WGR614v10 Support - Jump to post 9

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
bullfrog528
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 15:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
If anyone has a V3 version of the WNR1000 or the v10 version of the WGR614 could they put the part numbers that appear on the outside of the cardboard box here. I'm in the UK and trying to track down one of these units without success.

I have a v2 WNR1000-100UKS
TA is 100-14467-01R11
S/N 26N19C5S02xxx
MAC is 0026F2ED9xxx
Barcode/EAN/UPC number 6-06449-06260

and a WGR614UK v9
TA is 100-13056-01R6
S/N 1UM2877009xxx
Barcode/EAN/UPC number 6-06449-02762

If anyone can advise how to identify contents of packaging without opening cardboard box i'm all ears/eyes.

Thanks

Bullfrog 528
Sponsor
Orbiting234
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's easy to find a WGR614v10:
jrat wrote:
The [box] front shows the antenna on the right side, with clear advertising of the new "Push N Connect" and Wifi toggle buttons.
bullfrog528
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 7:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Orbiting234 wrote:
It's easy to find a WGR614v10:
jrat wrote:
The [box] front shows the antenna on the right side, with clear advertising of the new "Push N Connect" and Wifi toggle buttons.


Thank you for that, not sure when jrat posted that, but it certainly will make hunting around the local pcworld's and other suppliers a lot easier.

Bullfrog
bullfrog528
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 10:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
jrat wrote:
I did try flashing DD-WRT to it last night, with little success. I used the build that is known running on the RT-N10, same CPU and all. I did manage to get it flashed, but it had issues I can't recall correctly - either way it just reboot looped. More specifically, I used:

dd-wrt.v24-13832_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR3500L.chk

and modified the header to match my board ID. I don't know if this was pointless or not, but
I'm not worried about it.



I'm guessing the RT-N10 dd-wrt is looking in the wrong place for the MAC and radio configurations as the flash layout will be different for the WGR614v10/WNR1000v3 than the RT-N10.
I see the WGR614v10/WNR1000v3 have made it to the Support Device list here as a WIP. They haven't made it yet to the database though.
TimelesslyPrecise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 0:52    Post subject: Successful Flash - w\links Reply with quote
HI everyone!

I would like to report,
This is a great router. The Wireless N 150 on my WGR-614v10 Works Great!!! ;]

I have to give props to Jtag, kingsmill, redhawk, and others at the beginning of this thread, for without their endeavors in finding firmware, i wouldn't have known the hardware is the same.
This wasn't quite the DD-WRT firmware i was looking for, but it holds me over for now.

I have put all of the resources i used to get my Router flashed in a single file. **(Link Below)

http://rapidshare.com/files/392011233/CrossFlash_Netgear_WGR614v10_to_WNR1000v3__Router.rar


Again, Wireless N 150 tests fine on the Playstation-III and on my laptop. Runs like 10/100...

I will note, Windows Vista won't use WPA2/ latest security.. That is a Vista problem, and was that way before the transition from WGR614v10 to WNR1000v3.

Please, if anyone learns or hears of DD-WRT being capable for these devices, PM Me, IM Me, Msg me, whatever. Let me know.

I miss the functionabilities of my DD-WRT router.. Sad

Until then, i deal with shouty Netgear Qos, and 'Guest Wireless Network'


Great Router though, can't beat a 40 dollar Wireless N.

For those interested in the Box Info,
I purchased it at a local Best Buy (yeah, it was late). This is what it has on it:
Exclamation
UPC-"6^06449_02760^0"
Model-"*WGR614NA*"
TA- "100-14673-01R7"
S\N-"28T101****AA"
Mac-"wa:te:va:yo:uK:no"
Exclamation

**edit**
Just to confirm, the box was more evenly square, and a tad bit thinner it seemed than any of hte other box's. It DID have a picture of the antenna on the right. to me, that seems a bit vague to go out on a purchase. i noticed, R7 was at the TA section of the model info. Others wer there, R10's i think.. idk, R9.. either way, instinct led me to pick this one, and it turned out great.
****

again, Here is the package link: Exclamation

http://rapidshare.com/files/392011233/CrossFlash_Netgear_WGR614v10_to_WNR1000v3__Router.rar

Thanks!



CrossFlash Netgear WGR614v10 to WNR1000v3 Router.rar
 Description:
Here it is,

Download
 Filename:  CrossFlash Netgear WGR614v10 to WNR1000v3 Router.rar
 Filesize:  2.56 MB
 Downloaded:  4417 Time(s)

Orbiting234
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
No thanks for me eh? Sad Lol

Yeah, those are indeed the steps I took as you easily inferred from my posts earlier in this thread (enable telnet, change board id, flash). Glad my work noticing the same underlying hardware from the FCC ID and going through the hoops as well as that of others here was of help lol. Technically you don't have to do all that though. You can simply hex edit the WNR1000v3's firmware to the WGR614v10's board id and flash away without all the extra steps. For your average user that would probably be the way to go as it still nets the same end result (150mbps N!).

Mine has been happily chugging away as a WNR1000v3 for nearly four months now without a hitch. Would still love to get DD-WRT onto it but until someone dumps the CFE, and more importantly once DD-WRT is compatible with the wireless portion of the BCM5356, this will have to do.

As far as packaging goes it is way way way simpler to identify a WGR614v10's box as mentioned earlier:

jrat wrote:
...advertising of the new "Push N Connect" and Wifi toggle buttons...


The WGR614v1-v9 did not have the buttons on the side of them. So the presence of those automatically means it's a v10. No having to stare at batch numbers or serial numbers.
TimelesslyPrecise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:32    Post subject: ***Edit****`` Reply with quote
And Props to Orbiting234.

Can't Leave him off the bus!!! ;]

Thanks again all,
Wonderful work#

btw, Orbiting234, would it be Winhex suitable?
and, mainly just edit the version info at the top of the file"
jrat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jan 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 13:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Orbiting234 wrote:

...but until someone dumps the CFE...


I grabbed a cfe dump via TFTP/Serial before crossflashing - I wasn't about to test a crossflash without first having my full flash saved. :P

It's posted in the CFE Collection project along with my board data: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=410267

I'm still waiting on JTAG support for the 5356, however.

I certainly wouldn't mind seeing DD-WRT for this router, even if only the wired LAN works for now - as that's all I'm using it for currently anyway.

---

I still have one burning question about this router.

The WGR614v9 is "incompatible" as is because it allocates only 16k for NVRAM. This router seems to have 24k, which from what I can tell, is still less than the large majority (maybe all?) of compatible routers. Is this an issue, or is 24k enough?
Orbiting234
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 22:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
FYI, if you have done this conversion for your WGR614v10 to a WNR1000v3 or you even have an actual WNR1000v3, do not bother upgrading to the latest official firmware released today 1.0.2.18 for it has a serious bug.

This new firmware does not properly use a 40MHz wide channel. Which means that even if you have "Up to 150mbps" selected on the wireless settings page, it will only use the single 20MHz channel you have selected and limit you to a max of a measly 65mpbs connection. I'm trying to find a way to bring this bug to Netgear's attention but I think it's going to be an exercise in futility. -_-

For now, stick with firmware 1.0.2.4!
withdean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 14:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Orbiting234 wrote:
FYI, if you have done this conversion for your WGR614v10 to a WNR1000v3 or you even have an actual WNR1000v3, do not bother upgrading to the latest official firmware released today 1.0.2.18 for it has a serious bug.

This new firmware does not properly use a 40MHz wide channel. Which means that even if you have "Up to 150mbps" selected on the wireless settings page, it will only use the single 20MHz channel you have selected and limit you to a max of a measly 65mpbs connection. I'm trying to find a way to bring this bug to Netgear's attention but I think it's going to be an exercise in futility. -_-

For now, stick with firmware 1.0.2.4!


Orbiting234, thanks for the info.
I have just solved this issue.I always get the 65mbps connection when my nb(with the AR9285 wireless card) connect to the WGR614v10 router. and then when i flash the firmware back, it's up to 150mbps again!
cwwilson721
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Netgear made it alot easier to add N to this box now..

Get latest firmware from site, and flash it like normal.

N Speeds! Gotta love a router that was on sale at Wal-Mart for 34.97USD..And N to boot!

And since Broadcomm has FINALLY released their N drivers as open-source, should be fairly soon that we'll see a DD-WRT version..Yippee!!
maxv913
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
cwwilson721 wrote:
Netgear made it alot easier to add N to this box now..

Get latest firmware from site, and flash it like normal.

N Speeds! Gotta love a router that was on sale at Wal-Mart for 34.97USD..And N to boot!

And since Broadcomm has FINALLY released their N drivers as open-source, should be fairly soon that we'll see a DD-WRT version..Yippee!!


so now i just install latest wnr1000v3 firmware or the newest wgr614 firmware?
Motley
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 5:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any updates on support for the WNR1000v3 or wgr614v10? I am more than willing to flash it back to the wgr614v10 if it means support. I cannot get the stupid router to work as a repeater like it's supposed to but it is easy with the WRT software. Thank You in advance.
jn3825
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
maxv913 wrote:
cwwilson721 wrote:
Netgear made it alot easier to add N to this box now..

Get latest firmware from site, and flash it like normal.

N Speeds! Gotta love a router that was on sale at Wal-Mart for 34.97USD..And N to boot!

And since Broadcomm has FINALLY released their N drivers as open-source, should be fairly soon that we'll see a DD-WRT version..Yippee!!


so now i just install latest wnr1000v3 firmware or the newest wgr614 firmware?



Yep the latest WGR614v10 firmware on netgear's site includes N speeds.

Quote form the WGR614v10 Firmware Version 1.0.2.26 site:

New Features:

1. The Telstra Bigpond is removed from the Internet connection types.
2. When login to the router's GUI, there was a pop-up window with a greeting message. This pop-up greeting window has been removed.
3. Time Zone setting is moved from the E-mail page to the Schedule page.
4. Move the options "Enable SSID Broadcast" and "Enable Wireless Isolation" from the Advanced Wireless Settings page to the Basic Wireless Settings page.
5. Enable the 11n wireless modes: "up to 72 mbps" and "up to 150 mbps".


:D

It'll even upgrade itself!!
mdwg2020
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 22:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Still nothing brewing on the v10 huh? Guess it has to go back to Wally's World.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum