{NOW SUPPORTED} - Hardware Request (NETGEAR WNR2000 v2)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 24, 25, 26  Next
Author Message
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrwawa wrote:
Hi this firmware is great! The best i've ever had ;-)

Just one thing: Is it difficult to support the hardware on/off switch for the wifi (wireless lan) module on the back side?


If that would work it would be perfect!


If you want to turn the radio on or off with the assigned WPS button, the option to set that should be in the webgui under the Services tab.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
Sponsor
mrwawa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nope - it's not about WPS.

On the back side of the router is a small push button.
When you press it 2 sec it turns wireless module on (blue light for wlan begins to light).
When you press it again for 2 sec it turns wireless module off (blue light for wlan clears).

My wife loves this feature - you can turn wireless "radiation" on only when you need it.

Thanks for you care anyhow ...
vartok
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I flashed my router back when they just put out the chk file was first made and after some playing with settings its been working fine sence... Well today someone got a new xbox slim ans we are using the built in wireless n to connect... well they have been trying to watch a move streamed via WMC and the router has completely dropped wifi 3 time in one movie (My computer connected via N drops the same time)

So i was looking at updateing the firmware and seeing if it helps... well, this is what DDWRT says i currently have:

Firmware Version DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/31/10) std-nokaid-small - build 14536M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko

Now thats a higher number than whats shown on the main site.... what should i flash this with, or what can i do to keep the wifi from crashing
smaerd58
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Mar 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:25    Post subject: Reinstall Netgear Firmware? Reply with quote
I installed
dd-wrt.v24-14536_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR2000v2.chk

and it will not let me reinstall netgear updated firmware to factory. I need to uninstall the DD-WRT version. From the web interface I tried to go to the update firmware tab and reinstall netgear and it goes about 10 seconds and comes up failed to update. I am doing something wrong can someone help? Thanks
LVKeith
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 18:25    Post subject: Bridge Mode Reply with quote
Thanks to this forum I have successfully flashed 2 routers with version 15943 mini (chk file). I have one setup as access point and one as bridge - both N only (no mixed mode). The access point router is working fine, and I can get 5 bars and 270-400 mbs on my laptop in the same location as the bridge. However I only get 11mbs throughput at 60% signal strength with the bridge.

Is there some setting that I missed in setting up the bridge that would increase it's receive capability. The main router is certainly transmitting enough signal if my laptop is able to get 270-300mbs.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Keith
upgrayedd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 3:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just upgraded using dd-wrt.v24-15943_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin from version 15230. No problems so far.

Has anyone tried the version that just came out mid-March?
retsoksirhc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 0:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
upgrayedd wrote:
Just upgraded using dd-wrt.v24-15943_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin from version 15230. No problems so far.

Has anyone tried the version that just came out mid-March?


My spare WNR2000v2 came in the mail last week, so I figured why not? I just finished the upgrade. So far so good. I haven't had a chance to check it out too much yet (I literally finished flashing 5 minutes ago) but if I can get this far, I imagine all will be in good working order.

-edit- I've got everything I was using before configured, and so far I haven't had any issues. It's been stable as well, and I haven't noticed anything odd in the status pages. It's been about 3.5 hours, and I've been streaming netflix almost the entire time. I'm gonna go ahead and call this a win.

Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/10/11) mini
Time: 23:08:04 up 3:23, load average: 0.13, 0.03, 0.0
Shadow160
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 21:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok Gang I NEED some help here.

I have read thru all 13 pages of this. I flashed with the chk file from i think page 3 of this.I am set in repeater mode. I cannot hold a wireless signal to a laptop but it stays connected to the main router. I reflashed with Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) std-nokaid-small. Same problem, stays connect to main router but wireless devices drop after a minute or two.

This is driving me nuts, is there anyway to reflash with Netgear firmware to get it back to an out of the box configuration ?

Thanks

John
dctechie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 20:10    Post subject: WiFi instability fix. For now. Reply with quote
Someone earlier in this forum has noted that changing the wireless mode to G ONLY fixes all the disconnection issues. I've also noted that it does get pretty hot. Not sure if it's related, however with N or GN Mixed, I would dropped connections very often. In G only mode it runs perfectly. If someone has found a way to get N or GN mode to work without any drops, please post the Firmware you have used.

Ben

Shadow160 wrote:
Ok Gang I NEED some help here.

I have read thru all 13 pages of this. I flashed with the chk file from i think page 3 of this.I am set in repeater mode. I cannot hold a wireless signal to a laptop but it stays connected to the main router. I reflashed with Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) std-nokaid-small. Same problem, stays connect to main router but wireless devices drop after a minute or two.

This is driving me nuts, is there anyway to reflash with Netgear firmware to get it back to an out of the box configuration ?

Thanks

John
corzy666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 23:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, my repeater bridge setup will not go to the same channel that my primary router is on.

When I disable security, it will send signals to whatever other router in my neighborhood is on the same channel tho.

How can I fix this! It's driving me crazy.

Even when I try setting up a client bridge, it is not working... I am following every step exactly.

Could it be my routers are not compatible with each other?

I am using a Linksys E2000 as my main router and a Netgear WNR2000 v2 with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) std-nokaid-small firmware
ssturner66
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:02    Post subject: WNR2000v2 Installation issues for DD-WRT (NEWBIE) Reply with quote
Hello all, I have spent 3 days going over everything I could read in the forums, the Wiki and FAQ's before I attempted to flash my WNR2000v2 router.

I downloaded "dd-wrt.v24-16403_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR2000v2.chk" and logged into the GUI for my router and went to the upgrade section and browsed to the above mentioned file then started the upgrade. I did not touch anything, was receiving an update status bar in my web browser's GUI for the upgrade. As the status bar neared completion, the browser window went to the standard "Internet Explorer cannot display the web page" screen.

I tried refreshing the webpage but received more of the same. I waited for about 10 minutes then tried performing a 30-30-30 reset and then closed Internet Explorer and re-opened the browser and tried to log onto the router. Again, nothing.

I went to a DOS prompt and performed the "ping 192.168.1.1" command and the router responded. My laptop's IPv4 address is statically set to 192.168.1.5, Gateway is 255.255.255.0 and Default Gateway is 192.168.1.1.

Back to the DOS prompt and the "ping -t 192.168.1.1" command... lots of replies. I turned off the router and then back on and it went from "request timed out" to replying once again after a couple of seconds. I am still unable to log onto the router from a web browser.

I thought perhaps I had bricked the router but basic level of communication is there with the ping. So I read some more in the forum and found a post that talked about using TFTP2 to connect to the router and upload an image after the .chk file has been completed.

I downloaded TFTP2 and ran it as per the directions at "http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Tftp_flash#TFTP_tools". I browsed to the following file: "dd-wrt.v24-16403_NEWD-2_K2.6_openvpn_small" and proceeded to upload with TFTP2.
Once complete, I performed another 30-30-30 and tried to log into the router with my browser... again, nothing "Internet Explorer cannot display the web page" yet I can ping the router...

I am perplexed... anyone have any ideas?
ShadowKatmandu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 18:10    Post subject: WNR2000 problem with CHK / IMG Reply with quote
I'll start by saying I am a n00b on flashing routers and that is likely my problem. I have tried to follow the instructions and have yet to get my WNR2000 router to load or even try to load the dd-wrt.v24-14536_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR2000v2.chk file, which I believe is correct based on the router database search I did.

When I try to load it using Netgear's GUI, it says the file should be a .img file. I tried renaming the file (didn't think this would work, but I tried anyway), and it told me I had an invalid file name. I shortened the filename, thinking the firmware was using some old, limited file name thing, but no luck.

So I did some searching and found this thread. After reading through a few success stories, I found the bit about using TFTP2. I followed the instructions--even sidetracked and tried the method for a different model which involved setting a static IP of 192.168.1.250--but the TFTP method is doing nothing.

In short, then, what I am doing wrong? How can I get DD-WRT loaded? I am confident my router is supported. It is the N300 model of the WNR2000, which Netgear's documentation says is WNR2000 v2. Thanks in advance for any advice.
locksmithnyc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:44    Post subject: DD-wrt firmware back to Netgear Firmware help Reply with quote
I have the Netgear 2000.v2 router I installed dd-wrt. However I want to go back to the NETGEAR firmware. How do I do that?

Please help thanks.
10boomer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 17:21    Post subject: WNR2000 v3 Reply with quote
Hi, hate to ask a silly question....but does anyone know if v3 is supported yet or if the WNR2000v2 DD-WRT package will also work on v3?
nerf5000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:06    Post subject: for those who want to know what's the difference Reply with quote
I noticed a few pages back folks were asking for what the difference is between the load types; linky is here:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/What_is_DD-WRT%3F#Notes
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 24, 25, 26  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 13 of 26
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum