D-Link DIR-632

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 30, 31, 32  Next
Author Message
Cmp_Cmndo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Dec 2011
Posts: 117
Location: FL-USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I looked all over for release notes, couldn't find any. It would be nice. Try entering DIR-632 into database, it's not even recognized.
Sponsor
qfox
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
For r19519, DIR-632 also has following problem:

Ticket #2635 - r19519 breaks channel display

Wireless channel now says "unknown" for both 2.4 GHz & 5 GHz bands
Cmp_Cmndo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Dec 2011
Posts: 117
Location: FL-USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
qfox wrote:
For r19519, DIR-632 also has following problem:

Ticket #2635 - r19519 breaks channel display

Wireless channel now says "unknown" for both 2.4 GHz & 5 GHz bands

Ticket #2635 applies to DIR-825, not DIR-632
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/ticket/2635
ustal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 15:16    Post subject: r19519 bug Reply with quote
I can confirm that r19519 breaks the channel display, it's says UNKNOWN now. In fact I was going to report that right after the upgrade but I thought it was just me. How the ticket for DIR-632 can be opened so the issue is fixed?
Cmp_Cmndo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Dec 2011
Posts: 117
Location: FL-USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try sending PM to Forum Mod Sash.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/profile_sec.php?mode=viewprofile&u=6824

You can also try registering an account.
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/register

Silentknyght wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:

Wireless channel says unknown for WNDR3700 v1 & DIR-825 B1. PPTP server works again but MTU/MRU settings still stay blank after applying.


I'm running 18777. I just noticed, recently, that 5ghz radio wireless channel displays as "unknown" in the system info screen, when the channel is set to auto. Never tried setting it to anything else.

Same is NOT true for the 2.4ghz radio.

Hope this helps.

Build 18024 does not have this problem. DIR-632 only has 2.4GHz radio.
stratblast
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 22:48    Post subject: jtag pinout Reply with quote
I bricked my DIR-632 with a bad flash. Does anyone know the pinout for the jtag? It looks standard but I want to be sure. I have searched quite a bit and found a vague answer but hoping for some definite info. Thank you.
Cmp_Cmndo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Dec 2011
Posts: 117
Location: FL-USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/JTAG
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joint_Test_Action_Group
1. TDI (Test Data In)
2. TDO (Test Data Out)
3. TCK (Test Clock)
4. TMS (Test Mode Select)
5. TRST (Test Reset) optional.

You need a printer port (parallel port) for access to JTAG.
stratblast
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 22:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the numbering from the left side down?

Yes, I have a printer port. I have those pages bookmarked already. I'm just getting my ducks in a row here and hoping for a little info. If anyone has any knowledge of the pinout numbering on this board I would appreciate the info.

This is all I've found searching for the pinout. This is a DIR-615 pinout. Would it be the same? I can see that the square hole is #1. So is it 1-7 down the first row and 8-14 on the second row?
Cmp_Cmndo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Dec 2011
Posts: 117
Location: FL-USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 18:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
The correct & conventional pinout for pin headers is supposed to be odd numbers on one side & even on the other side. Since many designers don't seem to know this, I have seen it done wrong as many times as done correctly.

You should be able to figure it out by ohmming out the GNDs on the DIR-632 & see if they match the DIR-615.

If you can find a copy of IEEE Std. 1149.1-1990, it might specify pinout. Designers are supposed to follow the spec, but many don't.

Found Std., it doesn't specify pinout.
jtaglite.googlecode.com/files/IEEE%201149标准%20JTAG.pdf

BTW, if your DIR-632 is less than 1 year old, D-Link will replace it under warranty. Just don't tell them you were trying to reflash it. Tell them it stopped working. The factory firmware is so bad, I have no qualms about suggesting this.
stratblast
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you so much Cmp_Cmndo. I will try the warranty. If they don't honor it for any reason I'll be back with my ohm meter!
AnthonyV
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
A sugestion to update the Router Database to include the DIR-632. (Even if only as a beta release)

I am extreemly happy with mine and would love to have other people find and flash their routers.
stratblast
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, they didn't honor the warranty. I don't have the receipt anymore.
I have some info from Brainslayer. He said the serial port works for erasing the nvram and kernel. The bootsector seems to be fine. The pinout on the serial header is much easier to figure out with an ohm meter. I have ordered an adapter, recommended by Brainslayer, that should do the job. After the adapter comes I'll give it a shot and post back.Thanks again Cmp_Cmndo.
Cmp_Cmndo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Dec 2011
Posts: 117
Location: FL-USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
You actually got hold of Brainslayer? I'm impressed!
What kind of adapter do you need?
I have many serial cables & an old laptop with serial & parallel ports.
DIR-615


DIR-632

Remember, on your computer Rx connects to Tx on 632 & Tx connects to Rx on 632. I suppose you also have to solder pins to the holes?

I'd be interested to know how you establish communication & then what you do to reflash.

There's lots of info on www.dd-wrt.com, if you are able to find it.
stratblast
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 14:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes I was very pleasantly surprised to contact Brainslayer. I have ordered this adapter from ebay.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/251044028580?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
When it gets here from China I will let you know how it goes. I have soldered on a 4 post header for the serial port. I also ohm'ed it out and found the square hole to be the 3v contact. but I think all I need is the RX, TX and ground to make this work.
Cmp_Cmndo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Dec 2011
Posts: 117
Location: FL-USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sure is cheap enough, $2.81 incl. shipping from China. It even has an RS232 DB9 connector & header pins mounted.

The chip is a MAX232.
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/max232.pdf

You should be able to figure out PWR & GND, power it up & use the voltmeter to read +3.3VDC. How to determine Tx & Rx is a different matter. If you get Tx & Rx reversed, it will do no damage, just won't communicate.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 30, 31, 32  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 18 of 32
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum