WRT54G v2.0 brick just after hard reset

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
guaximim_jasso
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 13:54    Post subject: WRT54G v2.0 brick just after hard reset Reply with quote
Question I have a WRT54G v2.0 with Linksys original firmware (v4.21.1) that I wasn't using for a while.

As I successfully flashed another router I have (ASUS 520GC)with your dd-wrt 3 months ago and I was pretty happy with the result, I thought it would be better to flash the WRT54G too.

After reading (again) all the important topics and even reading some WRT54GS could be bricked after a hard reset, I had all things I needed to get started.

After doing a hard reset for the first time, on the WRT54G and prior to flashing, I now have a flashing power light and no other lights. If I connect a pc to one of the ports, I get a light on that port. A connected pc does report that it has a LAN connection. The LAN port light will blink like there is some network activity.

I cannot ping the router from a connected pc with the default 192.168.1.1, which was the same IP I had just before the reset. I set up the connected pc ip address to 192.168.1.10, 255.255.255.0 and did a ping -t 192.168.1.1 and do not get any TTL replies when router is power cycled.
As soon as I unplug it, the response is (my OS is in Portuguese, but I think these are the correct translations for the messages)
"hardware error"
During the power cycle they change to
"destination host unreachable"
and then to
"request timeout".

After this initial reset, I tried to do another hard reset for 3 times now and the result is the same.

Can someone help me? Give some suggestion? Point me in any direction?

Thanks in advance for any help,
Manuel
Sponsor
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 14:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash#WRT54G.2FGL.2FGS

Have you tried that procedure?

Also - what computer OS are you running?

I recently had to recover a WRT54G-TM that had the power light blinking.

I could NOT do it on Windows 7

I attached it to a Windows XP machine and was able to recover

Try the recovery procedure from a Win XP machine.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
BasCom
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 1378
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 15:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
if now other way is left, short the flash pins 15 & 16 on the flash module and power the device up. the router should start in TFTP mode to flash a new FW.

I guess the boot wait option is disabled ( it is with stock firmware ) so you get no TTL 100 replies within the first 5 seconds.

or sell the unit to me Very Happy i am serching for a WRT54G 2.X unit.

_________________
RT-N66U @ Build 25697M K3.10.63
TL-WR842ND v1 @ BS-build 23919 WDS AP
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 WDS Client
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 Client Bridge ( Routed )
guaximim_jasso
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ DoesItMatter: Thanks for the reply. I haven't done the procedure explained in that thread, but have done multiple hard resets trying to "wake" the router.

I've done all these steps in a XP machine. I have Win7 at home, but I was not certain if it would be a good idea to do it with 7 and tried flashing it at work with XP.

But as I mentioned in my message, I didn't even tried to flash the router, because the hard reset is the first step, right? So after the reset I couldn't do anything else.

Even so, I'm going to test it again tomorrow in another computer, just to make sure. As I work in the IT department of a School and we're reformatting many computers now, I'll use a fresh XP install with no AV installed and with the firewall turned off.

@ BasCom: I would gladly sell you the router, but I'm working in Mozambique for some time and the router is here also, so I think it's not possible to send it to you ...
BasCom
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 1378
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
this was just a joke. try the shorten pon method..worked on many routers for me Smile wrt54gl, wap54g and wrt54gs v1.0 Very Happy
_________________
RT-N66U @ Build 25697M K3.10.63
TL-WR842ND v1 @ BS-build 23919 WDS AP
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 WDS Client
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 Client Bridge ( Routed )
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't pin short. That is foolish. It sounds like you are just needing to flash firmware. Follow the steps at note 11 of the peacock thread, starting with the original linksys firmware for that router. Double check the label and make SURE you have the right model number, and firmware for it. Once you get it working, follow the wiki install guide.
_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
guaximim_jasso
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Peabody wrote:
Follow the steps at note 11 of the peacock thread, starting with the original linksys firmware for that router. Double check the label and make SURE you have the right model number, and firmware for it. Once you get it working, follow the wiki install guide.


Yes, I intend to run out of possibilities before trying to short pin, but to do what you say, I need to be able to ping the router right? That's my problem right now... As soon as I can ping the router, than I can try TFTP
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
guaximim,

You're connected from the Windows XP machine to a LAN port on router correct?

Not the WAN port?

also, try setting a gateway of 192.168.1.1

its not always needed, but sometimes it is required for some strange reason.

you are certain the router had an IP of 192.168.1.1 ?

I recently had to TFTP recover a WRT54G-TM, and I actually
had to TFTP to 192.168.2.1 - I forgot, I had changed the IP address.

Yea, if you can't ping after trying multiple times,
you are either looking at Serial connect or JTAG recovery.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
guaximim_jasso
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 13:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
At this point I've tried everything written in the peacock thread and also in the article you mentioned (DoesItMatter) and I still can't ping the router...

As I'm in Mozambique working, I don't think I'll be able to get a jtag cable for the router :(

Any other suggestions? (not including pin short)

I'm absolute sure that I'm not connected to the WAN.
I'm also sure that the IP was 192.168.1.1 before the hard reset, because I had made a normal reset just before, because I had forgotten the password. Then I opened the webGUI and saw everithing was ok. That page was even open before starting the hard reset, so I was able to recheck that IP.

Quote:
you are either looking at Serial connect or JTAG recovery.

What do you mean with serial connect? Is it different from jtag?
Doesn't jtag require a parallel port to connect do the PC?

EDIT: I'm now going to try setting the gateway too.
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 13:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WRT54GL_MAX232_Serial#Serial_port_on_a_Linksys_WRT54G.2FGL_router_using_a_MAX232_interface_IC

Check that thread

and also see about looking for one of these:

http://wiki.gnokii.org/index.php/Cables

You can pickup those CA-42 cables on e-bay for under $5

All you do is cut off the ends (not the USB end) and attach them to the serial port on the router

You usually need a multimeter to find the ground wire, and then its
just a matter of trial/error to see which is TX and which is RX

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.43
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 45860
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.7.1
guaximim_jasso
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 15:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks again for your replies.

I've tried setting the gateway, but no luck again Crying or Very sad

Regarding the 2 options I have left (before doing the short pin, that I'm almost tempted to do...) witch one do you think it's simpler to mount on the router?
The jtag or the serial?

Reading both methods I think setting up the CA-42 cable must be the easiest, but I don't understand how can the computer detect something connected to the USB port. How is it going to send the controls?

As I mentioned earlier, I'm in Mozambique so I can't count on ebay items. I'm almost sure I have to set up a cable with someone here, but I'm a big noob in electronics... so I don't know if I'm capable of doing that...
BasCom
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 1378
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
short it short it. Very Happy that takes less then 5 minutes :-)

does it matter: you have a T-mobile wrt54g edition..
argh sell it :O)

_________________
RT-N66U @ Build 25697M K3.10.63
TL-WR842ND v1 @ BS-build 23919 WDS AP
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 WDS Client
TL-WR841ND @ BS-build 23919 Client Bridge ( Routed )
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
See the links in note 6 of the peacock. There should be one for jtag and one for serial. Those links will answer most of your questions. I use putty to control serial. There is also a place in china that will ship a nokia cable that works anywhere in the world for about 3.00. I think the link to it is in the serial link.
_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
guaximim_jasso
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I managed to get a friend of mine to bring me a jtag cable. She's coming next week, so I'll try to use the cable as soon as it arrives (tuesday, the 24th).
If i have any trouble then, I'll ask here again.

Thanks again everyone, for all your replies.

@BasCom: If with jtag I don't recover the router, I'll do as you want and short it Wink
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 22:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
guaximim_jasso wrote:
I managed to get a friend of mine to bring me a jtag cable. She's coming next week, so I'll try to use the cable as soon as it arrives (tuesday, the 24th).
If i have any trouble then, I'll ask here again.

Thanks again everyone, for all your replies.

@BasCom: If with jtag I don't recover the router, I'll do as you want and short it Wink


DO NOT SHORT ANY PINS.. If you can not fix it with jtag, it can not be fixed.

Who's "she".. is "she" cute? Smile

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum