D-Link DIR-825 Rev. B - Porting DD-WRT

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 147, 148, 149  Next
Author Message
cheungpat
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
tinytoes wrote:
sigh...

brainslayer is ignoring my email as well...

looks like he does not wants to port dd-wrt onto dir-825


It appears that there is DIR-825 support since r13516. I haven’t tried so I do not know if it actually work.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/changeset/13516
Sponsor
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 13:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
cheungpat wrote:
tinytoes wrote:
sigh...

brainslayer is ignoring my email as well...

looks like he does not wants to port dd-wrt onto dir-825


It appears that there is DIR-825 support since r13516. I haven’t tried so I do not know if it actually work.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/dd-wrt/changeset/13516


Sounds great, where can i download this version?


edit:
I think i found something right here:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FBrainSlayer-V24-preSP2%2F12-28-09-r13525%2Fdlink-dir825-revb%2F
Under 'other downloads':
Path: Downloads › others › eko › BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2 › 12-28-09-r13525 › dlink-dir825-revb

NICE! it works! And wifi works to! (Did not get that to work on OpenWRT)
The interface looks a bit 'laggy' and also the CPU load is a bit high i think...


Last edited by hellbringer on Wed Dec 30, 2009 21:52; edited 1 time in total
seti
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 277
Location: Physically: Somewhere in time and space / Mentally: As lost as the next person

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 21:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I saw these three builds out there as well and would like to know if anyone knows the difference in the three images in that folder?

I hate to assume, but is this anything like some of the other builds that require an initial flash (one of the two factory-ddwrt NA/WW bins) and then with the firmware bin?

What is the difference in the NA and WW bins?
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 21:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
My guess:
The 'WW' version is the worldwide version i think, i have that on my router now (factory-to-ddwrt_WW.bin) and have an option to pick a 'Regulatory Domain' (a lot of different country's) under WiFi options.
The NA is specifically for North America.
seti
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 277
Location: Physically: Somewhere in time and space / Mentally: As lost as the next person

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the information. Glad to here the build is working out for your 825. Great router...looking forward to getting rid of the stock firmware.
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
seti wrote:
Thanks for the information. Glad to here the build is working out for your 825. Great router...looking forward to getting rid of the stock firmware.

Absolutely! The stock firmware is cr*p.

Still have some trouble with the WiFi in DD-WRT, somehow my Linksys wifi adapter is not always able to find/connect to my AP, depending on what settings I use.
Does not look verry stable, could not get the speed up to more then 11Mbit....
seti
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 277
Location: Physically: Somewhere in time and space / Mentally: As lost as the next person

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 9:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I know this sounds crazy, but I would rather deal with an unstable DD-WRT than the stock firmware on any of the routers I have. With the stability news though I think I will keep this as a secondary as any issues get worked out.

I am road tripping it home and the last leg of my trip is tomorrow...I can't wait to dig in with this build. I guess this makes me a ddwrt-ho now...wicked!

I do find it funny that you are having trouble with your Linksys adapter to this router. When I first set up this bad boy I was using two different Linksys wifi USB adapters on a laptop and workstation...which acted pretty funny with the random disconnects and SLOW speeds. I upgraded the laptop to an Intel 5300 and the PC to an Ubiquiti SR71...now neither is having any kind of issue. I assume you weren't having issues before, but only after the flash?

Thanks for the updated info...I will return the favor when I get back.
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
DIR-825 Rev. B has 8 Mb flash and 1 usb port ?
ar7161 has any cooler ?
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 15:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Evgeniy_10 wrote:
DIR-825 Rev. B has 8 Mb flash and 1 usb port ?
ar7161 has any cooler ?


See this review at smallnetbuilder
It got 32MB of RAM and 8MB of flash and a small heatsink on the CPU and yes it has USB.

In theory it should be one of the fastest and best routers available today, but the cr*ppy stock firmware kills it.
I hope DD-WRT comes with fixes for the laggy interface & the Wifi problems.
But for now, its still better than the stock firmware that has to reboot the complete router after every change of settings.

Now i go over the review at smallnetbuilder again: according to them the CPU is 600MHz, but as you can see in my screenshot, its a 680MHz in there (?)
seti
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 277
Location: Physically: Somewhere in time and space / Mentally: As lost as the next person

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
hellbringer wrote:
Evgeniy_10 wrote:
DIR-825 Rev. B has 8 Mb flash and 1 usb port ?
ar7161 has any cooler ?


See this review at smallnetbuilder
It got 32MB of RAM and 8MB of flash and a small heatsink on the CPU and yes it has USB.

In theory it should be one of the fastest and best routers available today, but the cr*ppy stock firmware kills it.
I hope DD-WRT comes with fixes for the laggy interface & the Wifi problems.
But for now, its still better than the stock firmware that has to reboot the complete router after every change of settings.

Now i go over the review at smallnetbuilder again: according to them the CPU is 600MHz, but as you can see in my screenshot, its a 680MHz in there (?)


I remember that smallnetbuilder had this among the highest throughput routers, but I had no idea that the CPU was that fast.
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
On screenshot - 64 Mb 8-)

2 sub-rev. of dir-825-b1 -

dir-825-b1 with 32M and dir-825-b1 with 64M ?

seti wrote:

See this review at smallnetbuilder
It got 32MB of RAM and 8MB of flash and a small heatsink on the CPU and yes it has USB.
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ah i fixed the wifi.... (Hard reset 30/30/30 /me stupid, did no do that.)

The only thing to fix now is the leds on the front, the globe seems to be orange and blue at the same time and neither the power not both the WiFi leds are working...

_________________
D-Link DIR-825 (DD-WRT std v24-sp2 build 18024)
Linksys WRT54GS v4 (DD-WRT mini v24-sp2 build 14896)
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 15:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
this version of dd-wrt can manage ports of switch ?
(access port / trunk with tagged vlan's)
hellbringer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Evgeniy_10 wrote:
this version of dd-wrt can manage ports of switch ?
(access port / trunk with tagged vlan's)


I'm not really sure what you mean, but take a look at the screenshot attached, this is the 'Networking' tab.
Looks like there are some 'Bonding' and VLAN options going on there.
Have not tested them, but i'm pretty confident that they work.

_________________
D-Link DIR-825 (DD-WRT std v24-sp2 build 18024)
Linksys WRT54GS v4 (DD-WRT mini v24-sp2 build 14896)
Evgeniy_10
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 144

PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 18:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
my question is about Vlan's on switch ports, not only eth0/eth1 ports of NPU.

On example, old controller Broadcom bcm5354 (with 5-port switch) can be configured with any vlan (but only with id from 0 to 15) on any of 5 ports - its managed switch.

I think , that this gigabit switch is managed too.
But we need configuration utility ( or utility + kernel module.) for configuring this switch .

Plus of managed switch:

we can link router to 2 or 3 uplinks and reserve (or balance) our internet channels.
we can bridged 1 internal port with WAn - for multicast traffic (for iptv)
+ isolated DMZ port...

hellbringer wrote:
Evgeniy_10 wrote:
this version of dd-wrt can manage ports of switch ?
(access port / trunk with tagged vlan's)


I'm not really sure what you mean, but take a look at the screenshot attached, this is the 'Networking' tab.
Looks like there are some 'Bonding' and VLAN options
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 147, 148, 149  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 149
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum