Asus RT-N13U B1 support

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
CTXSi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
@tkpapp Note these steps in the instructions.

Quote:
- Be sure router's other three LAN ports and WAN port are open (nothing connected)
- On PC, disable all other network adapters: wireless, modem, etc.
- On PC, disable any firewall (Ex. Windows Firewall)
- Optional: Set PC to use a static IP, Ex. 192.168.1.2, netmask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.1


Also, what version of Windows were you using? From reading forums here and other places it seems problems are more common with Win7, but not sure why. If you have an old XP machine around it might be worth a shot.
Sponsor
tkpapp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 6:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
CTXSi wrote:
@tkpapp Note these steps in the instructions.

Quote:
- Be sure router's other three LAN ports and WAN port are open (nothing connected)
- On PC, disable all other network adapters: wireless, modem, etc.
- On PC, disable any firewall (Ex. Windows Firewall)
- Optional: Set PC to use a static IP, Ex. 192.168.1.2, netmask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.1


Also, what version of Windows were you using? From reading forums here and other places it seems problems are more common with Win7, but not sure why. If you have an old XP machine around it might be worth a shot.

Yes, I did all of these. I was using Windows XP (that's the only Windows I have, I keep it on an old machine in case I need it).

I used 192.168.1.15 as a static IP.
tkpapp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
tkpapp wrote:
CTXSi wrote:
@tkpapp Note these steps in the instructions.

Quote:
- Be sure router's other three LAN ports and WAN port are open (nothing connected)
- On PC, disable all other network adapters: wireless, modem, etc.
- On PC, disable any firewall (Ex. Windows Firewall)
- Optional: Set PC to use a static IP, Ex. 192.168.1.2, netmask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.1


Also, what version of Windows were you using? From reading forums here and other places it seems problems are more common with Win7, but not sure why. If you have an old XP machine around it might be worth a shot.

Yes, I did all of these. I was using Windows XP (that's the only Windows I have, I keep it on an old machine in case I need it).

I used 192.168.1.15 as a static IP.

Just for the archives, if anyone finds this with the same problem: I tried various different machines, various network cables, ethernet card settings, with no luck. I always get the same error, with the same number of bytes transmitted, regardless of the firmware I am trying to upload. I am convinced now that the problem must be with the router, which works fine otherwise.

Googling for "4391936" brings up a couple of similar posts, (some of which I read with Google translate, but they look like they talk about the same problem). Mentions of firmware upload failing at around 70% can also be found, on this forum too. No one mentions a solution (some talk about disabling VPN/firewall/antivirus, none of those are on my Windows XP, and they should not be a problem for Linux/TFTP), so I gave up on dd-wrt for now and decided to use the stock ASUS firmware.
vince_828
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Aug 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 13:14    Post subject: Installation through web interface Reply with quote
Hi,

I had the same problem with my RTN13U till i decided to follow DD-WRT's representative advice: i initially flashed the router with a dd-wrt firmware through ASUS web interface.
It seems that recent serials of the B1 router cannot be flashed anymore through the recovery mode (download stop at 70%)
ElvaSoShexai
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm having problems with my router and not sure if it's DD-WRT related...

the issue is a lot of sites slow down or cannot get a response 99% of the time when i am connected through the router. works fine directly connected to modem.

For instance slatedroid.com works flawlessly from modem. but i have to refresh multiple times through the router.

I've tried factory default settings / 30/30/30 reset multiple times.

i did ping/tracert results and using the router it always times out. no issue from modem.

does anybody have any ideas what to make of these results and how to fix it? even using defcault dd-wrt settings, wired connection, no firewall, still same results:

results from modem:

Code:

C:\Users\Dan>ping slatedroid.com

Pinging slatedroid.com [67.228.151.138] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 67.228.151.138: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.228.151.138: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.228.151.138: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.228.151.138: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 67.228.151.138:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 46ms, Average = 45ms

C:\Users\Dan>tracert slatedroid.com

Tracing route to slatedroid.com [67.228.151.138]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     7 ms     7 ms     7 ms  10.126.243.129
  2    12 ms    11 ms    11 ms  24.156.135.77
  3    13 ms    11 ms    11 ms  69.63.249.173
  4    12 ms    11 ms    11 ms  69.196.136.74
  5    15 ms    11 ms    12 ms  10gigabitethernet4-3.core1.tor1.he.net [216.66.3
6.97]
  6    19 ms    21 ms    20 ms  10gigabitethernet12-1.core1.chi1.he.net [184.105
.213.150]
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8    44 ms    45 ms    44 ms  ae20.bbr01.eq01.dal03.networklayer.com [173.192.
18.136]
  9    45 ms    46 ms    44 ms  ae0.dar01.sr01.dal01.networklayer.com [173.192.1
8.211]
 10    45 ms    44 ms    45 ms  po1.fcr05.sr06.dal01.networklayer.com [66.228.11
8.221]
 11    45 ms    46 ms    44 ms  web04.dal.verticalscope.com [67.228.151.138]

Trace complete.


results from router:
Code:

C:\Users\Dan>ping slatedroid.com

Pinging slatedroid.com [67.228.151.138] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 67.228.151.138:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Users\Dan>tracert slatedroid.com

Tracing route to slatedroid.com [67.228.151.138]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  DD-WRT [192.168.1.1]
  2     7 ms     9 ms     8 ms  10.126.243.129
  3    12 ms    10 ms    11 ms  24.156.135.77
  4    12 ms    11 ms    13 ms  24.156.156.133
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.
vendlwoo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 14:08    Post subject: Swap and Audio Support in Asus RT N13U B1 Reply with quote
Can anyone comment whether the recent release r22118 for Asus RT N13U B1 has builtin swap and audio support Question
kioske
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 18:13    Post subject: Re: Swap and Audio Support in Asus RT N13U B1 Reply with quote
vendlwoo wrote:
Can anyone comment whether the recent release r22118 for Asus RT N13U B1 has builtin swap and audio support Question

I've installed and it shows it mounted the swap partition as "swap", and I think it works as swap. But still not sure as I still get "bitmap allocation errors" with e2fsck. Maybe it's because my swap size is too small.

Also, kswapd is running
vendlwoo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 7:32    Post subject: Re: Swap and Audio Support in Asus RT N13U B1 Reply with quote
kioske wrote:

I've installed and it shows it mounted the swap partition as "swap", and I think it works as swap. But still not sure as I still get "bitmap allocation errors" with e2fsck. Maybe it's because my swap size is too small.

Also, kswapd is running


are you getting output like this when you issue 'free' command?

Code:
$ free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:         61816        60288         1528            0         2152
-/+ buffers:              58136         3680
Swap:       131068         3504       127564


?
kioske
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 23:13    Post subject: Re: Swap and Audio Support in Asus RT N13U B1 Reply with quote
Quote:

are you getting output like this when you issue 'free' command?

Code:
$ free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:         61816        60288         1528            0         2152
-/+ buffers:              58136         3680
Swap:       131068         3504       127564



Code:

      total    used    free  shared   buffers
Mem:  61916    55632   6284  0        10964
-/+ buffers:   44668   17248
Swap: 0        0       0


Looks like swap is not on afterall.
badsede
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 19:19    Post subject: ASUS RT-N13U/b Repeater Mode fix Reply with quote
I had my RT-N13 set up in repeater mode with no trouble for over a year, and then it just stopped working. I reloaded firmware, reverted to ASUS fw, re-reverted to DD-WRT and tried several different versions. I found lots of people with the same problem, but no real solution. Repeater just worked for some people and just didn't for others.

The solution is kind of strange.

Several people recommended setting the repeater up in client mode first as a stepwise approach. That way you make sure you are getting connected to the host network properly before mucking around with the vlan. But it looks like this is actually a necessary step in at least some circumstances.

If I just tried to set up in repeater mode from the beginning, it wouldn't work. But if I set it up in client mode first, got it connected to the host network, and then converted it to repeater mode, it would work.

Here is my theory: I think you need to match the SSID channel from the host network to get it to work. I realized later that my repeater stopped working when the host network switched from channel 6 to channel 3. You can't set the channel in repeater mode. I was only able to set up the repeater from scratch before because channel 6 is the default and it was a coincidence that it matched the host network. However, you can set the channel in client. This may explain the other strange phenomenon I was experiencing. When I tried to set it up in repeater from the beginning without matching the channel, my router would create a "phantom" version of the host network and broadcast it. Because of this, I originally thought the problem was my host network because of course my computer kept connecting to the stronger "phantom" network.

Hope this helps anyone else with the same problem
guiness
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Sep 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 22:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Been having some problems with my RT-N13U lately...

Been running v24-sp2 (06/14/11) std - build 17201 for about a year and a half, and just in the last month it has taken to losing WAN connectivity. If have the router 'DHCP Renew' everything is fine for a while, then it loses connection again. I've never had to reboot the modem.

Any ideas what might be up?
vk78
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:20    Post subject: Unable to update to latest version Reply with quote
Have a 2 year old N13 B1 - when I updated to latest version r23838, both the LAN and WAN MAC addr were the same. Tried factory defaults and all (no 30/30/30 reset, because I cant get at the router)

Tried version r23720, got different MAC addr, but could not change MAC addr for WAN. Tried cron commands too, but to no avail.

Eventually, went back to r22118.

Any help?
maddy_in65
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 18:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am getting error "File too Large" with transmisssion torrent downloading. tested different torrent but most of the time getting same error.




I attached 500GB HDD having below mentioned partitions

Code:
-- /dev/sda1
Block device, size 417.8 GiB (448567181312 bytes)
FAT32 file system (hints score 4 of 5)
Volume size 417.6 GiB (448348160000 bytes, 27365000 clusters of 16 KiB)
/dev/sda1 mounted to /tmp/mnt/sda1
--- /dev/sda2
Block device, size 43.78 GiB (47008710656 bytes)
Ext4 file system
UUID B2052FF8-F587-4768-9DE2-9589E91478CB (DCE, v4)
Last mounted at "/opt"
Volume size 43.78 GiB (47008710656 bytes, 11476736 blocks of 4 KiB)
/dev/sda2 mounted to /opt


I am not able to figure out issue with transmission. Any help.
CTXSi
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 0:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
maddy_in65 wrote:
I am getting error "File too Large" with transmisssion torrent downloading. tested different torrent but most of the time getting same error.


Stupid question - Isn't there a 4GB file size limit with FAT32?
gotokhaleel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:24    Post subject: Re: Switch Ports Reply with quote
vasek00 wrote:
dng_dng wrote:

Thank you for reply, but I don't really understand how to use that command. Could you give me an example?


LAN1 new vlan
Code:
root@My-Fan:/opt/home# switch vlan set 0 1 1110011
root@My-Fan:/opt/home# switch vlan set 3 4 0001001
root@My-Fan:/opt/home# switch vlan dump
idx   vid  portmap
  0     1  111--11
  1     2  ----1-1
  2     3  1111111
  3     4  ---1--1
  4     5  1111111
...
 15    16  1111111

or

root@My-Fan:/opt/home# switch reg r 70
switch reg read offset=70, value=48ff5067
root@My-Fan:/opt/home# switch reg r 44
switch reg read offset=44, value=4001

root@My-Fan:/opt/home#

WAN port in any vlan, and LAN1 on new WAN
Code:
idx   vid  portmap
  0     1  111--11
  1     2  ---1--1
  2     3  ----1-1

vlan2 - port WAN (LAN1)
vlan1 - port LAN2-LAN4
vlan3 - port WAN (old)


I too face the same issue with this router. I am able to configure the LAN port for WAN and use it. However the switch vlan setting is not persistent across reboot. Is there a way to keep this setting persistent?

Also this setting gets cleared when a ppp redial happens.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22, 23  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 21 of 23
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum