[NOOB] What type of router do I have and is it possible to.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 14:45    Post subject: [NOOB] What type of router do I have and is it possible to. Reply with quote
hey guys, i have here a micradigital (which is a belkin brand) wireless router.

its model number is: F5D7230uk4-E
the version is: 2003uk

micradigital is another name for belkin and belkin do make the same model number but im unsure if its the same hardware.

how do i find out? im ok with the pc so can hook it up and go through some steps or even maybe dismantle it

thanks in advance
yus786
Sponsor
yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
here are some pics ive taken of the board but i cant work out what hardware it is etc as im not that technically gifted! anyone have an idea?



yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 17:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
anyone?
yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
wow there are 200+ people using the forum and not even 1 can answer Sad
modervador
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Sep 2009
Posts: 270

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 19:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does it have an FCC ID?
yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 19:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
not by the looks of it, on the box theres no fcc id and on the item itself there doesnt seem to be one.

the fcc logo isnt anywhere too, ive checked the broadcomm hardware identifier page thing and cant work out anything from that so far.

is there any kind of software i can run to detect the hardware?

ive read that the chip that i need to have a look at is underneath the heatsink, can any hardware guys confirm that?

thanks for the reply

yus
modervador
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Sep 2009
Posts: 270

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
The CPU is indeed probably under that heatsink. The software to identify the cpu is non-trivial and requires a serial or JTAG connection, unless there happens to be a telnet daemon running (doubtful). Can you telnet into the router's IP?

Big can of worms.
yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
will google on how to telnet onto it (ive never tried flashing a router as you can tell lol) and will update the thread later on today hopefully. dont have the abilities to jtag it or have a serial port (if thats what you mean lol)

thanks for your help though, much appreciated.

regards
jt262
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jan 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jan 18, 2010 16:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
please do update. I have the same router and it cuts out very regularly. I would love to know if it's safe for DD-WRT
Mekanik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
IF you can telnet into the router, run the dmesg command and post the output. If you are using XP/Vista and telnet isn't built in, a good free alternative is PuTTY. It should look like this:


Code:
root@AP:~# dmesg


Alot of text will scroll by. Copy and paste all of it into your reply.

Good luck.

_________________
WRT54GLv1.1
WRT54GSv1.1
WRT54Gv1.1
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv4
WRT54G2v1
WHR-G300N
DIR-615 E3
WNDR3800
WRT300N
WRT54G-TM
yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 15:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
doesnt look like i can telnet onto the router, it says it cannot be found when i type in telnet and the ip address in cmd

am i doing it right?!

yus786
RenRenRen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 211
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, if it's running all you should need to do is
Code:
telnet 192.168.1.1

or
Code:
telnet
open 192.168.1.1


Assuming your router is running at 192.168.1.1.


You have both Serial (J3) and JTAG (J11) on that board, so if you had the right cable you could get some more information out of it that way. Serial would be easier as the header pins are already there (JTAG would need to be soldered), but you still need the cable.

_________________
Linksys WRT1900ACS, 35531 (26/03/2018)
Linksys E3000/WRT610N v2 Conversion, Kong VPN 22000++ (06/07/2014)
yus786
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 17:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
tried them commands but it didnt find it on the default port :(

yus786
Mekanik
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 40
Location: Hawaii

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 18:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The telnet daemon probably isn't running then. Serial or JTAG then....unless you can find the info you seek on the internet somewhere.
_________________
WRT54GLv1.1
WRT54GSv1.1
WRT54Gv1.1
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv4
WRT54G2v1
WHR-G300N
DIR-615 E3
WNDR3800
WRT300N
WRT54G-TM
Ronnie_USA
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Location: Morehead,Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
This is what the brand name of it is>> MicraDigital.
A pdf link about it >> http://micradigital.com/documents/F5D7230ec4E%20-%20PB%20-%20English.pdf

Its a Belkin/MicraDigital >> http://www.micradigital.com/product.aspx?id=25008

_________________
Linksys E3000
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) big
(SVN revision 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko)

With frater's simple ad-blocking script
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum