WATCH OUT: x86 incompability on Builds >13.08.2010

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Author Message
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 20:34    Post subject: WATCH OUT: x86 incompability on Builds >13.08.2010 Reply with quote
professional builds after 13.08.2010 have a different size (bigger because of a changed featureset) than public builds and prof. builds before 13.08.2010. thus u will brick your unit on an upgrade.

install instrutions:
-backup your settings
-erase the data on the complete drive
-you MUST reflash the cf-card/hdd
-reactivate your unit
-restore your settings

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!


Last edited by Sash on Fri Feb 10, 2012 19:22; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 10:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

On that site I can find the prof. Builds after 13.08.2010 for the dd-wrt x86?

I have the paid version of dd-wrt professional (Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std build 14896). If I reinstall a new version after 8/13/2010, I have to pay a new license?

Thank you!
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 11:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I flash with a new build (30mb + +) and now my system key is different. Can I get a new key in the activation center?

thanks!
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 12:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I installed the new version and enter the activation key, then the computer restarted and when he returned to start the computer does not follow forward and not running dd​​-wrt, why?
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 13:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I found a ticket from my mistake: http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/ticket/2043

"Pro activation kills bootloader
X86 Fit2PC running intel atom X86 with SATA II Hardrive, everything works, boots great, both public and paid version.. Once the activation code is entered in pro version the unit reboots and never boots again, it leaves blinking cursor in upper left and never boots. Confirmed on last 4 dd-wrt builds."

How can I fix this?
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 13:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the dd-wrt installed on an IDE hdd. What are the steps for me to solve the problem?

thanks!
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 14:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
What was the build of dd-wrt do you use yourself?

Thanks!
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 14:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have to use Fdisk before or after activating the dd-wrt with a key paid?
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 14:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have to use Fdisk before or after activating the dd-wrt with a key paid?
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not getting.

I used the ubuntu live cd to install dd-wrt. I used the dd command and everything was installed successfully.

Then rebooted the computer and the dd-wrt runs until you get to activate.

So I put the activation key, the computer restarts and dd-wrt can never run.

I tried to set as active part1 using DOS but I restarted the computer and still the same, the dd-wrt does not run.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes I think so.

I used an application FDISK that comes in the Hirens boot cd. But I think the console said it had no active partitions.

I also used fdisk on ubuntu (live cd) but the problem continued.
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 20:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried dd-wrt but continued to not start.

A question ... Activation of the dd-wrt should be done in the router-pc or should be done from the web interface (192.168.1.1)?
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 20:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
but I have access to the web interface.

After I install dd-wrt if I plug a network cable to my laptop and enter the address 192.168.1.1, I have access to the web interface but in trial mode. And then you can activate the web interface.

I never try it turn this way. I would try it now but I ran out of activation keys.

When I put the activation key for the console, then rebooting, dd-wrt never started.
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 22:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why is the boot of dd-wrt only crashes after I put the activation key?

The problem is the hdd?

A full format can solve the problem?

Thanks!
carterhayes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jun 2011
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 14:30    Post subject: intel d525 atom Reply with quote
not compataible error message cannot mount root..rebooting in 1 sec
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum