New R7800 and DHCP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 15:09    Post subject: New R7800 and DHCP Reply with quote
I got a new r7800, and when using using any build past 39296, DHCP no longer works.
All devices need to be assigned a static IP address, which is not possible.

I have tried clean installs, but as soon as I fill in static leases, DHCP stops.
Sponsor
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7443
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 17:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
1) This is not the Qualcomm Atheros forum

2) If you're using the webUI static lease blocks, you may have to actually add the leases in the additional dnsmasq configs instead as there could be something broken.

_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, could someone please move this to the Qualcomm Autheros Fourm, or do I need to make a topic in there about this?

I never had to mess with the dnsmasq configs, is there a guide that will help me through that?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7443
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 18:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
If I were an admin or moderator, I would. But, there's at least one thread over there that may be of value, although it is for the EA8500: https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=323457
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I looked through that, and was able to make dnsmasq list, however it didn't change anything.
Any devices that try to get an IP address will get an IPv6 address, but not an IPv4 address causing them to not connect.
Also, on a side note, even on build 39296, I need to disable the following :
Use DNSMasq for DHCP
Use DNSMasq for DNS
DHCP-Authoritative
If I don't the same problem arises. Not sure if that provides any insight.
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7443
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there any reason why you have ipv6 enabled? Also, were there any reports of these issues in the build thread for that build or any afterwards? Personally, I think it's a configuration issue, OR, that build was during some development that broke something. I'm not having those issues on the *one* R7800 I left DD-WRT on next door that was still on 40270 kongat before I took the plunge to switch to BS builds and it's on 42617 now.
_________________
Official Forum Rules, Guidelines, and Helpful InformationFirmware FAQInstallation WikiWhere Do I Download Firmware?
DON'T use Chromium-based browsersRTFM/STFW - TL;DR is NOT an excuse. • Why Should I Care What Color the Bikeshed Is?
Please DO NOT PM me with questions; Ask in the forum.

---------------------------------------------------------

Linux User #377467 counter.li.org / linuxcounter.net
1031982
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 14:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have made a new topic in the correct area, here is the link for further discussion.
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1194950#1194950
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum