Possible Bug?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
smc1979
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 5:02    Post subject: Possible Bug? Reply with quote
Hey everyone.
I didn't find any info on this with a search. So hopefully I'm not posting something already known. If so, sorry about that :-)

I had to go setup a customers internet for them today.
They have multiple remote desktop connections setup. They come in one one port each and all get forwarded to port 3389 to their computers.

I had them buy a Linksys WRT54GL. I put the dd-wrt mini generic that was recommend on the site.

Everything installed perfect.
I setup all the port forwarding rules.
Example
Remote 4000 Both 192.168.2.10 3389 Enabled

All rules worked perfect but one. I had a total of 4 rules. What ever rule was in the 3rd row wouldn't work.
I would then disable that rule, add another rule (Row 5 now) and it would work fine. No matter what was in the 3rd row it refused to work. Any rule on any other row was fine, only row 3 wouldn't.

Very odd. But I got everything working by having a dummy rule in row 3 and moving on.

Anyways I hope this helps.

Take care every one.

Shane
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 13:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
read:
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11455
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 13:37    Post subject: Re: Possible Bug? Reply with quote
smc1979 wrote:
Hey everyone.
I didn't find any info on this with a search. So hopefully I'm not posting something already known. If so, sorry about that :-)

I had to go setup a customers internet for them today.
They have multiple remote desktop connections setup. They come in one one port each and all get forwarded to port 3389 to their computers.

I had them buy a Linksys WRT54GL. I put the dd-wrt mini generic that was recommend on the site.

Everything installed perfect.
I setup all the port forwarding rules.
Example
Remote 4000 Both 192.168.2.10 3389 Enabled

All rules worked perfect but one. I had a total of 4 rules. What ever rule was in the 3rd row wouldn't work.
I would then disable that rule, add another rule (Row 5 now) and it would work fine. No matter what was in the 3rd row it refused to work. Any rule on any other row was fine, only row 3 wouldn't.

Very odd. But I got everything working by having a dummy rule in row 3 and moving on.

Anyways I hope this helps.

Take care every one.

Shane



Very interesting...what FW build is this. (give the svn number on the status tab)

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
smc1979
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 15:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here you go Wink
A pic of the port forwarding page so you can see how I have the rules.
Also a pic of the status page so you can see the build.


I just wanted to bring this to your attention.

Take care.



status.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  201.01 KB
 Viewed:  6759 Time(s)

status.jpg



port_forwarding.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  191.44 KB
 Viewed:  6759 Time(s)

port_forwarding.jpg


Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2436
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 16:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've never had to forward ports for RDC.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
smc1979
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
For access over the internet You do Smile
You will also notice that each computer has to use the same port (3389). Which you cant do with normal port forwarding (you cant forward the same port to more than one computer at a time). DD-WRT allows you to use a different "Port From" on the rule but then map it to the "Port To". This way each remote works perfectly and can all use the port 3389. They just each come in on a different port.

I know a little something about port forwarding LOL (www.pcwintech.com)

Anyhow I'm just a fellow tech who found a odd problem and just wanted to make the guys aware. They seem to take pride in their work like I do with mine. Very Happy

Shane
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2436
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 16:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
smc1979 wrote:
For access over the internet You do Smile
You will also notice that each computer has to use the same port (3389). Which you cant do with normal port forwarding (you cant forward the same port to more than one computer at a time). DD-WRT allows you to use a different "Port From" on the rule but then map it to the "Port To". This way each remote works perfectly and can all use the port 3389. They just each come in on a different port.

I know a little something about port forwarding LOL (www.pcwintech.com)

Anyhow I'm just a fellow tech who found a odd problem and just wanted to make the guys aware. They seem to take pride in their work like I do with mine. Very Happy

Shane
VPN?
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
smc1979
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 17:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
VPN wasn't a good option here.
They use VERY large autocad files. And transferring these large files over a vpn to their computers was awful. Not to mentions trying to keep things backed up properly.
So instead I have them remoting into workstations. This allows them to use everything on the local network (1gb) and keeps backups simple. They can print to their office while doing all the heavy work on the remote.

They where very happy at the performance increase :-)

Shane
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2436
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh ok gotchya.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum