TP-Link WR-1043ND

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 77, 78, 79 ... 148, 149, 150  Next
Author Message
van_haakonnen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 13:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
anyone here from germany who can repair my TL-WR1043ND? Sad I don´t have the serial TTL Adaptors... :/ I would pay the postage for both ways.
Sponsor
Belatis
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2011
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 14:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
van_haarkonnen: hast das mal probiert?

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=68793&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30

Geh das mal durch. Wenn es auch nicht klappt, dann bleibt wohl nur deine Variante.

_________________
TL-WR1043ND v1.7 @ SVN revision 18777
endstille
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 14:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
so tftp did not work for me, i've set my ip to 192.168.1.3, and started flashing 192.168.1.1 and powered on the router.
for 1/10 second it tells me, i have a connection, but it directly reboots.
any ideas? otherwise i seem to agree to the poster above, it seems, that i can trow it away now..
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
endstille wrote:
so tftp did not work for me, i've set my ip to 192.168.1.3, and started flashing 192.168.1.1 and powered on the router.
for 1/10 second it tells me, i have a connection, but it directly reboots.
any ideas? otherwise i seem to agree to the poster above, it seems, that i can trow it away now..


You are, to start with, using wrong ip addresses, the bootloader of WR-1043ND is 192.168.0.2 and it expects a tftp server at 192.168.0.5.
This is from an early boot loader version and may have been changed in later version..

TP-Link is using 192.168.1.10 (boot loader) and 192.168.1.169 (tftp server) for their other routers with a more recent U-Boot version so they can be valid also for later 1043's.

The time window for tftp is very short, 1 second, before the router gives up tftp and tries to boot from flash.
You have to hit that window right after router power-on and it is difficult..
Win7 which fiddles a lot with the ethernet port will not understand that the link to the router is up until it is too late.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Aditza
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:

Win7 which fiddles a lot with the ethernet port will not understand that the link to the router is up until it is too late.


simple fix for that: just use a plain old switch in between the router and the win7 system, this way the router link can go up&down but win7 will see a constant connection
endstille
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 15:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ahh, thanks for clearing all that info. in this case i will try to tftp the router using my sabayon-linux system.
i will try it in ca 1/2 hours and let you know the result Smile

LOM wrote:
endstille wrote:
so tftp did not work for me, i've set my ip to 192.168.1.3, and started flashing 192.168.1.1 and powered on the router.
for 1/10 second it tells me, i have a connection, but it directly reboots.
any ideas? otherwise i seem to agree to the poster above, it seems, that i can trow it away now..


You are, to start with, using wrong ip addresses, the bootloader of WR-1043ND is 192.168.0.2 and it expects a tftp server at 192.168.0.5.
This is from an early boot loader version and may have been changed in later version..

TP-Link is using 192.168.1.10 (boot loader) and 192.168.1.169 (tftp server) for their other routers with a more recent U-Boot version so they can be valid also for later 1043's.

The time window for tftp is very short, 1 second, before the router gives up tftp and tries to boot from flash.
You have to hit that window right after router power-on and it is difficult..
Win7 which fiddles a lot with the ethernet port will not understand that the link to the router is up until it is too late.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 15:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Aditza wrote:
LOM wrote:

Win7 which fiddles a lot with the ethernet port will not understand that the link to the router is up until it is too late.


simple fix for that: just use a plain old switch in between the router and the win7 system, this way the router link can go up&down but win7 will see a constant connection


Works well with WinXP but both Vista and Win7 goes crazy if they cant get onto internet. It is then Win7 starts to "repair" the connection and sometimes switches from Home Network to Office or Public Network to see if that works better.. It has a life of its own and I don't know how stop it.. "limited connectivity" it doesn't like..

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Aditza
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Jul 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 16:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:

Works well with WinXP but both Vista and Win7 goes crazy if they cant get onto internet. It is then Win7 starts to "repair" the connection and sometimes switches from Home Network to Office or Public Network to see if that works better.. It has a life of its own and I don't know how stop it.. "limited connectivity" it doesn't like..


oh, then disable NCSI

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc766017(WS.10).aspx

NCSI performs a DNS lookup on www.msftncsi.com then requests http://www.msftncsi.com/ncsi.txt
This file is a plain-text file and contains only the text "Microsoft NCSI".
Also, NCSI sends a DNS lookup request for dns.msftncsi.com. This DNS address should resolve to 131.107.255.255. If the address does not match, then it is assumed that the internet connection is not functioning correctly.

to disable NCSI:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NlaSvc\Parameters\Internet]

"EnableActiveProbing"=dword:00000001
--(set to 0 to disable)

"ActiveWebProbeHost"="www.msftncsi.com"
"ActiveWebProbePath"="ncsi.txt"
"ActiveWebProbeContent"="Microsoft NCSI"
"ActiveDnsProbeHost"="dns.msftncsi.com"
"ActiveDnsProbeContent"="131.107.255.255"


it is also possible to run your own server to respond to these requests, by changing those values.
endstille
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 17:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
i did not succed Sad
just ordered a linksys e3000 -.-
hopefully this one will survive for the next years...
san4es
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jan 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 18:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
successfully recovered my 1043nd using nokia DKU-5 cable Very Happy
martyp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 19:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone please advise on the 65mbps issue? I have tried different channels and also read this model of router doesn't benefit from a 30/30/30 reset?
Does everyone else get just the 65mpbs speed?
I have DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std - build 14896 and it's showing as Full (20MHz).

Many thanks
fityla
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
martyp wrote:
Can anyone please advise on the 65mbps issue? I have tried different channels and also read this model of router doesn't benefit from a 30/30/30 reset?
Does everyone else get just the 65mpbs speed?
I have DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std - build 14896 and it's showing as Full (20MHz).

Many thanks


Go to Wireless -> basic chanel ->

1)wireless network mode: NG mixed -> apply settings ->save

2)chanel width: 40mhz -> apply settings ->save

3) Next go topic: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=139168

_________________
1x Asus wl520g
1x Linksys wrt52g v2.2
2x Linksys wrt52g v5.1
1x Linksys wrt52g2 v1.1
1x Linksys wrt160n v3
1x Linksys wrt160nl v1
1x Tp-link tl-wr741nd v1.5
1x Tp-link tl-wr1043nd v1.8
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
san4es wrote:
successfully recovered my 1043nd using nokia DKU-5 cable Very Happy


yes, a serial terminal connection to the routers boot loader is a sure way to un-brick success.

Every dd-wrt user who wants to run these test builds on their routers ought to have a DKU-5/CA-42 cable.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
martyp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
fityla wrote:
martyp wrote:
Can anyone please advise on the 65mbps issue? I have tried different channels and also read this model of router doesn't benefit from a 30/30/30 reset?
Does everyone else get just the 65mpbs speed?
I have DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) std - build 14896 and it's showing as Full (20MHz).

Many thanks


Go to Wireless -> basic chanel ->

1)wireless network mode: NG mixed -> apply settings ->save

2)chanel width: 40mhz -> apply settings ->save

3) Next go topic: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=139168

Excellent, many thanks fityla
pwlj666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
hey, i've had a big break from flashing.
i was on openwrt bakcfire with gargoyle interface, and tried to flash newest DD-WRT over it (06-14-11-r17201/tplink_tl-wr1043nd/tl-wr1043nd-webflash.bin)

it resulted with bootloop. 30/30/30 reset ain't working Sad

any hints how to make it STOP constantly rebooting?...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 77, 78, 79 ... 148, 149, 150  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 78 of 150
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum