WRT54GL with v24-sp2 as router behind TG585 V7

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
martingr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 20:28    Post subject: WRT54GL with v24-sp2 as router behind TG585 V7 Reply with quote
dear dd-wrt forum members:

I want to use my WRT54GL with v24-sp2 as router behind TG585 V7.

IP TG585: 10.0.0.138
TG585 is connected with the internet, I can use it with directly connected PC's (LAN, WLAN).

I want to connect the WRT54GL (WAN port) with the LAN port 1 of TG 585.

IPs WRT54GL: 192.168.1.x (with DHCP starting at 192.168.1.10), Router IP = 192.168.1.2

When I connect PCs at the WRT54GL i get the desired IP addresses.
Unfortunately it isn't possible to go to internet on this PC's.

I tried WAN Connection Type ...
... static IP
with
WAN IP address 10.0.0.140
subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway 10.0.0.138
Static DNS1 10.0.0.138

and Router IP....
Local IP 192.168.1.2
subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.1.2
Local DNS 192.168.1.2

and Operating mode ...
Gateway
(also tried Router)

Any suggestions?
Sponsor
creaky
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have my TG585 v7 in bridged mode ie all it's doing is providing the internet connection (via WAN port on my main router which is a WRT54GS v6).

My main router is setup as follows ~

Connection Type = 'Automatic Configuration - DHCP'

Gateway & Local DNS = blank (as the TG585 is in bridged mode it can't be pinged etc hence no point setting a Gateway or DNS)

Operating Mode = Gateway

DHCP with Static DHCP leases for all connected devices


It's been a little while since i last navigated the menus in the TG585 as mine's in bridged mode as i say, though i can't think of anything in the TG585 in non-bridged mode that would be stopping you get out to the internet. It sounds like a setting on the Linksys.
From your post i can see that DHCP is working fine on the Linksys, from memory the TG585 has a default IP of 192.168.1.254 in non-bridged mode so have you tried setting 192.168.1.254 as the Gateway on the Linksys ?, plus you could blank out the Local DNS too.

_________________
2 node (v23 sp2) WDS network over WPA2/AES comprising 2x Buffalo WHR-G54S's.

3 node setup ~ WPA2 AES comprising WRT54GS v6 (inc. WEP BSSID), WRT54G v2, WRT54G2 v1 (EKO 12548)
martingr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 20:25    Post subject: WRT54GL with V24-sp2 as router behind TG585 V7 Reply with quote
Hi creaky,
thanks for your reply.

I'm confused about your answer:
It seems as my provider Telekom Austria have a different Firmware (8.6.9.0), the IP address is 10.0.0.138 and there is no word about bridged/non-bridged mode (what's this?).

But ...
... I can confirm, that your settings work also for me. Unfortunately with this settings the router works only as Gateway in the same IP-range - e.g. I cannot use the "Website Blocking by Keyword" feature as parental control...

Is there a way to use the WRT54GL as router in this constellation?

Regards, Martin
creaky
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 20:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm afraid i have no idea of differences between the UK and Austria with regards to broadband etc., i'm on what i know as 'standard ADSL', please forgive my ignorance Very Happy

I guess the best way i can describe bridged/unbridged is that in bridged mode you can't access the unit ie it just provides the internet connection, and in non-bridged mode you can access & configure it's DHCP settings etc etc.

As to the gateway/router mode i cheated and copy/pasted from elsewhere ~
Quote:
Gateway Mode should be used if your Linksys router is hosting your network's connection to the Internet.

Router Mode should be selected if the router exists on a network with other routers.

_________________
2 node (v23 sp2) WDS network over WPA2/AES comprising 2x Buffalo WHR-G54S's.

3 node setup ~ WPA2 AES comprising WRT54GS v6 (inc. WEP BSSID), WRT54G v2, WRT54G2 v1 (EKO 12548)
martingr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:08    Post subject: WRT54GL with v24-sp2 as router behind TG585 V7 Reply with quote
Thanks for your fast reply, so do you have any idea for the WRT54GL dd-wrt setup for:

Internet-Modem: 10.0.0.138
WAN-Port of dd-wrt: 10.0.0.140
dd-wrt router address: 192.168.1.2
dd-wrt dhcp service: 192.168.1.[10-99]

In my current setup i've these IP settings, but if itry to reach the internet from 192.168.1.x it doesn't work.

Regards, Martin
creaky
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
So the Linksys itself can get out to the internet when hooked up to the TG585 v7 ??.
Maybe it's a DNS setting on the Linksys - see if you can ping google.com from one of the PC's but use one of it's IP addresses, you can get these by a 'nslookup google.com'.

And check the DNS/Default Gateway settings on the PC..

_________________
2 node (v23 sp2) WDS network over WPA2/AES comprising 2x Buffalo WHR-G54S's.

3 node setup ~ WPA2 AES comprising WRT54GS v6 (inc. WEP BSSID), WRT54G v2, WRT54G2 v1 (EKO 12548)
martingr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Creaky,
you're completely right - the problem was the incorrect setting for theDHCP service on the WRT54GL DD-WRT.

I switched on

Use DNSMasq for DHCP
Use DNSMasq for DNS

for the DHCP Service Settings, and also added

local=/local/
expand-hosts
dhcp-option=3,10.0.0.138
dhcp-option=6,xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx,yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy

(where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx,yyy.yyy.yyy.yyy are the DNS server addresses)

for the DNSMasq settings.

Now the Internet access works also out of the 192.168.168.x network. Unfortunately the WRT54GL dd-wrt doesn't work as a router with this setup and the keyword blocking feature doesn't work at all...

If you have any idea on that issue .... ?

Regards,
Martin
creaky
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
You got me on the remaining issue(s). DNSMasq stuff on the routers is always confusing to me i'm afraid, i think it'll need someone else to help you with the rest, my settings for the following are dictated by me configuring the router for "Multiple (B)SSIDs".
DNSMasq for DHCP / DNSMasq for DNS / DHCP-Authoritative are all ticked on mine and i have set options in the Additional DNSMasq Options box, all required by the BSSID config from here ~ http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=39240&highlight=

_________________
2 node (v23 sp2) WDS network over WPA2/AES comprising 2x Buffalo WHR-G54S's.

3 node setup ~ WPA2 AES comprising WRT54GS v6 (inc. WEP BSSID), WRT54G v2, WRT54G2 v1 (EKO 12548)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum