SWAP hasn't worked from r13832 - r14144, just disable it?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
robackja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 23:24    Post subject: SWAP hasn't worked from r13832 - r14144, just disable it? Reply with quote
Running Linksys WRT610N v2. I run SSH, Samba2, and Transmission. No QoS or other services.

When I initially got the router, I ran r13382, and now I am currently running r14144.

Using swap, I never see any swap space used (using the free command) and dmesg always reports the following errors
Code:

swapper: page allocation failure. order:0, mode:0x20
Call Trace:[<80010788>][<80010788>][<8005d6e0>][<8007b58c>][<8007b270>][<80230050>][<8023b390>][<80034f0c>][<80034f94>][<80034aa8>][<80034be8>][<80007cd0>][<80009c44>][<8000be88>][<8000be88>][<8000be58>][<800f8ba4>][<80484c98>][<80484198>]
Mem-info:
Normal per-cpu:
CPU    0: Hot: hi:   18, btch:   3 usd:   7   Cold: hi:    6, btch:   1 usd:   5
Active:8286 inactive:3395 dirty:609 writeback:0 unstable:0
 free:96 slab:2671 mapped:1415 pagetables:85 bounce:0
Normal free:384kB min:1016kB low:1268kB high:1524kB active:33144kB inactive:13580kB present:65024kB pages_scanned:51 all_unreclaimable? no
lowmem_reserve[]: 0 0
Normal: 0*4kB 0*8kB 0*16kB 2*32kB 1*64kB 0*128kB 1*256kB 0*512kB 0*1024kB 0*2048kB 0*4096kB = 384kB
Swap cache: add 0, delete 0, find 0/0, race 0+0
Free swap  = 128512kB
Total swap = 128512kB
Free swap:       128512kB
16384 pages of RAM
0 pages of HIGHMEM
1388 reserved pages
7383 pages shared
0 pages swap cached


Is swap broken in current builds? I was thinking of going back to build r13527 from the sticky thread, but it seems like that won't make a difference here...

Any thoughts?

_________________
Linksys WRT610N v2 (DD-WRT) :: D-LINK DIR-825 (OpenWrt) :: The World in 35mm :: Bandwidth Shaping with DD-WRT
Sponsor
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
It would appear (not sure) that you are using the K26 builds. Those have had swap disabled. Swap still works on K24 builds. Not sure if the swap is being worked on in the newer builds, but that is what is up so far.
_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
robackja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 23:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
well swap is certainly not *disabled*. I can enable a swap formatted partition without issue. logs messages even show it being added.

Code:

Adding 128512k swap on /dev/sda2.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:128512k


Code:

             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:         59984      58844       1140          0        344      30464
-/+ buffers/cache:      28036      31948
Swap:       128512          0     128512


It must be broken then.. Sad

_________________
Linksys WRT610N v2 (DD-WRT) :: D-LINK DIR-825 (OpenWrt) :: The World in 35mm :: Bandwidth Shaping with DD-WRT
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2070
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
You must remember that these newer routers with either 64 or 128MB of RAM will not swap unless they are under HEAVY load. My RT-N16 will swap, but only if I have multiple services running like Transmission and Samba file transfer. I am using build 14144 mega
_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-AC68U
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Engenious ECB350
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ105W
robackja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 0:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Masterman wrote:
You must remember that these newer routers with either 64 or 128MB of RAM will not swap unless they are under HEAVY load. My RT-N16 will swap, but only if I have multiple services running like Transmission and Samba file transfer. I am using build 14144 mega


Well, the first thing I wrote on this topic...

robackja wrote:
Running Linksys WRT610N v2. I run SSH, Samba2, and Transmission. No QoS or other services.


Its mainly all transmission, without it, I am at about 30% swap usage. Btw, 610Nv2 has 64mb of ram. And I am also using the r14144 mega/big build from BrainSlayer.

_________________
Linksys WRT610N v2 (DD-WRT) :: D-LINK DIR-825 (OpenWrt) :: The World in 35mm :: Bandwidth Shaping with DD-WRT
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=388014#388014
_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
robackja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
phuzi0n wrote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=388014#388014


I hear ya, I guess I am lacking to understand by what Eko means by "disabled" then. In regular Linux land, if you disable swap in the kernel, you cannot mount swap partitions, swap partition format, 0x82 isn't recognized, etc, etc.

I see every indication that swap is enabled in the kernel, and as a matter of fact, it was automounted for me (assuming by optware), but something realized my USB disk had a swap partition and without specifying anything in the configuration, some startup script does a "swapon /dev/sda2" automatically.

If you are going to disable something, then disable it. Otherwise it just leads to confusion. Especially in the DD-WRT world, since forums, docs, wikis seem to contradict themselves 50% of the time Smile

_________________
Linksys WRT610N v2 (DD-WRT) :: D-LINK DIR-825 (OpenWrt) :: The World in 35mm :: Bandwidth Shaping with DD-WRT
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
robackja wrote:
phuzi0n wrote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=388014#388014


I hear ya, I guess I am lacking to understand by what Eko means by "disabled" then. In regular Linux land, if you disable swap in the kernel, you cannot mount swap partitions, swap partition format, 0x82 isn't recognized, etc, etc.

I see every indication that swap is enabled in the kernel, and as a matter of fact, it was automounted for me (assuming by optware), but something realized my USB disk had a swap partition and without specifying anything in the configuration, some startup script does a "swapon /dev/sda2" automatically.

If you are going to disable something, then disable it. Otherwise it just leads to confusion. Especially in the DD-WRT world, since forums, docs, wikis seem to contradict themselves 50% of the time Smile

He unset CONFIG_SWAP in the kernel config file. Maybe some optware packages are inserting modules, I don't know, but AFAIK other people completely lost the ability to even mount swap partitions.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/changeset/13554
https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=396686#396686

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
robackja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
that is for 2.6.23 kernel, newer brainslayer builds are using 2.6.24 and I have a /proc/swap

Code:
root@router:/proc# cat /proc/swaps
Filename            Type      Size   Used   Priority
/dev/sda2                               partition   128512   0   0


So somehow it must have gotten re-enabled, maybe by accident? since it seems to dump to the console every now and again..

Where is the source tree for 2.6.24?

_________________
Linksys WRT610N v2 (DD-WRT) :: D-LINK DIR-825 (OpenWrt) :: The World in 35mm :: Bandwidth Shaping with DD-WRT
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's just a mislabeled directory but that's the 2.6.4.111 sources. See the top of the makefile and the config file for example.
_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum