TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Bricked ,Can not write flash memory.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Author Message
hvandrie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 36
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 7:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
For my USB TTL adapter, I use these.
_________________
It's all about bits and bytes!
Sponsor
mikroskill
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 16:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
johnoo wrote:
Hi i had the same problem!

I tempted DD-WRT. But i want now Open-DD-WRT. Here is the solution: http://samiux.blogspot.com/2010/03/howto-dd-wrt-on-tp-link-tl-wr1043nd.html

You only have to execute "step 6"!
It works fine!

I have the original firmware back! -and now i flash Open-DD-WRT :)

------------------------------------------------------------
yeah.. i did it just like "step 6".. but with the original file from TP-Link. Unfortunatly, I bricked my router.. LOL






PS.: sry for my bad english!
mikroskill
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 16:39    Post subject: Re: How can i find the first 0x20200 bytes ? Reply with quote
mikroskill wrote:
Hi.. I've downloaded original firmware(TL-WR1043ND_V1_091118) at http://www.tp-link.com/support/download.asp?a=1&m=TL%2DWR1043ND

Then find a hexeditor (I used HxD Hexeditor) to open the file.

but i can't find the first 0x20200. it starts with the hex sequence: "01 00 00 00 54 50".

would anyone tell me how can i find the first 0x20200 bytes ?

Thanks in advance...


----------------------------------------------------------------
Mr. Hvandrie.. may u help me to answer this question?
Thanks a lot
johnoo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
0x20200 is the addess. You have to delete the bytes before. Therefore you have to delete the Bytes from 0x0 - 0x20200 (when i understand this correct).

Why you don't use the prepared file, when you have trouble with it?
eml
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 17:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

after some testing I found out that I did the soldering correctly. My next problem is that I cant't access the commandline. I get the following output over the commandline:

Code:

U-Boot 1.1.4 (Nov 17 2009 - 11:56:26)

AP83 (ar9100) U-boot 0.0.11
DRAM: 
sri
32 MB
id read 0x100000ff
flash size 8MB, sector count = 128
Flash:  8 MB
Using default environment

In:    serial
Out:   serial
Err:   serial
Net:   ag7100_enet_initialize...
No valid address in Flash. Using fixed address
: cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7114
eth0: 00:03:7f:09:0b:ad
eth0 up
eth0
Autobooting in 1 seconds


then I type "tpl" and press enter.... but nothing happens?

regards

eml
hvandrie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 36
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just type "tpl" very fast at the moment you see "Autobooting", no [enter] is required. The command prompt will then show something like "ar7100>"
_________________
It's all about bits and bytes!
eml
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 21:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm strange....

I typed it several times but I can't get the command prompt.
By_Zaca
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 0:48    Post subject: help-me Reply with quote
Hello friends!

I was putting the original firmware and follow step 6 from the following link:
http://samiux.blogspot.com/2010/03/howto-dd-wrt-on-tp-link-tl-wr1043nd.html

Just giving ERROR, then reboot the router, and now all the LEDs are flashing, how can it arum? only with the JPAG? (I have one that was used in the cable modem MOTOROLA!

EDIT: Hello, I've been researching and I have to use the USB cable TTL, I'll build it!
What would be the order that I use the 4 pin?

. . . .
Rx, Tx, GND, VCC (3.3V)?
I place the order equal to the image?


Only the TTL and cable need to recover the router?

EDIT2: I've been seeing the first official post that router, and found this picture:


Then I can make this cable:
http://www.sbhacker.net/forum/index.php/topic/19785-tutorial-como-construir-um-cabo-serial-rs232-e-flashear-seu-modem/

connect the PC and use that soft?


Thanks Again[/img]
Croone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 11:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
eml wrote:
Hmm strange....

I typed it several times but I can't get the command prompt.


Hello! I had the exact same problem, and it was because the ground cable wasn't soldered in properly, and without ground you can only receive data, and not send. Make sure it has enough connection on the other side of the board too.

Also I have a question! I managed to unbrick my wr1043nd router, although it was messy because I used an old phone cable which i had no pinouts to. But after a few attempts i got it right. But in the tries, I burnt the board a bit, having to trace where the holes go.
The problem is my usb doesn't seem to work since that. When I plug in anything, dmesg says "Unable to enumerate device", even tho everything is properly initialised beforehand. Any ideas? Anyone had the same? Could it have anything to do with the fact that i left the serial cable in? I really hope i didn't hurt anything on the board during the unbrick process. Thanks!
robertchanlist
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 0:37    Post subject: How to connect the serial port to the PCB? Reply with quote
Hi,

I am trying to use the serial port on the rotuer to unbrick it. However, the RS232 cable I have on hand has a 9-pin socket. How can I connect it to the 4-pin interface on the board?

Thanks.

Robert.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 7:02    Post subject: Re: How to connect the serial port to the PCB? Reply with quote
robertchanlist wrote:
Hi,

I am trying to use the serial port on the rotuer to unbrick it. However, the RS232 cable I have on hand has a 9-pin socket. How can I connect it to the 4-pin interface on the board?


You need a level shifter since RS232 serial is + - 12V level and your router is serial TTL 3.3V.

Don't even try to connect that RS232 cable directly to the router, you will fry the routers serial port and possibly also the whole cpu.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
robertchanlist
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 13:46    Post subject: Re: How to connect the serial port to the PCB? Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
robertchanlist wrote:
Hi,

I am trying to use the serial port on the rotuer to unbrick it. However, the RS232 cable I have on hand has a 9-pin socket. How can I connect it to the 4-pin interface on the board?


You need a level shifter since RS232 serial is + - 12V level and your router is serial TTL 3.3V.

Don't even try to connect that RS232 cable directly to the router, you will fry the routers serial port and possibly also the whole cpu.


Hi LOM,

Thanks for the warning. As I am very new to hardware hacking (never done that in my life), I wouldn't know the danger if you did not tell me ...

What I was trying to do was to connect the Rx, Tx and Gnd pins to the corresponding pins in the RS232 connector. If that is the case, it wouldn't involve the VCC pin at all. So is this assumption totally garbage?

Regards,

Robert
fyi2000
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Apr 2010
Posts: 642

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
DD-WRT Forum :: View topic - HELP!!!! SEMI BRICKED ROUTER

TP-Link TL-WR1043ND - OpenWrt Wiki - OEM installation using the TFTP and RS232 method
Quote:
erase 0xbf020000 +7c0000 # 7c0000: size of the firmware (be aware that you may have a different size thus bricking your router)
tftpboot 0x81000000 code.bin
cp.b 0x81000000 0xbf020000 0x7c0000
bootm 0xbf020000

TP-Link TL-WR1043ND - OpenWrt Wiki - Recovery via serial console
Quote:
You will see something like this:
    .
    No valid address in Flash. Using fixed address
    : cfg1 0xf cfg2 0x7114
    eth0 up
    eth0
    Autobooting in 1 seconds

Type
    tpl

during this 1 second period. Then continue with OEM installation using the TFTP and RS232 method

TP-Link TL-WR1043ND - OpenWrt Wiki - Back to original firmware
Quote:
WARNING: Only perform the dd action below if your original firmware has the word "boot" in it, for example, wr1043nv1_en_3_9_17_up_boot(091118).bin. Please do not dd your original firmware if it has no "boot" in its name, for example, wr1043nv1_en_3_11_5_up(100427).bin, because if you do, you will brick your router! This was confirmed by supertom64
Cut first 0x20200 bytes from original firmware
    dd if=orig.bin of=tplink.bin skip=257 bs=512

and flash via uboot or mtd
poganym
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Oct 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 14:14    Post subject: sw to be loaded back Reply with quote
Hi

"hvandrie" can you send me the sw to be loaded via serial in Private message?

Thanks
Marton
poganym
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Oct 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 19:16    Post subject: Re: sw to be loaded back Reply with quote
poganym wrote:
Hi

"hvandrie" can you send me the sw to be loaded via serial in Private message?

Thanks
Marton


Sorry I am blind I found it Smile
M
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 13
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum