WRT320N, Extra Cooling/Heat Sink, Case Mod

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
ev1te
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 18:09    Post subject: WRT320N, Extra Cooling/Heat Sink, Case Mod Reply with quote
Today I decided to increase the cooling of the WRT320Ns CPU while at the same time trying to keep the routers good looks and the function of it's protective cover.

I found a couple of heat sinks at home that are about the same size as the CPU chip. I basically cut out a hole in the center of the top cover matching the location of the CPU (exactly in the center of the router) and the size of the heat sink. (I removed the cover first of course Very Happy )

The heat sinks I found wore all black anodized aluminum, so on one of them I removed the black color in order to find out what looks best. Now I can't make up my mind... the black one or the shiny one? (before I permanently glue it to the CPU) :roll:

Sorry of the quality isn't that good, taken with my cell phone.









_________________
WRT320N
Sponsor
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
The black one.
_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
ev1te
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I added the Black heatsink today and are now running clkfreq=480,240,120. The heatsink is approx. 50-60 degrees Celsius by touch (need new batterys to my IR-thermometer)

I used a very small amount of ordinary Epoxy to fasten it. For applications like this, there is no need for thermaly conductive glue. Since the thermal resistance of such a small heatsink without a fan, is quite high compared to the thin layer of ordinary glue.

Strange thing though; BogoMIPS shows 239.20 at both 480 Mhz and 453 Mhz. Can one trust BogoMIPS or is it true that 480 MHz isn't faster than 453 MHz?

For the record, I stepped up the overclocking from the default to 480 Mhz in these steps: 480/240, 453/226, 400/200 and 354/177. Every time benchmarking the WAN to LAN throughput, which increased approximately by the same percentage as the overclocking.

_________________
WRT320N
Dutchman01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did remove some little heatsinks from a old 3D Prophet Radeon 9700 from the memory chips.



I did use 3 of those,
1 pice on the CPU and 2 on the memory of the WRT320N.

With those small heatsinks, there is no need to cut a hole in the top cover of the WRT320N. Razz

And it runs also very great on 480Mhz.
But that did it also without the heatsinks for a long time.

For 480Mhz the need of a heatsink is not really needed, it also can run without it but, for my personal feeling it is better that it has them on it.

nvram set clkfreq=480,240,120
nvram commit
reboot


Last edited by Dutchman01 on Fri Jan 29, 2010 4:19; edited 1 time in total
Dutchman01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 1:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
ev1te wrote:
I added the Black heatsink today and are now running clkfreq=480,240,120. The heatsink is approx. 50-60 degrees Celsius by touch (need new batterys to my IR-thermometer)

I used a very small amount of ordinary Epoxy to fasten it. For applications like this, there is no need for thermaly conductive glue. Since the thermal resistance of such a small heatsink without a fan, is quite high compared to the thin layer of ordinary glue.

Strange thing though; BogoMIPS shows 239.20 at both 480 Mhz and 453 Mhz. Can one trust BogoMIPS or is it true that 480 MHz isn't faster than 453 MHz?

For the record, I stepped up the overclocking from the default to 480 Mhz in these steps: 480/240, 453/226, 400/200 and 354/177. Every time benchmarking the WAN to LAN throughput, which increased approximately by the same percentage as the overclocking.


Did you saw a WAN to LAN throughput increase from
453 Mhz to 480Mhz?

If it increase, than i think BogoMIPS is not really to trust i think.
LiteUp!
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Setting the WRT320N too 453/226 will also send it to 480/240. You'll end up with the same clock speed. I've been running 480/240/120 here for quite some time with no extra heatsink (also stressed it in a lab environment). It's rock solid.
_________________
1 x WRT310Nv2 (400/200/100)
3 x WRT320N (480/240/120)
1 x E4200 (532/266/133)
(All running the latest DD-WRT!)
ev1te
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
LiteUp! wrote:
Setting the WRT320N too 453/226 will also send it to 480/240. You'll end up with the same clock speed. I've been running 480/240/120 here for quite some time with no extra heatsink (also stressed it in a lab environment). It's rock solid.


That is a great graph! :)

Although I do not get those speeds here, I have trouble getting over 90 Mbit/s, which is bad since I have 100 Mbit internet connection. (Maybe due to other processes running on the router, such as OpenVPN etc.)

Also you are sure that 453,226 isn't a valid speed?

_________________
WRT320N
LiteUp!
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 13:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
ev1te wrote:
LiteUp! wrote:
Setting the WRT320N too 453/226 will also send it to 480/240. You'll end up with the same clock speed. I've been running 480/240/120 here for quite some time with no extra heatsink (also stressed it in a lab environment). It's rock solid.


That is a great graph! :)

Although I do not get those speeds here, I have trouble getting over 90 Mbit/s, which is bad since I have 100 Mbit internet connection. (Maybe due to other processes running on the router, such as OpenVPN etc.)

Also you are sure that 453,226 isn't a valid speed?


Yes, I am sure.

_________________
1 x WRT310Nv2 (400/200/100)
3 x WRT320N (480/240/120)
1 x E4200 (532/266/133)
(All running the latest DD-WRT!)
ev1te
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2010 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have experienced some random reboots since I overclocked it to 480.. temporarily I downclocked to 400,200 since I will be going away for a couple of days and need the router (OpenVPN etc.) to be operational.

I'm not sure the overclocking was the source of the problem, but downclocking solved the problem.

_________________
WRT320N
Dutchman01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 4:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
ev1te wrote:
I have experienced some random reboots since I overclocked it to 480.. temporarily I downclocked to 400,200 since I will be going away for a couple of days and need the router (OpenVPN etc.) to be operational.

I'm not sure the overclocking was the source of the problem, but downclocking solved the problem.


Strange,
a few friends of mine also has the WRT320 router with latest DD-WRT on it and all units also runs fine on 480Mhz.

from the 6 WRT320N units only mine got the heatsinks, the second next week.
All do run fine @480Mhz.
ev1te
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 23:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dutchman01 wrote:
ev1te wrote:
I have experienced some random reboots since I overclocked it to 480.. temporarily I downclocked to 400,200 since I will be going away for a couple of days and need the router (OpenVPN etc.) to be operational.

I'm not sure the overclocking was the source of the problem, but downclocking solved the problem.


Strange,
a few friends of mine also has the WRT320 router with latest DD-WRT on it and all units also runs fine on 480Mhz.

from the 6 WRT320N units only mine got the heatsinks, the second next week.
All do run fine @480Mhz.


I am now back again after my business trip. So once again I have increased the overclocking to 480,240,120 in order to analyze the performance and stability of the router.

I also added this long line to my startup script:
    echo "$(date +"%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S"):Boot Complete, Uptime:$(cat /proc/uptime | cut -d " " -f1) sec, Loadavg:$(cat /proc/loadavg | cut -d " " -f1,2,3), clkfreq:$(nvram get clkfreq)" >> /jffs/Bootup.log

Which logs every reboot of the router, current date/time, current frequency, time to boot and load averages for that time (decreases by 50% at 480 compared to 400).

_________________
WRT320N
ev1te
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 76
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just a small update, I have been running the router on 480/240 Mhz for several weeks now, without any reboots or instabilities. Very Happy
_________________
WRT320N
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is my cooling mod. I have the router from 5-6 months, but can't stand any more, so brake the warranty, open the router and fix 2 cooper heat sinks from, a video card cooler. I overclock the CPU from 354 MHZ to 400 MHZ and it's stable. I want to ask how to clock and the memory (Hynics) ? My Chip is Broadcom BCM4716 chip rev 1 - how much is the max clock of it and how much is the default ? Also the memory ?

EDIT: Does anybody know how i can see how many i clock my router, because in dd-wrt i see only the CPU speed, what about the DDR and the other last thing ??? Thanks
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
ka4o_pi4a wrote:
Here is my cooling mod. I have the router from 5-6 months, but can't stand any more, so brake the warranty, open the router and fix 2 cooper heat sinks from, a video card cooler. I overclock the CPU from 354 MHZ to 400 MHZ and it's stable. I want to ask how to clock and the memory (Hynics) ? My Chip is Broadcom BCM4716 chip rev 1 - how much is the max clock of it and how much is the default ? Also the memory ?

EDIT: Does anybody know how i can see how many i clock my router, because in dd-wrt i see only the CPU speed, what about the DDR and the other last thing ??? Thanks


Looks good, also if your talking about overclocking it, that info is in the wiki.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Overclocking_BCM_47xx_CPU%27s

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
jammydoug
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi
My Micromark drinks cooler has stopped its cooling effect. It's the type that has a fan on the back and a heat sink assembly, with a little printed circuit board, that provides the cooling effect. It used to get quite cold, and at one time there was even ice forming at the back on the inside, but now it has stopped and even gets warm.
_________________
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum