IPv6, Router Address and DNS

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
TCB13
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:10    Post subject: IPv6, Router Address and DNS Reply with quote
Hello,

I managed to get IPv6 working on my R7000 using Radvd and this my configuration:



I had do a custom Radvd config because otherwise my custom IPv6 DNS addresses wont get passed to the clients, due to some reason the ISP DNS server were always showing up on the network status of the devices connected.

My questions:

1. The devices connected are using 2620:74:1c::2:2 2001:470:20::2 for DNS queries, however the router itself it still using the ISP DNS servers, how can I make sure that the router also uses 2620:74:1c::2:2 2001:470:20::2?

Currently it looks like DNS over IPv6 only it not going anywhere:

Code:

dig -6 google.com AAAA
; <<>> DiG 9.11.2 <<>> -6 google.com AAAA
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached


2. Better yet it it possible to set a static/predictable IPv6 for the router itself and pass that address to the clients and then force them to do IPv6 DNS resolution over the router too? And also make sure any request made inside the router also goes to the local DNS server using local IPv6...

My current IPv4 network config:



Thank you.

_________________
3x Netgear R7000; 2x Asus RT-N16; Running DD-WRT v3.0-r44191 std (08/15/20).
Sponsor
TCB13
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2018 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is my question that stupid? Sad Am I the only one who wants the router itself to be able to be to ping/ding/wtv over IPv6?
_________________
3x Netgear R7000; 2x Asus RT-N16; Running DD-WRT v3.0-r44191 std (08/15/20).
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5858
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 20:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the link local address of the router as DNS on clients.
I use DNSMasq instead of Radvd.

Additionla DNSMasq Options:

quiet-dhcp
quiet-dhcp6
quiet-ra
enable-ra
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:br0,ra-names,slaac,64,24h
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:ath1,ra-names,slaac,64,24h
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:eth1.3,ra-names,slaac,64,24h

DHCP6C Custom with 3 interfaces:

interface eth0 {
send rapid-commit;
send ia-pd 1;
request domain-name-servers, domain-name;
};

id-assoc pd 1 {
prefix ::/48 infinity;
prefix-interface br0 {
sla-id 0;
sla-len 16;
};
prefix-interface ath1 {
sla-id 1;
sla-len 16;
};
prefix-interface eth1.3 {
sla-id 2;
sla-len 16;
};
};
Brimmy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2015
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
I want to know why we can't just hit enable and then apply for it to work like it did in the past, i don't want to configure a code for it to work.
TCB13
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 14:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Brimmy wrote:
I want to know why we can't just hit enable and then apply for it to work like it did in the past, i don't want to configure a code for it to work.


That is a very good point indeed.

_________________
3x Netgear R7000; 2x Asus RT-N16; Running DD-WRT v3.0-r44191 std (08/15/20).
TCB13
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
I have the link local address of the router as DNS on clients.
I use DNSMasq instead of Radvd.

Additionla DNSMasq Options:

quiet-dhcp
quiet-dhcp6
quiet-ra
enable-ra
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:br0,ra-names,slaac,64,24h
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:ath1,ra-names,slaac,64,24h
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:eth1.3,ra-names,slaac,64,24h

DHCP6C Custom with 3 interfaces:

interface eth0 {
send rapid-commit;
send ia-pd 1;
request domain-name-servers, domain-name;
};

id-assoc pd 1 {
prefix ::/48 infinity;
prefix-interface br0 {
sla-id 0;
sla-len 16;
};
prefix-interface ath1 {
sla-id 1;
sla-len 16;
};
prefix-interface eth1.3 {
sla-id 2;
sla-len 16;
};
};


Initially I wanted to use DHCPv6 however I read somewhere that Android clients didn't play very well with it...

Also, are you able to run "dig -6 google.com AAAA" in your router itself and get a result?

Thank you.

_________________
3x Netgear R7000; 2x Asus RT-N16; Running DD-WRT v3.0-r44191 std (08/15/20).
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5858
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 15:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:br0,ra-names,slaac,64,24h

This will support both SLAAC and DHCP

The developer of Android decided that DHCP6 was not necessary to support.
TCB13
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 22:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
dhcp-range=::10,::200,constructor:br0,ra-names,slaac,64,24h

This will support both SLAAC and DHCP

The developer of Android decided that DHCP6 was not necessary to support.


Also, are you able to run "dig -6 google.com AAAA" in your router itself and get a result?

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
I have the link local address of the router as DNS on clients.


Is it reliable? How are you getting it? On ifconfig?

_________________
3x Netgear R7000; 2x Asus RT-N16; Running DD-WRT v3.0-r44191 std (08/15/20).
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5858
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, you can get the link local address with ifconfig. It starts with FE80:

I'm not in a location where I can try the dig command now.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 14:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
The developer of Android decided that DHCP6 was not necessary to support.
If anyone is curious about this, see the Google issue tracker and the info (at the bottom) of this root app to add DHCPv6 (obviously not practical for most people).
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.4|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44758: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum