TP-Link WR-1043ND Wireless Client Bridge Problem

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
saxer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 19:27    Post subject: TP-Link WR-1043ND Wireless Client Bridge Problem Reply with quote
Hi guys,

I'm actually using the TP-Link WR-1043ND as a wireless client bridge (draft n) for my PS3 (Playstation 3).

Setup:
Client Bridge
Security (WPA2 Personal TKIP/AES)
Wirelessmode ng-mixed or n-only
Firewall-off

The WR-1043ND is wirelessly connected to an SMCWEB-N (AP).

I tested the WR-1043ND for several days until right now. And I discovered some severe errors/problems:

    WR-1043ND hangs up after a while (<24h)
    When other b/g devices starts to enter the existing wlan the datarate of the WR-1043ND slow extremly down! (<=200kb/s) Other devices are working properly
    Wlan is nearly two times faster in bg (up to 60mbit/s) than in draft n mode (30-40mbit/s)


I tested the device with the following builds:
r14594
r14569
r14537

I would really appreciate to see the WR-1043ND running stable as a client bridge. Maybe some of you can fix the problem in further builds, If you need more detailed infos of my setup...ask please.

Greetings Steffen
Sponsor
darkoblues
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
The same here with the same router.
When using client bridge mode I get disconnected from AP. I noticed routers' wifi gets stuck when it looses the signal from AP.
It does not happen when using Client mode.
I checked what dmesg gives while it happens, maybe it will help:
<6>br0: topology change detected, propagating
<6>br0: port 3(ath0) entering forwarding state
<6>br0: port 3(ath0) entering disabled state
<6>br0: port 3(ath0) entering learning state
<6>br0: topology change detected, propagating
<6>br0: port 3(ath0) entering forwarding state
<6>br0: port 3(ath0) entering disabled state
<4>unexpected operating mode 1<1>CPU 0 Unable to handle kernel paging request at virtual address 00000000, epc == 8182a8a4, ra == 8182a9d0
<4>Oops[#1]:
<4>Cpu 0
<4>$ 0 : 00000000 00000000 00000000 80230200
<4>$ 4 : 00000000 0000c004 00000005 802a5e44
<4>$ 8 : 00000004 00000001 80230000 00000025
<4>$12 : 801fc99c ffffffff 0000ee11 00040ed0
<4>$16 : 814fe000 81f58380 81ec2380 81f58380
<4>$20 : 81f5a090 81ec2380 8183e434 00000000
<4>$24 : 00000000 8184929c
<4>$28 : 811d6000 811d7d08 80203f38 8182a9d0
<4>Hi : 00000000
<4>Lo : 1efac000
<4>epc : 8182a8a4 Tainted: P
<4>ra : 8182a9d0 Status: 1000dc03 KERNEL EXL IE
<4>Cause : 00800008
<4>BadVA : 00000000
<4>PrId : 00019374
<4>Modules linked in: etherip ebt_arpnat ebtable_broute ebtable_nat ebtable_filter ebtables bonding ath_mimo_ahb ath_mimo_hal(P) usb_storage sd_mod scsi_wait_scan scsi_mod ehci_hcd usbcore ag7100_mod(P) rtl8366rb_smi
<4>Process wpa_supplicant (pid: 843, threadinfo=811d6000, task=81084520)
<4>Stack : 00000000 00000001 00000000 00000006 81047d20 814fe000 81362d80 81f5a090
<4> 81f58380 00000005 81ec2380 8182b03c 81443100 00008b1a 00000001 801ef014
<4> 0043ec8a 81ec2380 81362d80 81ec2380 81f58380 811d7e48 0000000a 8182c340
<4> 80203d38 00008b1a 811d7e48 00000000 81ec2380 811d7e58 81f58380 81859210
<4> 811d7e48 8183e594 8b1a0000 00000000 00000000 00000060 811d7e5c 00000005
<4> ...
<4>Call Trace:[<8182b03c>][<801ef014>][<8182c340>][<8183e594>][<801ef760>][<801efacc>][<8002f280>][<801315d4>][<80121620>][<8006f7dc>][<8006faac>][<80013858>][<8006fbfc>][<8000575c>][<8000cfe4>]
<4>
<4>Code: 7ca24140 00021080 00822021 <8c830000> 24020001 00a21004 00021027 00621824 ac830000
saxer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 18:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nice to see, that I am not alone with this problems... Maybe anyone like brainslayer is able to fix the problems is further builds...

Greetings steffen
iddqd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Also happens to my WR-1043ND.
Previous DD-WRT build (forgot which) didn't have the problem.
saxer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
It would be really nice to know which build you used.
darkoblues
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2010 17:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I played with a number of firmwares and found that 14311 is currently keeping the connection stable in client bridge mode. No more crashes as mentioned in my previous post.
btw - latest build 14684 still have this bug.
decayed.cell
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I get a wifi stability problem on 14311 my hardware revision is 1.6
Grooby
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 17:38    Post subject: Bridging between TP-Link and Asus 16N Reply with quote
hi guys,
I have an Asus 16N running V24 wonderfully. Just got a new TP-Link yesterday hoping to get a wireless bridge setup between 2 ends of my apartment. I was able to follow the wiki and get the 2 devices to "see" each other, which means that I see % and also wireless client in the Status page. However, there are no traffics going between these 2 LAN segments (no ping, nothing). Another thing I noticed is that the TP-Link's wireless status page says the network speed is 1Mbps and the 16N's Wireless status page's network speed dropped from ~114Mbps to 11Mbps. I've tried to disable wireless security and still with no avail. I will be playing around with it more tonight but not sure if any of you had similar issues during the initial setup of the bridge?

Jon
yesoos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 22:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same issue with slow transfers in client-bridge mode between two Access Points, using version:

DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/16/10) std
(SVN revision 14815)
darkoblues
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a stable client bridge mode functionality with 14311. I just returned to this old build after trying the latest one where I could ping the AP but no access to internet
uziza
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 0:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have 3 routers here: a DGL-4500 (stock firmware), a WRT610N DD-WRT and a DIR-825 DD-WRT. My problem is the same as DARKOBLUES... no Internet! I'm going to try a older DD-WRT, but in my opinion Atheros is terrible with DD-WRT! Thw WRT610N works great with DD-WRT as a Repeater Bridge! Then, go to Broadcom and be happy!
trady
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Sep 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 18:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
darkoblues wrote:
I have a stable client bridge mode functionality with 14311. I just returned to this old build after trying the latest one where I could ping the AP but no access to internet


Also working with 14311 on the TP-Link WR1043-ND.
After reboot not able to ping the internet.
Go to Wireless / Basic Settings and change from 'Client Bridge' to 'Client. Wait for settings to take effect. Now you only have access through the LAN-ports. Go to Wireless / Basic Settings en change back from 'Client' to 'Client Bridge'. Wait for settings to take effect. Now I have a stable connection with the primary router, can access the router wireless and I can ping the internet.
Who knows which settings are changed when going back and forward from client bridge to client and back to client bridge??
H3llh0und
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Mar 2008
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 19:33    Post subject: Re: Bridging between TP-Link and Asus 16N Reply with quote
Grooby wrote:
hi guys,
I have an Asus 16N running V24 wonderfully. Just got a new TP-Link yesterday hoping to get a wireless bridge setup between 2 ends of my apartment. I was able to follow the wiki and get the 2 devices to "see" each other, which means that I see % and also wireless client in the Status page. However, there are no traffics going between these 2 LAN segments (no ping, nothing). Another thing I noticed is that the TP-Link's wireless status page says the network speed is 1Mbps and the 16N's Wireless status page's network speed dropped from ~114Mbps to 11Mbps. I've tried to disable wireless security and still with no avail. I will be playing around with it more tonight but not sure if any of you had similar issues during the initial setup of the bridge?

Jon


Hi Jon,

same situation on my WR941ND v4.1 Link shows up Speed 1Mb/s but no connetion (using Client Bridge). Can you check your routers CPU usage? (Telnet with top or just GUI)on my device the relayd daemon eats up all CPUtime. Wonder if it is the same on your device.

Regards
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum