Client Bridged issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
androx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:08    Post subject: Client Bridged issues Reply with quote
Hello. I'll preface my question by saying that I'm running DD-WRT v24 RC-5 (11/22/07) micro on a Linksys WRT54Gv8 / GSv7. The reason I haven't upgraded to a more recent firmware is because my question is about Client Bridging through DD-WRT in general.

I just moved and where I'm at now has a Linksys running default firmware, this is the main router. My DD-WRT router is the client. I followed instructions online for Client Bridging and have it working really well aside for one thing.

The problem is that I noticed earlier today that traffic from the internet that is aimed at a specific port that I manually initiate such as VNC fails to go through.

The Firewall is off on the DD-WRT and enabled on the stock Linksys.

I've spent the past few hours fiddling around with the various settings, disabling and enabling everything I can think of. Switching to Repeater bridged instead of client bridged. I set up/removed Port forwarding on both routers because I wasn't sure which needed the settings. I'm inclined to think the stock Linksys needs it since my DD-WRT has routing disabled.

In the article I used for configuration I found this http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Bridge#Limitations which basically explains that the routing tables are messed up because everything behind the client-router shares the same MAC.

So my question (and the reason I haven't gone through the trouble of updating firmware yet) - is this a limitation of the client bridge mode (dupe MAC) that will happen regardless of upgrade and cause this forwarding issue. Or will upgrading fix the issue, I don't think it will because the comments on that link make reference to the latest firmware release I believe. Or is this forwarding issue not even related to the client bridge mode and I need to start looking elsewhere for a fix?

Its really a weird problem because everything else works such as web traffic, all my devices behind the DD-WRT can see each other as well as other computers wirelessly connected to the Linksys can see everything behind the DD-WRT.

Sorry this is so long. Thanks for any help.
Sponsor
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgrading will not change that issue. It is how bridging works. However, you should upgrade to a recent build, as that build is subject to the milworm exploit. Put 13525 Micro on the router.
_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
androx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the quick reply. I'll go ahead and get it upgraded.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum