WNDR3300 13575M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:30    Post subject: WNDR3300 13575M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko Reply with quote
Well here it is folks...

I have installed NEWD-2 k2.6 eko on a wndr3300

At first it didn't take so i unplugged it for 10 secs and that didn't work

I unplugged it for about 1 min and then it took and loaded up.

redhawk stated that you should be careful with the NEWD-2 versions on the wndr3300 and that possibly the wl1 antenna wont work.

I am reporting back that I have tested wl0 N-Only (5Ghz)

and wl1 mixed (b,g)

both wl0 and wl1 work excellently and the ksoftirqd problem that existed in k2.4 doesn't happen in k2.6.

The wireless througput on 5ghz went from 5-6MBps to about 8-9MBps using wpa2 personal with factory settings. I will do more testing and post back my results.
Sponsor
rhdcheme
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2007
Posts: 168
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 3:59    Post subject: Re: WNDR3300 13575M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko Reply with quote
btechnet wrote:

I unplugged it for about 1 min and then it took and loaded up.


Was this using dd-wrt webgui or tftp? What was your exact upgrade procedure?

_________________
E3000 (converted from WRT610NV2)
ASUS RT-N56U Firmware 1.0.1.4 (reverted from 1.0.1.5)
j.m.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also upgraded my 3 WNDR3300 units to 13575M tonight. They are set up in a simple WDS chain that has worked reliably for months. I am having a lot of problems getting WDS to stay up with 13575M, however. The units are experiencing high CPU utilization, unexpected reboots, and just general instability. CAVEAT: I did not perform a 30-30-30 reset or reset to defaults at all. I know this is against advice (although I have never had an issue before), and it very well may be responsible for the problems I described. I will try to reset and reconfigure all 3 tomorrow and see if that helps...
btechnet
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 181
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
I used the webgui to do it.

IT IS IMPORTANT that you unplug the router for at least 1 min after its flashed. If not it will seem bricked. But make sure that you give the router plenty of time to upload the new firmware. Don't just load and unplug. I would say that I hit the upgrade button then waited 5 mins at least.

I also did a 30/30/30 reset, and that really helped the bootup time and stability.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11449
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:25    Post subject: Re: WNDR3300 13575M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko Reply with quote
btechnet wrote:

redhawk stated that you should be careful with the NEWD-2 versions on the wndr3300 and that possibly the wl1 antenna wont work.


True...with older NEWD2 builds. Starting with the release of Eko's 13491 build the wl1 radio was fixed.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
j.m.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
j.m. wrote:
I also upgraded my 3 WNDR3300 units to 13575M tonight. They are set up in a simple WDS chain that has worked reliably for months. I am having a lot of problems getting WDS to stay up with 13575M, however. The units are experiencing high CPU utilization, unexpected reboots, and just general instability. CAVEAT: I did not perform a 30-30-30 reset or reset to defaults at all. I know this is against advice (although I have never had an issue before), and it very well may be responsible for the problems I described. I will try to reset and reconfigure all 3 tomorrow and see if that helps...


Even after doing a 30-30-30 reset, this build causes my WNDR3300 to reboot every few minutes whenever WDS is enabled in N-only 5ghz mode. I have gone back to the K24 builds for now, and all is well again.
cdbob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 19:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Where did you guys find this said build, I've looking all over this site and google and found nothing.

Hopefully when this build is installed it will allow my router to connect to me modem.
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
cdbob wrote:
Where did you guys find this said build, I've looking all over this site and google and found nothing.

Hopefully when this build is installed it will allow my router to connect to me modem.


You would probably do better reading the announcements, this is an old thread that you selectively decided to dig up, alot has changed since Jan 2010, I wouldn't (and don't) run K2.6 Newd-2 builds on my 3300's at all, You'd do better running a NEWD build on there, but as i said, read the announcements and it will further clarify.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
ratcheer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just my 2-cents worth: I am getting great use with build 15230 on my WNDR3300. It is one of the current recommended builds for this router. It is connected to the WAN via a bridged ADSL modem.

Tim
throwaway137125
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Oct 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 21:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
buddee wrote:

You would probably do better reading the announcements, this is an old thread that you selectively decided to dig up, alot has changed since Jan 2010, I wouldn't (and don't) run K2.6 Newd-2 builds on my 3300's at all, You'd do better running a NEWD build on there, but as i said, read the announcements and it will further clarify.


This thread is linked in documentation: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_WNDR3300#Installing_.28.22Flashing.22.29_dd-wrt_on_the_WNDR3300.

YOU read the announcements or maintain better documentation.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 21:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
throwaway137125 wrote:
buddee wrote:

You would probably do better reading the announcements, this is an old thread that you selectively decided to dig up, alot has changed since Jan 2010, I wouldn't (and don't) run K2.6 Newd-2 builds on my 3300's at all, You'd do better running a NEWD build on there, but as i said, read the announcements and it will further clarify.


This thread is linked in documentation: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_WNDR3300#Installing_.28.22Flashing.22.29_dd-wrt_on_the_WNDR3300.

YOU read the announcements or maintain better documentation.


Dude you responded to an almost 4 year old thread. Lol

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
throwaway137125
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Oct 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 21:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
throwaway137125 wrote:
buddee wrote:

You would probably do better reading the announcements, this is an old thread that you selectively decided to dig up, alot has changed since Jan 2010, I wouldn't (and don't) run K2.6 Newd-2 builds on my 3300's at all, You'd do better running a NEWD build on there, but as i said, read the announcements and it will further clarify.


This thread is linked in documentation: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Netgear_WNDR3300#Installing_.28.22Flashing.22.29_dd-wrt_on_the_WNDR3300.

YOU read the announcements or maintain better documentation.


Dude you responded to an almost 4 year old thread. Lol


Dude, THIS thread is part of documentation posted elsewhere on the site. You can't be THIS stupid not to understand such a simple concept. Fucking Eternal September, man...
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum