TENDA W311R - Bad flash recover and Install dd-wrt firmware!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Author Message
kapastratos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 7:28    Post subject: Re: How to change MAC address of AP ??? Reply with quote
duongfx wrote:
Sometime you want to change BSSID of wireless AP to over MAC filter.I hear somebody can be do that in forum. I'm sure it not depend on firmware because i already change firmware sometime but BSSID still no change. Somebody help me!!


Here we are talking about TENDA W311R router. Don`t highjack my topic, build your own topic!
Sponsor
duongfx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 18:13    Post subject: Tenda W311R Reply with quote
Yeah,i'm talking about Tenda w311R,i want to change the BSSID.This model can be Clone the MAC address of WAN but not support Clone for BSSID.
Well,nobody care about this problem !!!
sonbabys
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
kapastratos wrote:
Because I had alot of requests for a modified dir300 b1 dd-wrt firmware for this w311r router and nobody from dd-wrt team did it already, I had to hexedit 2 files for you guys.

Load one of this files to your w311r router and enjoy dd-wrt!

Have fun!


Can you tell me difference between these 2 files? (Or which version should I choose?)
Thank you in advance
TMT-i
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:03    Post subject: Also works W307R - evil firmware 3.3.5r Reply with quote
I recently got myself a Tenda W307R router which had firmware 3.3.5j Aug 12 2009 out of the box. On Tenda's website the newest firmware appeared to be 3.3.5r Mar 17 2010 so I tried to install that using the router's web interface. Firefox wouldn't do it but IE did... but the firmware bricked the router. No SYS or WLAN lights, no response at any IP.

Inside, the board is a different rev but is laid out nearly identically to the one illustrated here. I followed the instructions here for making the serial connection and this is what it thought of the 3.3.5r firmware:

Quote:
U-Boot 1.1.3 (Dec 8 2009 - 13:38:58)

Board: Ralink APSoC DRAM: 32 MB
relocate_code Pointer at: 81fb0000
flash_protect ON: from 0xBF000000 to 0xBF01D663
flash_protect ON: from 0xBF030000 to 0xBF030FFF
*** Warning - bad CRC, using default environment

============================================

Ralink UBoot Version: 3.3
--------------------------------------------
ASIC 3052_MP2 (Port5<->None)
DRAM component: 256 Mbits SDR
DRAM bus: 16 bit
Total memory: 32 MBytes
Flash component: NOR Flash
Date:Dec 8 2009 Time:13:38:58
============================================
icache: sets:256, ways:4, linesz:32 ,total:32768
dcache: sets:128, ways:4, linesz:32 ,total:16384

###### The CPU freq = 384 MHZ ####

SDRAM bus set to 16 bit
SDRAM size =32 Mbytes

Please choose the operation:
1: Load system code to SDRAM via TFTP.
2: Load system code then write to Flash via TFTP.
3: Boot system code via Flash (default).
4: Entr boot command line interface.
9: Load Boot Loader code then write to Flash via TFTP. 0

3: System Boot system code via Flash.
## Booting image at bf050000 ...
Image Name: linkn Kernel Image
Created: 2009-11-20 1:47:15 UTC
Image Type: MIPS Linux Kernel Image (lzma compressed)
Data Size: 2288610 Bytes = 2.2 MB
Load Address: 80000000
Entry Point: 803de000
Verifying Checksum ... Bad Data CRC

Bad CRC. Same result when I reuploaded it... so it wasn't the web interface's fault.

I uploaded the 3.3.5h Mar 17 2010 firmware, this is now working just fine. Assuming the dates are right, note that their rev indication is odd -- this firmware is newer than the 3.3.5j it shipped with. Also, I noticed that the 3.3.5r file is actually dated Mar 10 2010 once you unzip it -- also older than the 3.3.5h.

I'm happy enough now to be getting more than 15 minutes' use of this router that I'm leaving the dd-wrt experiment to others!

Thanks for this howto!
kapastratos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Oct 2008
Posts: 33
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am very happy to know that it worked!
rogue_shah
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 18:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi I have a tenda w311r.I am a n00b with routers.
I am interested in trying out dd-wrt.And am willing to try out on mine.
I wanted to ask a few things again just to clarify and be safe:
1)can i know if mine is H1 or H2 without opening it?
i checked my firmware in browser's page its firmware is "H1_V3.3.6b_EN-Mar 1 2010" which i suspect means i have h1 (start of the firmware name). [i had updated to tenda's latest firmware]

2)Is there any way i can install on H1 (if its H1)

3)by serial cable do you mean something like this?
http://www.neolics.com/pdfs/dku-5.pdf

Thanks in advance
chipper4344
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would like to see support for this router. Not a bad machine for $20. Would be nice for another $20 with DD-WRT on it Smile
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
no support for 2mb flash


NEVER Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
RoundSparrow
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Nov 2008
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Tenda 3G611R+ seems similar and importantly, I think it has 4MB of FLASH!

I put up photographs of the Tenda 3G611R+ system board:



Anyone put a serial rs232 connection on the 3G611R+? The layout look similar on the back side.

keywordz: Tenda 3G 3G611R 3G611R+ 611R 611R+ D-Link USB Ralink router wifi 801.11n 3G622R 622R
RogFanther
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 1:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which are the codes in the two chips to the left side of the upper picture ?
zemj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 20:50    Post subject: W311R+ Reply with quote
What is the speed of console at original firmware W311R+? It is also 57600?
Because I tried almost everything and with MAX232, USB/RS-232 (both from Profilic and FTDI) + putty ... I get only strings like "ëfűű#ćäÓÎh3Ätd3&f".

Is my console port damaged?
Thanks for any reply.
RogFanther
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 22:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
38400 probably, or 57600. Do not have my notes here with me now. See if you connected RX and TX in the right places.
TendaW311R+
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Oct 2011
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can you help me !!!! I have got Tenda w311r+, it old firmware was H2, but I flashed to v3.2.4.02s. How can I back H2_v3.2.4h, thanks for help
RogFanther
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 13:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you tried the normal way, from
System -> Update Firmware ? what is the problem ?

Fix the ip in your computer network adapter to be 192.168.0.9.

Keep pressed the reset button in the router, then power it up.

Release the button after about 10s. Access http://192.168.0.1, and you should be in the emergency firmware recover page. From there, just upload the right firmware.
TendaW311R+
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Oct 2011
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 13:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
RogFanther wrote:
Have you tried the normal way, from
System -> Update Firmware ? what is the problem ?

Fix the ip in your computer network adapter to be 192.168.0.9.

Keep pressed the reset button in the router, then power it up.

Release the button after about 10s. Access http://192.168.0.1, and you should be in the emergency firmware recover page. From there, just upload the right firmware.


1.Thanks for your help

The new firmware v3.2.4.02s is successful installed, but it have got bugs: mac address of WAN is 00:00:00:00:00:00 and can not turn off WPS. I want to install back H2_v3.2.4h. My network card is get ip automatically and when I go to 192.168.0.1, in upgrade and put new firmware H2_v3.2.4h and click on upgrade and then ok is write " whe new firmware bust be unless than ( 700-800 )kb I am not sure how many it was. From Tenda Support I know that I can not upgrade to another version. What can I do to back H2_v3.2.4h Thanks in advance
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 21, 22, 23  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 23
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum