Wrt54g2 v1.0 with dual wan and (hopefully) VPN?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
t_alves
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 13:02    Post subject: Wrt54g2 v1.0 with dual wan and (hopefully) VPN? Reply with quote
I've got a Linksys Wrt54g2 v1.0 and I'd like to set it up for dual wan (one Cable/DHCP and the other ADSL/PPPoE).

I managed to install DD-WRT v24-sp2 (09/01/09) micro-plus-ssh but now I need jffs to store the dual wan scripts. I think the build I'm using does not allow jffs, since Wrt54g2 have only 2MB flash, is that correct?

My question: is there a build for my hardware that will allow me to use jffs and configure dual wan? (eg: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=13869)

OpenVPN and SSH are desirable, but not a must. The priority is dual WLAN.

Any help will be really, really appreciated.

Thanks in advance[/b]
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11491
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 13:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
No micro build supports jffs. With only 2M flash we're lucky we can get dd-wrt to run at all.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
t_alves
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 13:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Redhawk, thanks for the quick reply!

So what you are saying is that currently is impossible to set dual wan on my wrt54g2, since I can't have jffs, right?

I've got another identical router (wrt54g2). Is it possible to configure separate wans and then "join" the two networks together? I guess not, because the workstations wouldn't know which gateway to use... anyway, I'm just wondering if there is a workaround for my situation, or do I have to throw the routers away and buy another one with 4 or 8MB flash.

Thanks again!

[Small edit: corrected some grammar erros)
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11491
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 13:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah...without jffs support...it will be hard to write/execute the scripts required.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=13869

oh...and regarding the combining of two routers...I would imagine its possible...but I have no clue how to go about it.

It would be better if you have a unit that had 4M flash minimum.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum