New firmware out r13972 (02/23/2010)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
freddie802
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Devon, PA USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Upgraded wrt160nv3 and a wrt150nv1.1 without any problems. Running with wds between the two using wpa2 pers & aes. So far no problems.
_________________
2 x wrt600n v1.1 AP WL0 Mixed Mode WPA2 Pers Aes, WL1 N Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES V24 BS 15778 WT610N
wrt310n Wireless Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 15506 Mini
wrt54g v7 G Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 12523 Micro
Sponsor
m00nman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 406
Location: AB, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I haven't been here for a while. Was swap enabled in this build for K26?
_________________

Nethear R6300 v2 - Latest Kong dd-wrt always
Linksys E3000 - Latest dd-wrt always
Asus RT-N56U - OpenWRT trunk
robackja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
m00nman wrote:
I haven't been here for a while. Was swap enabled in this build for K26?


swap gets added, though I've never seen any swap used.
Code:
root@router:~# free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:         59992      58600       1392          0       1020      28412
-/+ buffers/cache:      29168      30824
Swap:       128512          0     128512

_________________
Linksys WRT610N v2 (DD-WRT) :: D-LINK DIR-825 (OpenWrt) :: The World in 35mm :: Bandwidth Shaping with DD-WRT
m00nman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 406
Location: AB, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
robackja wrote:
swap gets added, though I've never seen any swap used.

I'll check it out when I get home. Maybe you are not running as many daemons on your router. Transmission daemon actually crashes on my router because there's not enough ram. I have samba3+lighttpd+php-fcgi+[transmission] running.

_________________

Nethear R6300 v2 - Latest Kong dd-wrt always
Linksys E3000 - Latest dd-wrt always
Asus RT-N56U - OpenWRT trunk
robackja
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
m00nman wrote:
robackja wrote:
swap gets added, though I've never seen any swap used.

I'll check it out when I get home. Maybe you are not running as many daemons on your router. Transmission daemon actually crashes on my router because there's not enough ram. I have samba3+lighttpd+php-fcgi+[transmission] running.


I have samba2 + transmission with 45+ torrents, increased open files limit to 4096 for transmission process.
Code:
root@router:~# lsof | grep transmission | wc -l
3080


Transmission is using almost all of that, but its all filesystem related, so OS is caching, but will eject from cache instead of swapping. Was going do a perl script or bash script that uses lots of memory and see if I could trigger swap instead.

_________________
Linksys WRT610N v2 (DD-WRT) :: D-LINK DIR-825 (OpenWrt) :: The World in 35mm :: Bandwidth Shaping with DD-WRT
sumbuddie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just tried to update my old WRT54G v.5 (with 16MB upgrade) from build 13832 to this 13972 using the Broadcom micro_generic .bin without success - unit reports the update failed and provides a 'Continue' button that returns me to the firmware update page (I perform an 'erase nvram' command before each upgrade attempt which has always worked well for me).

To be sure it wasn't a hardware fault, I attempted a downgrade to 13525 which was successful.

From 13525, trying to load 13972 still failed. Went back to 13832 without a problem and reconfigured.

Might be something wrong with the micro_generic build/file.
Cyberian
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, US

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko isn't releasing his own builds anymore?
_________________
Michael
WRT54GS v1.1 with Eko JFFS + OpenVPN
DHC_DarkShadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 2440
Location: Am now Dark_Shadow

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko is on Holiday(vacation)
_________________
The New Me
Cyberian
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, US

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
DHC_DarkShadow wrote:
Eko is on Holiday(vacation)

That's a relief. Thanks.

_________________
Michael
WRT54GS v1.1 with Eko JFFS + OpenVPN
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1594
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
DHC_DarkShadow wrote:
Eko is on Holiday(vacation)


Wasn't EKO just on vacation a couple of months ago in Tokyo?

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1377
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
patord wrote:
I searched the forums and trac... maybe I missed an announcement somewhere. Why is BS not including the Netgear WNDR3300 trailed chk files in his last three K24 builds? The last known working one was for r13637.


Bookmark the DD-WRT timeline link posted above.

Its good to check those and read through them.

If you look, it doesn't look like much of any work was done for the WNDR3300.

Maybe some minor general fixes, but nothing specific.
Usually, if the router isn't mentioned in the timeline after the build you are currently running,
more than likely upgrading is not going to cause any significant improvement for you.

Of course, I'm not saying don't upgrade, but if there was no specific changes for
the WNDR3300, no use upgrading the .chk file, just use the older version.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
Netgear Nighthawk R7000 - DD-WRT Build R44251
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT IPQ806x Trunk R14185 5.4 Kernel

TP-Link Archer C7 V3 - DD-WRT Build R44085
Linksys E3000 - FreshTomato Build MIPSR2 2020.5
m00nman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 406
Location: AB, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm really liking this build. Seems fast and pretty stable. Also swap seems to wark too.

Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# free
              total         used         free       shared      buffers
  Mem:        59992        58392         1600            0         1920
 Swap:       738980           16       738964
Total:       798972        58408       740564

_________________

Nethear R6300 v2 - Latest Kong dd-wrt always
Linksys E3000 - Latest dd-wrt always
Asus RT-N56U - OpenWRT trunk
patord
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
DoesItMatter wrote:

Of course, I'm not saying don't upgrade, but if there was no specific changes for
the WNDR3300, no use upgrading the .chk file, just use the older version.


Appreciate the insight and the time you offer to me and others on the forums. Though I guess I should be more specific next time. I do read the timelines in trac, but seeing how the other trailed builds are there except the WNDR3300 I just had to ask. I've been using DD-WRT for years now and I thought I would finally help out... I've been updating the wiki entry for this router. I wanted to make sure I had a fairly recent and working chk file for new users as the trailed file for the recommended version in the 1/06/2010 sticky bricks the router.


For everyone else, I have loaded nokaid_generic.bin on one of my test WNDR3300 routers. 5GHz NA on wl0 seems to be fine so far. I have not loaded this on to my 2xWNDR3300 NA WDS setup yet.

_________________
Netgear WNDR3300 wiki information
Using: WRT54G-TM / WNDR3300 / F7D7301 / WZR-600DHP


Last edited by patord on Wed Feb 24, 2010 15:37; edited 1 time in total
blaser
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 504

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Linksys wrt160N k26, upgraded yesterday, stable.
slybunda
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 13:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok i had issues upgrading to this version from 13637 using the web administration upgrade page, it just kept on showing the progress bar. and then after 20 mins i reset the router and it wasnt working, but i then ran tftp to the router and sent this new firmware to it and its working fine now.

new firmware is stable and iv had no wifi drop outs with it. site survey still doesnt work for me.

i use netgear wg602v3 router and the micro generic builds.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 7
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum