D-Link DIR-825 Rev. B - Porting DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 147, 148, 149  Next
Author Message
Heffer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 18:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
OpenWRT can do this. luci has an interface for that.
Sponsor
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Heffer wrote:
OpenWRT can do this. luci has an interface for that.


thank you.

your 825 b1 has 32 Mb RAm or 64 ?
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Evgeniy_10 wrote:
my question is about Vlan's on switch ports, not only eth0/eth1 ports of NPU.

On example, old controller Broadcom bcm5354 (with 5-port switch) can be configured with any vlan (but only with id from 0 to 15) on any of 5 ports - its managed switch.

I think , that this gigabit switch is managed too.
But we need configuration utility ( or utility + kernel module.) for configuring this switch .

Plus of managed switch:

we can link router to 2 or 3 uplinks and reserve (or balance) our internet channels.
we can bridged 1 internal port with WAn - for multicast traffic (for iptv)
+ isolated DMZ port...

hellbringer wrote:
Evgeniy_10 wrote:
this version of dd-wrt can manage ports of switch ?
(access port / trunk with tagged vlan's)


I'm not really sure what you mean, but take a look at the screenshot attached, this is the 'Networking' tab.
Looks like there are some 'Bonding' and VLAN options


I get the point, can be useful if you have more than one connection, can't find that option here tho.
According to Realtek the RTL8366SR switch should be able to do that:
Quote:
In router applications, the RTL8366S(R) supports Port VID (PVID) for each port to insert a PVID in the VLAN tag on egress. When using this function, VID information carried in the VLAN tag will be changed to PVID.

and
Quote:
* 802.1Q VLAN supports for 4096 entries
* Supports Port-based, Tag-based, and Protocol-based VLAN
* Up to 4 Protocol-based VLAN entries
* Supports per-port and per-VLAN egress VLAN tagging and un-tagging

_________________
D-Link DIR-825 (DD-WRT std v24-sp2 build 18024)
Linksys WRT54GS v4 (DD-WRT mini v24-sp2 build 14896)
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 22:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Its good.

Heffer wrote:
OpenWRT can do this. luci has an interface for that.

I think, this ultility can work under dd-wrt...

[quote="hellbringer"]
According to Realtek the RTL8366SR switch should be able to do that:
Quote:
In router applications, the RTL8366S(R) supports Port VID (PVID) for each port to insert a PVID in the VLAN tag on egress. When using this function, VID information carried in the VLAN tag will be changed to PVID.

and
Quote:
* 802.1Q VLAN supports for 4096 entries
* Supports Port-based, Tag-based, and Protocol-based VLAN
* Up to 4 Protocol-based VLAN entries
LuisGC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 0:31    Post subject: Problems with WiFi Security Reply with quote
Hi all.

Decided to try dd-wrt and I'm having a problem with the Wifi security.
I'm using my dlink as wireless access point and configured it accordingly. Even used the suggestions from this page http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point

However, I can't get it to work when I enable any type of wireless security.
With wireless security disabled, the PCs that I connect to the 825 properly acquire an ip address provided by my main router DHCP server.
With the same configuration except with (any type) of wireless security enabled, even though I'm able to connect to the wireless network, I cannot acquire an ip address.

Anyone has any suggestions?
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 0:47    Post subject: Re: Problems with WiFi Security Reply with quote
LuisGC wrote:
Hi all.

Decided to try dd-wrt and I'm having a problem with the Wifi security.
I'm using my dlink as wireless access point and configured it accordingly. Even used the suggestions from this page http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wireless_Access_Point

However, I can't get it to work when I enable any type of wireless security.
With wireless security disabled, the PCs that I connect to the 825 properly acquire an ip address provided by my main router DHCP server.
With the same configuration except with (any type) of wireless security enabled, even though I'm able to connect to the wireless network, I cannot acquire an ip address.

Anyone has any suggestions?


Are you sure you did a 30/30/30 Hard reset?
If not: do, if you already did: do it again.
If you have Windows: make sure your pass phase is correct & reboot your system.
If it still doesn't work after that try reflashing it with the same firmware.

I have no trouble with WPA or WPA2, both TKIP&AES encryption, works like a charm, both on 2,4Ghz & 5GHz.

_________________
D-Link DIR-825 (DD-WRT std v24-sp2 build 18024)
Linksys WRT54GS v4 (DD-WRT mini v24-sp2 build 14896)
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 14:45    Post subject: rev.B - how many RAM chips ? Reply with quote
On photo - 1 chip.
or 2-nd is absent on these photos ?
1 chip - 16 bit memory bus../
Zeebra
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 17:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just bought the DIR-825 and i'm interested in flashing to DD-WRT (used this with my old linksys)

My question is the wireless signal strength -- is it improved at all with the dd-wrt firmware as opposed to stock? I'm using a DAP-1522 to connect my xbox to the router but i only get a 20% signal strength on the 5GHZ band. Any info on this?
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 21:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
this revision of DD-wrt for 825 rev.B support jffs and USB ?
Its have ext2/ext3 modules in kernel ?
Zeebra
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 14:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried to flash the firmware to DD-WRT last night after being frustrated with dlink's software rebooting the router on each little change. Didn't work, it kept telling me it was invalid firmware and wouldn't let me flash. I have revision B of the dir-825 router and am currently running 2.02NA firmware.

Any ideas?
waffull
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
See if something here is helpful. Just substitute the dd-wrt file for the openwrt file.

http://fetzig.org/2009/12/24/openwrt-on-the-d-link-dir-825/
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7127
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 23:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm picking up my DIR-825 Rev B tomorrow, my first router I owned and DD-WRT looks exciting. Hopefully I don't get any problems installing it.
LuisGC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 20:17    Post subject: Re: Problems with WiFi Security Reply with quote
hellbringer wrote:

Are you sure you did a 30/30/30 Hard reset?
If not: do, if you already did: do it again.
If you have Windows: make sure your pass phase is correct & reboot your system.
If it still doesn't work after that try reflashing it with the same firmware.

I have no trouble with WPA or WPA2, both TKIP&AES encryption, works like a charm, both on 2,4Ghz & 5GHz.


Thanks for your help, hellbringer.
Tried it all, still I'm unable to maintain a proper connection over wifi. Either the connection drops every 3/4 minutes or so or it just stops working. This when using any kind of wifi security, if wifi is unsecured it works ok, however I'm not willing to maintain an insecure network.

How can I go back to the stock firmware?
05yukon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 54
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am having problems flashing mine. I have tried the way listed in the open wrt tutorial and the light just keeps flashing and never does anything. I cant get it to flash through the web interface either.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7127
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had the same issue as well because I forgot when its flashed to DD-WRT the IP changes to 192.168.1.1 its NOT 192.168.0.1 anymore unless you change it back. So far so good with mine, hope all the misinformed features get corrected soon though, like I can't tell which wifi band is which (2.4/5Ghz) etc. Pretty lights on the front as well need fixing.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 147, 148, 149  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 149
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum