Linksys WRT400N Revert to Linksys firmware

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:17    Post subject: Linksys WRT400N Revert to Linksys firmware Reply with quote
TFTP revert reported working by LOM, Just tftp the Linksys firmware on.

Until fully tested, a serial ttl adapter is required if something should go wrong.

This is the GUI revert
Special thx to LOM, who created the file.

1. Restore factory defaults via dd-wrt GUI.
2. Set static IP address to 192.168.1.10
3. Goto firmware upgrade, click browse, find the revert file, click upgrade.
4. IMPORTANT: wait 5 minutes
5. Enter 192.168.1.1 in the web browser.
6. At the prompt, leave the username blank and enter "admin" w/o the quotes as the password.
7. Don't forget to set your IP back to Obtain an IP address automatically.

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki


Last edited by Dark_Shadow on Sun Jun 13, 2010 14:11; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 10:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes it works.

Thank You very much.

_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
Pharaoh
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 485

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Works as advertised if you fellow the directions.

Great if you got wireless issues and need to revert tell ddwrt matures.
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 22:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
When you revert back to stock firmware does it completely erase DD-WRT from the router?

The reason I ask is, I got board this morning , and put DD-WRT back on, there was my setup just the way I had it , and I was wondering how come.

Yes I did several 30/30/30's because logging work sometimes with stock firmware.

_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ronnie_USA wrote:
When you revert back to stock firmware does it completely erase DD-WRT from the router?

The reason I ask is, I got board this morning , and put DD-WRT back on, there was my setup just the way I had it , and I was wondering how come.

Yes I did several 30/30/30's because logging work sometimes with stock firmware.
Clear browser cache and/or try a different browser.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 22:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did that, I use Firefox for every day use , but I use IE8 for accessing the router web page, when stock firmware is on it.
With DD-WRT on I can use Firefox.

I just thought it was funny after you post the revert file I went back to stock. So today I got bored, and put DD-WRT back on, it had retained all my setting.
That's the only reason I asked.

_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 23:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ronnie_USA wrote:
I did that, I use Firefox for every day use , but I use IE8 for accessing the router web page, when stock firmware is on it.
With DD-WRT on I can use Firefox.

I just thought it was funny after you post the revert file I went back to stock. So today I got bored, and put DD-WRT back on, it had retained all my setting.
That's the only reason I asked.
hmm, that is strange.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 23:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
I wonder if this could some how be verified?
I thought once you did the 30/30/30 it cleared everything out , and reset it default.

_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was wondering if anyone else has reverted back to stock firmware, and then reinstalled dd-wrt, and found the settings still there? Also is the a way to clear the chip before reinstalling stock firmware?
_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
HardReset
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 19:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you are running stock firmware and use the stock gui to "restore factory settings", then flash dd-wrt again, is your previous dd-wrt config still in place?

I would guess "not". It is only a guess though. I do not own that router.

_________________
PM for Pin Short Instructions Razz
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
HardReset wrote:
if you are running stock firmware and use the stock gui to "restore factory settings", then flash dd-wrt again, is your previous dd-wrt config still in place?

I would guess "not". It is only a guess though. I do not own that router.


The short answer is Yes.
I thought once You flashed it everything was erased.
But it doesn't look like it happens with this router.
I flashed back a buffalo not log ago, and decided to check it also, and there was no DD-WRT left over.
When I re-flashed it, it was like the first time.
Had to set everything the way I wanted it.
But not with the WRT400N it seems to retain the settings, even after multiple 30/30/30's.

_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
HardReset
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ronnie_USA wrote:
HardReset wrote:
if you are running stock firmware and use the stock gui to "restore factory settings", then flash dd-wrt again, is your previous dd-wrt config still in place?

I would guess "not". It is only a guess though. I do not own that router.


The short answer is Yes.
I thought once You flashed it everything was erased.
But it doesn't look like it happens with this router.
I flashed back a buffalo not log ago, and decided to check it also, and there was no DD-WRT left over.
When I re-flashed it, it was like the first time.
Had to set everything the way I wanted it.
But not with the WRT400N it seems to retain the settings, even after multiple 30/30/30's.


forget about the 30/30/30.. using the gui, tell it to reset to factory settings. Then see.

_________________
PM for Pin Short Instructions Razz
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 22:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have done the GUI thing, and then when it was done I install the update from Linksys, that is the same build a the web revert, No luck still there if you revert back. I just wish someone else had tired it to verify it's that way.
_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
deetech
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:31    Post subject: Wrt400 gui revert.bin Reply with quote
Where can I find the Wrt400 gui revert.bin?
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7626

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 7:33    Post subject: Re: Wrt400 gui revert.bin Reply with quote
deetech wrote:
Where can I find the Wrt400 gui revert.bin?


First post in this thread. When you are logged in.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum