Everything you Ever Wanted to know about Serial - TTL

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
ju40k
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 8:53    Post subject: Does the serial flashing work without Ethernet connection Reply with quote
Hi. My rt-n16 is bricked. I was able to connect trough serial but when I plug in the ethernet cable nothing happens.

My computer asks to connect the cable and no link is blinking on router.

Is there a way to check if ethernet part of router is working at all?

One of the chips on the board - CAT7581CA is heating is hell. After reviewing its datasheet I understand it converts the voltage. Maybe it's broken and doesn't provide the power for ethernet port?

I think if I'm not the only one with this dead ethernet ports it worth adding the instruction on how to flash over the serial itself...
Sponsor
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is a picture of the pinouts for those who want to use a ca-42 nokia phone connector for serial.

You only need grd, tx and rx connected to your router.



ca-42_dku-5_pinout.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  216.27 KB
 Viewed:  21320 Time(s)

ca-42_dku-5_pinout.jpg



_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
fireman77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Would this work for a serial connection?
http://cgi.ebay.ca/USB-RS-232-TTL-Adapter-PL2303-Converter-w-Cable-3-3v-5v-/120682306335?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c1939db1f
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 0:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
fireman77 wrote:
Would this work for a serial connection?
http://cgi.ebay.ca/USB-RS-232-TTL-Adapter-PL2303-Converter-w-Cable-3-3v-5v-/120682306335?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c1939db1f


Looks good. Level shifting ttl. However a CA-42 is less money and saves you from having to mess with power (vcc+) which can fry things if you hook it up wrong.

_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
fireman77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 0:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Peabody wrote:

Looks good. Level shifting ttl. However a CA-42 is less money and saves you from having to mess with power (vcc+) which can fry things if you hook it up wrong.


I have a wrt610 v2 with the serial in the WAN port, so I will also have to make a plug like Eko's. Will I be able to solder to those pins on the CA-42?
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 0:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
fireman77 wrote:
Peabody wrote:

Looks good. Level shifting ttl. However a CA-42 is less money and saves you from having to mess with power (vcc+) which can fry things if you hook it up wrong.


I have a wrt610 v2 with the serial in the WAN port, so I will also have to make a plug like Eko's. Will I be able to solder to those pins on the CA-42?


The serial will also be on the motherboard of the router, and it is safer to access the one on the motherboard. But yes, you can use the WAN port as well, if you can get the leads lined up. It is very difficult, imho. You only need three...rx, tx, and grd with the ca-42 so you don't have to worry about frying your serial port as easily (regardless of whether you use the mobo or the wan port).

_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
fireman77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks Peabody Very Happy All the PCs I have are running Win7. From what I have been reading, there seems to be issues? Any suggestions to help a noob would be greatly appreciated Very Happy
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
fireman77 wrote:
Thanks Peabody Very Happy All the PCs I have are running Win7. From what I have been reading, there seems to be issues? Any suggestions to help a noob would be greatly appreciated Very Happy


Can't help you as I don't use Win7. Best advice is to read all of this thread. Read the wiki serial recovery article. Get a Win XP computer if you have problems with win7.

_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
RenRenRen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 211
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I use two PL-2303 based cables without trouble on Windows 7 x64, if you need drivers they can be found here Smile
_________________
Linksys WRT1900ACS, 35531 (26/03/2018)
Linksys E3000/WRT610N v2 Conversion, Kong VPN 22000++ (06/07/2014)
fireman77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 23:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
RenRenRen wrote:
I use two PL-2303 based cables without trouble on Windows 7 x64, if you need drivers they can be found here Smile


Thanks Very Happy I think i may go with the PL-2303 as well. I am cuious as to why you don't need 3.3v with the CA-42? It this possible with the PL-2303?
SparksCapone
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 0:48    Post subject: CA-42 with Win7 x64 Reply with quote
Just my 2 cents...

I am using a generic CA-42 cable with Windows 7 64 bit and it works good. This particular cable had 5 wires so I had to supply the 3volts with 2 AA batteries since the adapter isn't powered from the USB port. See the bottom 2 posts on the first page for more info:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=540317

This also allows me to set up the Putty or Hyper-terminal window before powering on the router, allowing me to easily see all the boot info, as well as making it easier to interrupt with CTRL-C.

As far as drivers go, I let Windows search online and it installed the Nokia CA-42 drivers from Windows Update.
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1518

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:16    Post subject: Re: CA-42 with Win7 x64 Reply with quote
SparksCapone wrote:
Just my 2 cents...

I am using a generic CA-42 cable with Windows 7 64 bit and it works good. This particular cable had 5 wires so I had to supply the 3volts with 2 AA batteries since the adapter isn't powered from the USB port. See the bottom 2 posts on the first page for more info:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=540317



Mine had five wires, and I did not need to power the usb with batteries. If windows recognized it when it was plugged in, the adapter was powered. I just used the tx, rx and ground. Worked fine.

_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
CybrJ
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Location: FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 14:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've got one of these (link below) on hand from having to resurrect a Netgear router in the past and I'm wondering if it would work in place of getting a CA-42? I want to have something on hand just in case I ever need it to revive a E2000. Wink

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/FTDI/TTL-232R-3V3/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvYU0Oh5y3R5sMdbLgwj41z
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7628

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
CybrJ wrote:
I've got one of these (link below) on hand from having to resurrect a Netgear router in the past and I'm wondering if it would work in place of getting a CA-42? I want to have something on hand just in case I ever need it to revive a E2000. Wink

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/FTDI/TTL-232R-3V3/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvYU0Oh5y3R5sMdbLgwj41z


Yes it will work, I wouldn't recommend others to buy it but that is only because of the price, a CA-42 is $3-4.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
CybrJ
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Location: FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 0:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
CybrJ wrote:
I've got one of these (link below) on hand from having to resurrect a Netgear router in the past and I'm wondering if it would work in place of getting a CA-42? I want to have something on hand just in case I ever need it to revive a E2000. Wink

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/FTDI/TTL-232R-3V3/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvYU0Oh5y3R5sMdbLgwj41z


Yes it will work, I wouldn't recommend others to buy it but that is only because of the price, a CA-42 is $3-4.


Thanks. Very Happy I wouldn't recommended purchasing it either but at the time I got it, it was the recommended way to revive a bricked WGR614L & WNR3500L.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 9 of 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum