Bricked WZR-HP-G300NH, cannot seem to tftp it back to life

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
nonzenze
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 19:47    Post subject: Bricked WZR-HP-G300NH, cannot seem to tftp it back to life Reply with quote
Hi All, bought a spanking new G300NH to replace my HP-G54R that has served me loyally (but in the g bands) for a while.

After flashing through the web interface to http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/04-16-10-r14289/buffalo_wzr-hp-g300nh/buffalo_to_ddwrt_webflash-MULTI.bin (which the web interface accepted), my router is now in perpetual reboot mode, restarting itself every 15 seconds or so. First thing first, someone should remove that download or at least slap a warning on it.

I have tried to TFTP it back to life but I can't get a ping response, either on 192.168.2.1 or 192.168.11.1. Tried setting my XP computer to either 192.168.10.10 or 192.168.2.10 static with 192.168.X.1 as the gateway and I cannot get a ping response or anything from TFTP.

Any suggestions on how the heck I can fix this? I can't ARP the address in because I cannot figure out the MAC (not printed on the device).

BTW, my router is the latest (A0A3) hardware revision, if that matters.
Sponsor
nonzenze
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 1:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bump for a little lovin?
ratickle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Location: North Jersey

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 2:26    Post subject: Re: Bricked WZR-HP-G300NH, cannot seem to tftp it back to li Reply with quote
nonzenze wrote:
Hi All, bought a spanking new G300NH to replace my HP-G54R that has served me loyally (but in the g bands) for a while.

After flashing through the web interface to http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/04-16-10-r14289/buffalo_wzr-hp-g300nh/buffalo_to_ddwrt_webflash-MULTI.bin (which the web interface accepted), my router is now in perpetual reboot mode, restarting itself every 15 seconds or so. First thing first, someone should remove that download or at least slap a warning on it.

I have tried to TFTP it back to life but I can't get a ping response, either on 192.168.2.1 or 192.168.11.1. Tried setting my XP computer to either 192.168.10.10 or 192.168.2.10 static with 192.168.X.1 as the gateway and I cannot get a ping response or anything from TFTP.

Any suggestions on how the heck I can fix this? I can't ARP the address in because I cannot figure out the MAC (not printed on the device).

BTW, my router is the latest (A0A3) hardware revision, if that matters.


I think the installation of DD-WRT changes the IP address to 192.168.1.1 and the router will accept downloads only for a short period of time a few seconds after each reboot. The MAC address is labeled as SSID on the back of the router.

If you get it talking, you might want to consider going back to Buffalo firmware until DD-WRT comes out of beta. After much testing, several users have concluded that the current DD-WRT firmware for this router is not ready for production usage.

This link gives some info on how to revert back to factory firmware:

http://forums.buffalotech.com/t5/Wireless/Buffalo-WZR-HP-G300NH-Factory-Firmware-Revert/m-p/30344

Just pray that you don't move from the "constant reboot brick" to the "never ending diag light double-blink brick". No one has reported a way to recover from that brick mode.

.
flytiger
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did recover the router from double diag led blink bridk.

What you need to do is to follow the wiki of linux section and tftp the official firmware (other firmware may work, but I didn't test).

The ping will not work, since the router doesn't response to ping. And success rate is very low under windows (vista or 7) since the nic took some time to connect to router unless you have a switch connected in between. (xp may work, but I don't have and never tried)

here is some brief steps.
1. boot with ubunto live cd,
2. sudo apt-get update
3. sudo apt-get install tftp-npa
4. sudo /etc/init.d/networking stop
5. sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.11.2
6. sudo ifconfig eth0 netmask 255.255.255.0
7. sudo apr -s 192.168.11.1 <your router mac here>
8. tftp
9. tftp>binary
10.tftp>rexmt 1
11.tftp>timeout 60
12.tftp>connect 192.168.11.1
13.tftp>put <your firmware file>
14. connect your router and power on

update according to the comments from LOM. thanks.

_________________
* US Robostics 5461
->Buffalo WHR-G125
->D-Link Dir-600 A1 (openwrt)
->Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH x 2


Last edited by flytiger on Fri Jun 18, 2010 17:06; edited 3 times in total
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
flytiger wrote:
And success rate is very low under windows since the nic took some time to connect to router no matter what you are doing.


That is if you are using Win Vista or Win7, no problem with WinXP.
Possible remedy when using Vista or Win7 is to connect an ethernet switch between your computer and the router so that the ethernet port of your computer doesn't go down when you have the router powered off.

Win7 is tricky because it gets very upset when the ethernet is down, jumps between Home Lan, Office Lan and Public Lan and takes forever to find out that the link is up.

The tftp client in the router expects to connect to a server at 192.168.11.2 so you must manually configure your own computer for that ip.
The router is 192.168.11.1 during this phase regardless of what you have configured it to be in the dd-wrt firmware.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
ratickle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Location: North Jersey

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 12:57    Post subject: Thank you! Reply with quote
Thank you flytiger and LOM for posting the recovery procedure for a "diag double-blink brick". I think this information is going to help a lot of people.

The missing piece of the puzzle for me was that the computer MUST be set to IP address 192.168.11.2. I thought any IP address on the same subnet was sufficient.

Thanks again!

.
la7dfa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Location: Kristiansund, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
5. sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.2
7. sudo apr -s 192.168.11.1 <your router mac here>


Line 5 is a typo 192.168.11.2 is the right address.

Can anyone help me with line 7.
sudo apr -s does not seem to be a command.

Yes, Im a moran when it comes to Linux commands...

_________________
RT-N66U, WZR-HP-G300NH
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
la7dfa wrote:

Can anyone help me with line 7.
sudo apr -s does not seem to be a command.

Yes, Im a moran when it comes to Linux commands...


arp

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
la7dfa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Location: Kristiansund, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 12:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks LOM. Sounds better than Apr Wink
_________________
RT-N66U, WZR-HP-G300NH
la7dfa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Location: Kristiansund, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 16:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is a recipe with errors removed.

1. boot with ubunto live cd,
2. sudo apt-get update
3. sudo apt-get install tftp-hpa
4. sudo /etc/init.d/networking stop
5. sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.11.2
6. sudo ifconfig eth0 netmask 255.255.255.0
7. sudo arp -s 192.168.11.1 <your router mac here>
8. tftp 192.168.11.1
9. tftp>binary
10. tftp>rexmt 1
11. tftp>timeout 60
12. tftp>connect 192.168.11.1
13. tftp>put <your firmware file>
14. connect your router and power on

----------------------------------------------------
The last problem here is my firmware is for "unsupport MODEL". I presume this is due to different versions for EU/USA/Japan.

_________________
RT-N66U, WZR-HP-G300NH
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
la7dfa wrote:

The last problem here is my firmware is for "unsupport MODEL". I presume this is due to different versions for EU/USA/Japan.


EU/NA/JP/KR/TW and possibly one or two more that I don't remember right now.
You must use a firmware for the region that the router was sold in (was intended to be sold in, if grey imported), select correct region on Buffalotech web site.
You can not cross-update to another region.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
la7dfa
DD-WRT User


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Location: Kristiansund, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is a method that should work for TFTP & Windows 7.
Posted by ermax in another thread.

Tried flashing to DD-WRT and sort of bricked mine but was able to get it back under Windows 7. Here is what I did.

First I set my IP static to 192.168.11.2.
Then at the cmd prompt I typed 'route print' to find the number of my network addapter. In my case my nic is number 11.
Then I added a static arp entry like this (arp -s didn't work):
netsh interface ipv4 add neighbors 11 192.168.11.1 00-1d-73-b3-6f-d3

Note the 11 in that command above is the adapter number found using route print and the mac is the number printed on the sticker on the router as SSID.

Now I just pulled the power plug out and then typed:
tftp -i 192.168.11.1 PUT wzrhpg300nh-165
Then I plugged it back in and then hit enter. It will sit for about 20secs and then finally transfer. The diag light flashes for about 5mins and then reboots and come back up with the original firmware.

BTW, tftp isn't installed by default in Win7. To install it go into 'Add or remove programs' and then in the left pane click on 'Turn windows features on or off' and then scroll down to 'TFTP Client'.

_________________
RT-N66U, WZR-HP-G300NH
quietas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 23:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the info guys. I recovered my brick with the info you had posted. I have one thing to add as this thread came up in several searches I did here and via Google.

When flashing the bricked router, the buffalo to dd-wrt version works, but I had trouble with the web upgrade firmwares.
dogdudebox
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 21:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have tried using the ubuntu method, but when I get to the put <your file here> I get an error stating: No such file or directory. Am I doing something wrong. I am using Ubuntu 10.04.
quietas
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 21:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I used Win7 with XP mode and it worked fine, the key is to use a switch/hub/router in the middle to maintain the Ethernet connection while rebooting.

Ubuntu will work, but it's just an added complication. XP or older will work just fine. Hiren's boot disk works well also in fact.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum