All4Fun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same result after upgrading the firmware. Loses settings following a reboot of the router.

Frustrating...
ReadtheAnnouncements!
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2010
Posts: 1362

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hit "apply".
_________________
If I've said it once, I've must have said it a thousand times! READ the announcements at the start of the broadcom forum!
THESE:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54889
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54845
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043
(We'll wait....!) Wink
All4Fun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 14:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
ReadtheAnnouncements! wrote:
Hit "apply".


????? What ?????

Of course I hit "Apply". The issue is that once the firmware gets upgraded, it will stay up for a period of time. Then, if a reboot takes place, it loses all of its settings.

I wish my problem was as simply as not clicking "Apply" but that's not the case here.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
for fun:

go through all you config pages and click "save" at the bottom of the page when finished with that page.

When all done with all pages, from the admin management page, click save once more for fun, then click apply. The router will reboot and all your settings should be there.

I don't click apply on individual pages unless I am changing something on a configured router. Sometimes it cause the router to reboot. In my case, the routers ip changes (in my setup) to a diff subnet then I cn no longer access it till I change my nic's ip.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
All4Fun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 14:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'll try your suggestions.

Thanks for the input guys. If I come across as frustrated, it's because I am. I've spent more time than I wanted to with this.

I am appreciative for the help.
ReadtheAnnouncements!
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2010
Posts: 1362

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 14:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Then perhaps your reset button is stuck in. There are a lot of people using rt-16 and no one is reporting that problem. If it were a dd-wrt problem, there would be many posts on it. So either you are not flashing properly, or there is something unique to your router. And why are you not using recommended builds, from the announcements.
_________________
If I've said it once, I've must have said it a thousand times! READ the announcements at the start of the broadcom forum!
THESE:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54889
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54845
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043
(We'll wait....!) Wink
All4Fun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
ReadtheAnnouncements! wrote:
Then perhaps your reset button is stuck in. There are a lot of people using rt-16 and no one is reporting that problem. If it were a dd-wrt problem, there would be many posts on it. So either you are not flashing properly, or there is something unique to your router. And why are you not using recommended builds, from the announcements.


Honestly, I didn't read the announcements or was not aware that there is a special build for this router.

I'll start over with a clean slate and see what happens.
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 15:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
how about just trying clearing your browser cache and a refresh?
_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 15:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Run this after you have configured everything and see if you're overflowing your nvram space.

nvram show >/dev/null

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
All4Fun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2009
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 16:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
After performing some of the suggestions to click on "Save" on the various configuration pages and click on "Apply Changes" at the end of it all which reboots the unit. I'm still having a problem where it runs for awhile, suddenly reboots, and loses everything and goes back to square one.

I checked my vram and it says:

size: 28475 bytes (4293 left)

...so I suspect that I haven't exhausted my vram.

I just purchased this router about 3 weeks ago and am starting to wonder if I have a bad unit. I've had these problems for about 2 weeks now but didn't spend the time until now to try and troubleshoot it.

I can't return it, so that's where I'm at.

EDIT: These are the firmware files I'm using:

dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N16.trx (first)
dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin (second)
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
All4Fun wrote:
I can't return it, so that's where I'm at.

Why not? You should be able to RMA it.

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
All4Fun wrote:
I checked my vram and it says:

size: 28475 bytes (4293 left)


That's plenty (4k).

However is that right after a reboot.. Check it often and see if it changes.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum