30/30/30 Reset

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Author Message
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 16:49    Post subject: 30/30/30 Reset Reply with quote
Can anyone tell me the importance of 30/30/30 reset BEFORE updating the router to the newest version of dd-wrt? Do I really need to do that? I could not find any answers here.
Sponsor
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1261
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 17:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
From the "Peacock Thread-FAQ You need to read for dd-wrt to work well" thread, section 1:

Quote:
Failing to do a hard reset and failing to wait after flashing are the two most common NOOB errors that lead them to a world of unnecessary dd-wrt pain! This is not a minor optional step. The firmware writes information to the Nvram. This step clears that information. If you don't clear it properly, parts of the old information be present with the new firmware, which can make it not operate properly. Don't cut corners. Doing it before you upgrade can be very important; a hard reset is not just for after upgrades.

_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I need to understand why I need to do 30/30/30 hard reset BEFORE upgrading to newer DD-WRT...

I can understand why do it AFTER (to clear NVRAM from old settings)

Can anyone help!!???

_________________

My DD-WRT Routers:
Netgear WNDR3300, Linksys WRT54G2, Asus WL-520GU, Dell TrueMobile 2300, Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444
studentforever
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
but if u do that every thing runs smoothly

i did that and bingo, every thing worked perfectly.

but it actually clears every thing from NVRAM, settings etc.
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
No one so far answered my question....

studentforever wrote:
but if u do that every thing runs smoothly

i did that and bingo, every thing worked perfectly.

but it actually clears every thing from NVRAM, settings etc.

_________________

My DD-WRT Routers:
Netgear WNDR3300, Linksys WRT54G2, Asus WL-520GU, Dell TrueMobile 2300, Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11487
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 23:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Doing a 30/30/30 before the firmware update clears the nvram section BEFORE the firmware configures itself. If it is cleared before hand, then no nvram variables can "interfere" with the firmware configuring itself.

Once the firmware configures itself, it creates NEW nvram variables...some of which are only used for firmware configuration purposes, so a 30/30/30 after the load is also recommended as not to interfere with router configuration.

Once the firmware has finished configuring itself, it then reboots without any nvram variables to mess up your router configuration when you run through all the tabs.

So...there are actually 2 configurations taking place during a firmware upgrade...one is the Firmware configuration for your routers hardware....the second configuration is your router configuration that you set for your desired network setup.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 23:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks redhawk, but wouldn't 30/30/30 AFTER clear it all??
Thanks again!

redhawk0 wrote:
Doing a 30/30/30 before the firmware update clears the nvram section BEFORE the firmware configures itself. If it is cleared before hand, then no nvram variables can "interfere" with the firmware configuring itself.

Once the firmware configures itself, it creates NEW nvram variables...some of which are only used for firmware configuration purposes, so a 30/30/30 after the load is also recommended as not to interfere with router configuration.

Once the firmware has finished configuring itself, it then reboots without any nvram variables to mess up your router configuration when you run through all the tabs.

So...there are actually 2 configurations taking place during a firmware upgrade...one is the Firmware configuration for your routers hardware....the second configuration is your router configuration that you set for your desired network setup.

redhawk

_________________

My DD-WRT Routers:
Netgear WNDR3300, Linksys WRT54G2, Asus WL-520GU, Dell TrueMobile 2300, Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11487
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 14:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
idmitriy wrote:
Thanks redhawk, but wouldn't 30/30/30 AFTER clear it all??
Thanks again!

redhawk0 wrote:
Doing a 30/30/30 before the firmware update clears the nvram section BEFORE the firmware configures itself. If it is cleared before hand, then no nvram variables can "interfere" with the firmware configuring itself.

Once the firmware configures itself, it creates NEW nvram variables...some of which are only used for firmware configuration purposes, so a 30/30/30 after the load is also recommended as not to interfere with router configuration.

Once the firmware has finished configuring itself, it then reboots without any nvram variables to mess up your router configuration when you run through all the tabs.

So...there are actually 2 configurations taking place during a firmware upgrade...one is the Firmware configuration for your routers hardware....the second configuration is your router configuration that you set for your desired network setup.

redhawk


Yes...but how will you know for sure that the firmware configuration isn't corrupt due to a variable that wasn't cleared before the firmware was loaded.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well the firmware configuration has it's own default settings. Even if I hard reset it will retain that configuration on it's own. Am I right? Then what's good will it do if we do 30/30/30 BEFORE?


redhawk
Quote:


Yes...but how will you know for sure that the firmware configuration isn't corrupt due to a variable that wasn't cleared before the firmware was loaded.

redhawk

_________________

My DD-WRT Routers:
Netgear WNDR3300, Linksys WRT54G2, Asus WL-520GU, Dell TrueMobile 2300, Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 18:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
old nvram
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j k l

new nvram
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j

new nvram without erasing nvram before flash
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j k l <= this is NFG...

without erasing nvram 1st, parama will have two incorrect bytes at the end which can and will screw things up. It could also make the router not boot at all depending on what and where.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked


Last edited by barryware on Wed Sep 02, 2009 18:13; edited 1 time in total
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11487
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
The firmware has to configure itself for your hardware...its a generic firmware...capable of running on many, many, many different makes/models/versions all rolled into one Firmware package.

To ensure you get the correct configurations for YOUR hardware it is advised to clear the nvram section BEFORE loading the firmware so it is starting fresh and no "old" extraneous variables cause any problems with that configuration.

I don't know what more to tell you...the recommendation is BEFORE and AFTER...clear nvram partition is important to ensure a clean configuration and smooth router operation.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
You do a 30/30/30 reset AFTER and "k l" is gone!
That's why we do 30/30/30 AFTER! Right?

barryware wrote:
old nvram
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j k l

new nvram
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j

new nvram without erasing nvram before flash
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j k l <= this is NFG...

without erasing nvram 1st, parama will have two incorrect bytes at the end which can and will screw things up. It could also make the router not boot at all depending on what and where.

_________________

My DD-WRT Routers:
Netgear WNDR3300, Linksys WRT54G2, Asus WL-520GU, Dell TrueMobile 2300, Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
idmitriy wrote:
You do a 30/30/30 reset AFTER and "k l" is gone!
That's why we do 30/30/30 AFTER?

barryware wrote:
old nvram
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j k l

new nvram
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j

new nvram without erasing nvram before flash
offset

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0
p a r a m a = a b c d e f g h i j k l <= this is NFG...

without erasing nvram 1st, parama will have two incorrect bytes at the end which can and will screw things up. It could also make the router not boot at all depending on what and where.


Providing the router boots at all with the wrong parama..

If you choose not to reset before.. Then don't

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51915

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
idmitriy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jul 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
The reason why I ask this. I have not noticed the difference on all of my routers (5) so far...

But thanks for your responds! I appreciated it!

_________________

My DD-WRT Routers:
Netgear WNDR3300, Linksys WRT54G2, Asus WL-520GU, Dell TrueMobile 2300, Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum