15407 & Higher USB drive mounting

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 0:27    Post subject: 15407 & Higher USB drive mounting Reply with quote
Fixed the loading of drivers

For K2.6 only - manual USB drive mounting.

Code:
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.24.111/kernel/fs/mbcache.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.24.111/kernel/fs/ext2/ext2.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.24.111/kernel/fs/jbd/jbd.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.24.111/kernel/fs/ext3/ext3.ko
Is the only thing I had to add to my existing "save startup"

Original Post:

Dark_Shadow wrote:
Loading of both ext2 and ext3 drivers first still no mount.


OK maybe I am doing something wrong. my command to load the file system drivers:

Code:
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.24.111/kernel/fs/ext3/ext3.ko


then mount

Code:
mount -o noatime -t ext3 /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /opt


Am i doing it wrong? i cannot get automout to work at all. The serial log tells me the router & firmware see the drive. It just won't mount in 15407 or higher. Before 15407 at least i could manually mount it. Which tells my my command to load the file system drivers may be wrong. Can anybody confirm or correct my driver command?

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki


Last edited by Dark_Shadow on Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:34; edited 4 times in total
Sponsor
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am not sure about the kernel module, but the mount command looks correct. It is very similar to what I use (mine does not have the -o noatime). However, I have not been able to get the newer builds to auto mount or even manually mount either.

Do realize, I never removed the USB drive and then reinserted it. According to a comment Eko said, you could possibly need to do that before it would work. Hell ... I cannot use the newer build because it still does not work otherwise.

I have not tried the module insertion, but I may give that a shot next.

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
crashfly wrote:
I am not sure about the kernel module, but the mount command looks correct. It is very similar to what I use (mine does not have the -o noatime). However, I have not been able to get the newer builds to auto mount or even manually mount either.

Do realize, I never removed the USB drive and then reinserted it. According to a comment Eko said, you could possibly need to do that before it would work. Hell ... I cannot use the newer build because it still does not work otherwise.

I have not tried the module insertion, but I may give that a shot next.
Yea I tried several reboots and eko's trick. Still no love.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
BlaSTiWi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Location: Omaha, NE - USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Had similar problem USB thumb drive wont mount ... but seems to work after I enable the automount option in which I never use before ... I mount my USB partition using script before.
_________________
-Asus RT-N16 @ BS build 16785 mega
-Asus WL-520GU @ Eko build 13577M vpn-small
-Linksys WRT54G v2 @ Eko build 14583M vpn-small
-D-Link DIR-601 A1 @ BS build 16785
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 3:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
BlaSTiWi wrote:
Had similar problem USB thumb drive wont mount ... but seems to work after I enable the automount option in which I never use before ... I mount my USB partition using script before.
Nope no love
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/1772


Please comment if you cannout get USB mount to work.

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5771

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Works here....
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 13:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
just want to chime in..

all the latest builds on my RT mounts the hard drive.

I do not use Fraters automount script. I just turn on automount in the gui and mount the drive to /opt

One thing.. and I believe this has more to do with my hd case than anything.

I need to 1st power up the router, then immediately plug in the usb cable. If I wait to long, it does not mount. Any subsequent reboots, it mounts fine (no power cycle, software reboot).

If I pull the power from the router, it stays powered up via the usb power. The drive has it's own ps. So to power cycle the router, I need to disconnect the drive (usb), pull the plug on the router, plug it back in, the immediately plug in the hd.

The drive mounts fine.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
Works here....
Can you comment on my commands in the first post?

This isn't an isolated indecent, I am not the only one with a hard drive mounting problem in the latest builds. The sooner we can figure out the problem, the sooner we can move past "works for me". I am trying to figure out if it can be loaded manually, if not I obviously need a different HDD enclosure. If it can be loaded manually then maybe the problem is with automount? Just a little help is all I ask.

This will benefit everyone with these problems.

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 17:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fixed the loading of drivers per eko

Code:
mbcache insmod ext2 insmod jbd insmod ext3


In save startup.

now I guess my mount code is wrong. Can anybody comment on that?

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
PetervdM
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 282
Location: EU

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
inot working here either. added my comments to post #1772
_________________
now running tomato by shibby
E4200v1 cfe 2010.09.20.0
kt_haddock
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Dec 2009
Posts: 710

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 17:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
Works here....


Can you expound your thought and give example, it's so much easier then. Yes I'm a NOOOOOOOOOB :D


Examples
Mount /dev/sda1 to /mnt/windows:

ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows

or

mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows

Read-only mount /dev/sda5 to /home/user/mnt and make user with uid 1000 to be the owner of all files:

ntfs-3g /dev/sda5 /home/user/mnt -o ro,uid=1000

/etc/fstab entry for the above:

/dev/sda5 /home/user/mnt ntfs-3g ro,uid=1000 0 0

Unmount /mnt/windows:

umount /mnt/windows

_________________
[I prefer answere in whole sentence]


Last edited by kt_haddock on Wed Oct 13, 2010 17:34; edited 2 times in total
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
Fixed the loading of drivers per eko

Code:
mbcache insmod ext2 insmod jbd insmod ext3


In save startup.

now I guess my mount code is wrong. Can anybody comment on that?
Brainslayer made a reference in trac to mount to /dev/sda, but I do not see anything in /dev remotely close to /sda am I missing something?
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 17:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't have any problems nor do I run these latest builds, but this MAY be related to this ticket: http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/1778
which brainslayer is always able to COMPLETELY IGNORE

Because I knew this was not going to be fixed, I wrote a script a long time ago to make these nodes myself.

tiresome pfffffffffffffffff

I have created many tickets in the past that were either dismissed giving false arguments or ignored by Brainslayer and were PROVEN to be valid later on.

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2448
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
frater wrote:
I don't have any problems nor do I run these latest builds, but this MAY be related to this ticket: http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/ticket/1778
which brainslayer is always able to COMPLETELY IGNORE

Because I knew this was not going to be fixed, I wrote a script a long time ago to make these nodes myself.

tiresome pfffffffffffffffff

I have created many tickets in the past that were either dismissed giving false arguments or ignored by Brainslayer and were PROVEN to be valid later on.
I have seen many of your tickets, did you by chance see this one?

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/changeset/15446


Do you know how to mount to sda1 frater?

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum