need confirmation - booting problem. kernel panic SOLVED

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
urbang33k
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 19:39    Post subject: need confirmation - booting problem. kernel panic SOLVED Reply with quote
I'm having an issue trying to get the x86 version to boot on the computer I'm using.

In short... will this release work on a SATA drive where the drive is recognized as /dev/sda by this and DSL?

I think I've read that the install works only as /dev/hda (primary ide interface).

Can someone confirm wether or not this release will boot on a sata drive that assumes /dev/sda by default?

Symptom:
I can successfully image the drive.
Upon first boot in dd-wrt box, I get kernel panic after it sucessfully sets up the keyboard as input0

message is:
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
kernel panic - not syncing: unable to mount root

rebooting in 1 seconds....


Last edited by urbang33k on Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:49; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 22:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
input needed!
read:

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
urbang33k
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
input needed!


Tried with V24, V24 SP1 stable release, AND with BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/02-23-10-r13972 - all of them public_vga

I've not tried serial or smp, not sure what they are..

Asus M2N-E - SLI mother board (nForce 500 chipset)
AMD 64 FX-62 dual core
1 gig DDR 667 memory
Fujitsu MHV2106BT hard drive (Sata)
nvidia 8800 gt(I know, but its all I had laying around LOL)



I've played around with the dma setting in the bios for the sata ports, tried enabling/disabling LBA. I've tried disabling onboard IDE and the second sata controller.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
try the latest beta
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
urbang33k
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
try the latest beta

ok Ive tried :

Path: Downloads › others › eko › BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2 › 06-12-10-r14594 › x86

is this the latest beta? Im having trouble finding a directory, or anything that says beta's.

ps, the image i downloaded from the folder above does the same thing.

I tried disabling the onboad sata and dropped in a promise Sata300tx2 just incase it was the onboard sata controllers causing the issue. no luck.
urbang33k
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
read the wiki writeup on x86 installation and it says IDE. But I've seen some people on the forums say PATA or SATA is preferrable which implies SATA works.

I wish I could get a serial log, but I dont have a serial cable.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
i never used sata. anyway we need a serial log or a pic taken from vga
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
urbang33k
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
bought an ide hard drive for 5 bucks. plugged it in and it no longer panics at the partition list.
kolyani4
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 16:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
Symptom:
I can successfully image the drive.
Upon first boot in dd-wrt box, I get kernel panic after it sucessfully sets up the keyboard as input0

message is:
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
List of all partitions:
no file system could mount root, tried : squashfs
kernel panic - not syncing: unable to mount root

rebooting in 1 seconds....

Hello all People. i need you help.
i bought the Intel D510MO motherboard, for using with DD-WRT ( want to buy a PRO version also ) i tried it with Another MB ( i945 Chipset, SATA Maxtor HDD. ) and all was ok.

but i cant get run ddwrt on D510MO Sad i 3 days stuck with it, and cant find solution Sad
i get same error.
I flashed the Latest BIOS for MB.
I Uses latest Beta from BrainSlayer
I Tried to change the SATA mode in BIOS into IDE/AHCI
I tried to boot from flash Sad dont work :(

i dont know what to do ? i get stucked with it Sad
i dont want to use any other Distros for router, im Very happy with DD-WRT on My Linksys WRT54GL, and wants to be happy on X86 too :)

P.S. my HDD is Sata, Samsung HD120IJ, if it matter.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 14:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
try an other hdd/cf
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
kolyani4
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
try an other hdd/cf

OK, did you think that it can be a problem in HDD ?
i want to buy another HDD For it, but i fear to buy new hdd becouse this problem.

maybe this is a motherboard problem ?
other Distros are run ok in this HDD.
kolyani4
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bought new HDD, does'nt help Sad Same Error....
carterhayes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 15:29    Post subject: intel d525 atom mb Reply with quote
i get the same problem on intel d525 atom mobo.

tried CF..and still same error message.
i guess mobo is incompatible
kolyani4
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 21:01    Post subject: Re: intel d525 atom mb Reply with quote
carterhayes wrote:
i get the same problem on intel d525 atom mobo.

tried CF..and still same error message.
i guess mobo is incompatible

You have too Intel Motherboard ?
i think the problem in my case is a Intel Motherboard, and their BIOS realization.
carterhayes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 14:45    Post subject: yes Reply with quote
seems support not help us
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum