WHR-G300N PPTP Client - Can't Connect to VPN-Sever IPs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
MaGo81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 16:30    Post subject: WHR-G300N PPTP Client - Can't Connect to VPN-Sever IPs Reply with quote
Hi guys

I have a pptp-connection between two dd-wrt devices.
Client: WHR-G300N (dd-wrt 13064) Net 192.168.13.0
Server: WHR-HP-AG108 (dd-wrt 12533) Net: 192.168.12.0

Problem:

I can ping the vpn-server ip(192.168.12.1) from within the vpn-client(ssh 192.168.13.1) but not from the lan-clients(e.g. 192.168.13.102) of the vpn-client.

What kind of routing magic do I have to set up?
Tracert shows me, that my lan-clients take the vpn-client(192.168.13.1) as gateway for all 192.168.12.0 addresses.
Sponsor
Drizzt81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 19:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same issue, even though I configured "advanced routing" on both Routers (WHR-G300n, client and WRT54G, server).
MaGo81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 23:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Come on.. Has nobody a solution to this?
This feature (linking two offices) is important, or is it not?

Please!
scarpeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 12:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
MaGo81 wrote:
Come on.. Has nobody a solution to this?
This feature (linking two offices) is important, or is it not?

Please!


I am using two WHR-G300Ns to set up a pptp connection between two homes, and it works like a charm the 1st time I try.

Show us your server AND client setup, then maybe I or someone else can tell what has gone wrong.
MaGo81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
hope this helps for finding the problem:

client:


host:

scarpeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 3:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your setup is almost identical to mine, except I enabled NAT under PPTP client options.

How about your Advanced Routing settings? It's a must, otherwise you can't create the 'tunnel' between two sites. If you haven't done so already, please look at this: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Point-to-Point_PPTP_Tunneling_with_two_DD-WRT

Hope this helps.
MaGo81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for your help, the problem is solved!

Very Happy

But it is strange though.

I enabled NAT - like often before -, by hitting apply nothing changed BUT with rebooting the router I could connect to the vnp-host and his clients!

But the vpn-host-router could not connect to my clients. "sure thing" I thought, because the NAT is enabled, but I followed the tutorial anyway and set up the routing rule on the now accessible web interface of the vpn-host-router, reboot, and then it worked.
But why having a NAT-option which appears to be useless? So I disabled it on the vpn-client, saved, set up the vpn routing rule on the client too, saved, reboot, all fine!

All vnp-server-clients can see all vpn-client-clients, vice versa.

Not, that I didn't tried the routing rules or the NAT option in the first place.. but I trusted the "apply button". Saving and rebooting seems to be the right way.
Drizzt81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it possible to enable the PPTP Server on a client node? I am having some issues with one of my routers:

I can ping the "central lan" just fine, but I cannot ping the other way.
MaGo81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 21:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can you give some more detailed information on this?
Whats your setup? which way works, which does not?
Drizzt81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

so I have a total of 4 sites. I have a perfectly fine connection between two sites (Routers HamRoute

(WRT54G) and MarcRoute (WRT54GL), subnets 192.168.2.0 and 192.168.16.0 restively).

See:
Code:

root@HamRoute:~# ping 192.168.16.1
PING 192.168.16.1 (192.168.16.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.16.1: seq=0 ttl=64 time=58.701 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.16.1: seq=1 ttl=64 time=54.928 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.16.1: seq=2 ttl=64 time=56.970 ms

--- 192.168.16.1 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 54.928/56.866/58.701 ms

root@HamRoute:~# ping 192.168.16.36
PING 192.168.16.36 (192.168.16.36): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.16.36: seq=0 ttl=63 time=55.000 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.16.36: seq=1 ttl=63 time=56.206 ms

--- 192.168.16.36 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 55.000/55.603/56.206 ms
root@HamRoute:~#


I am trying to add a new Router (HolzRoute (WHR-G300n) subnet 192.168.4.0). This router is supposed to connect

to HamRoute, which I want to use as my hub. As we can see from the routing table at HamRoute, the routing is

set up correctly. However I cannot ping HolzRoute (192.168.4.1) from HamRoute:

Code:

root@HamRoute:~# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
213.191.89.20   *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
192.168.4.1     *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp1
192.168.16.1    *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp2
192.168.4.0     192.168.4.1     255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 ppp1
192.168.2.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 br0
192.168.16.0    192.168.16.1    255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 ppp2
169.254.0.0     *               255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 br0
127.0.0.0       *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
default         lo1.br01.fra.de 0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 ppp0

root@HamRoute:~# ping 192.168.4.1
PING 192.168.4.1 (192.168.4.1): 56 data bytes

--- 192.168.4.1 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss


The Routing table at HolzRoute looks similar. However, I can ping both HamRoute and a server in the

192.168.2.0 network:

Code:

root@HolzRoute:~# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
88.68.192.1     *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
192.168.2.1     *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp1
192.168.4.50    *               255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp2
192.168.4.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 ppp1
192.168.4.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 br0
192.168.50.0    192.168.2.1     255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 ppp1
192.168.2.0     192.168.2.1     255.255.255.0   UG    0      0        0 ppp1
169.254.0.0     *               255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 br0
127.0.0.0       *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
default         dslb-088-068-19 0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 ppp0

root@HolzRoute:~# ping 192.168.2.1
PING 192.168.2.1 (192.168.2.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.2.1: seq=0 ttl=64 time=59.937 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.1: seq=1 ttl=64 time=51.673 ms

--- 192.168.2.1 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 51.673/55.805/59.937 ms
root@HolzRoute:~# ping 192.168.2.13
PING 192.168.2.13 (192.168.2.13): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.2.13: seq=0 ttl=127 time=66.432 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.13: seq=1 ttl=127 time=60.685 ms

--- 192.168.2.13 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 60.685/63.558/66.432 ms


Here are the VPN Setups:
HamRoute

MarcRoute

HolzRoute


If it helps, I can also show the advanced networking settings.

I have rebooted all routers multiple times without any change.
MaGo81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Feb 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
the remote subnet on holzroute is wrong
192.168.4.0 is it's own subnet,
set 192.168.2.0 for hamroute (HolzRoute: pptp client -> Remote Subnet)
Drizzt81
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks MaGo81. It seems to be working a lot better now. Next up: dnsmasq
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum