BUFFALO WHR-G300N Firmware Problem (possible brick issue)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
eaglenest608
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 0:47    Post subject: BUFFALO WHR-G300N Firmware Problem (possible brick issue) Reply with quote
Hi, I am not totally new to this but I think I may have bricked my router. The red diag light is only blinking 2 times, then 2 times, etc and the manual states that this means a starting flash rom error. Is there any way I can resolve this issue? I tried the hard reset button and it does nothing. I cannot access via web browser either as since it won't boot up, it is not receiving an ip address. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Sponsor
dg9ekc
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 249
Location: germany/nrw/düsseldorf

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 2:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi

download http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/08-06-09-r12615/WHR-G300N/firmware.tftp

download http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/tornado/Windows-TFTP/tftp2.exe

1. Power off router
2. Turn off firewall
3. Start tftp2 . select the firmware.tftp set Server : to 192.168.11.1
4. Set your networkcard to 192.168.11.x Gateway 192.168.11.1
5. Power on router , when the networkcard detects connection klick upgrade.
6. Wait
7. When the router have rebootet set your networkcard to 192.168.1.x Gateway 192.168.1.1
8 Try http://192.168.1.1 and set login name and Password.

_________________
Gruss / Greets
dg9ekc Cool


eaglenest608
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 3:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
OMG, thank you so very much!!! It worked perfectly. I thought for sure it was going to be thrown out in next weeks trash. I will be much more careful this time around. I am trying to get it to become a client bridge but without that in the drop down list, I cannot seem to get anything else to work. If you have any ideas, they would also be greatly appreciated. I was able to setup my Asus router with client bridge without any problems. Of course, it had that choice to be made unlike this router.
louben1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 1:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the WHR-G300N. Attempted to TFTP flash with no success. After 30-30-30 attempt, the device appears bricked. Purchased a FTDI FT232RQ USB to Serial UART interface and soldered the appropriate cables to the board according to http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N. I set the console program to 57600, 8, n, 1. Only giberish characters appear on the console. Nothing changes when I switch emulations either. Any ideas would be appreciated.

thanks,
Louis
dg9ekc
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 249
Location: germany/nrw/düsseldorf

PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi

if the red LED lit tftp again without 30/30/30.

_________________
Gruss / Greets
dg9ekc Cool


DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1376
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
The TFTP window is very short - sometimes only 2 seconds to catch it.

Also, it depends on what system you use to flash it as well.

When I first flashed my WHR-G300N, I could NOT get it to flash under Windows Vista.

I had to hook it up to a Windows XP machine.

Once I had DD-WRT loaded, I could flash via the web interface with Windows Vista.

Try a different PC if at all possible.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
Netgear Nighthawk R7000 - DD-WRT Build R44085
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT IPQ806x Trunk R14001 5.4 Kernel

TP-Link Archer C7 V3 - DD-WRT Build R43800
Linksys E3000 - FreshTomato Build MIPSR2 2020.5
louben1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you both for responding. Appears during the process of connecting the serial interface something 'reset' within the router. Instead of a continuous red LED, the lights started to blink every 20 to 30 seconds, shut off, then repeat. I retried the tftp flash and was able to load v24-sp2 (06/03/09) std - build 12255. With the web interface now available, I'll update to the latest release in the near future as time permits.

thanks,
Louis
gb59
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 0:14    Post subject: problems with whr-g300n Reply with quote
hi!

yesterday i was received the Nfiniti WHR-G300N and try to load DD-WRT via the GUI when i try to load the firmware i was received the message the firmware was corrupt and the router reboot.

i try to load the firmware via the tftp2 and the tool gave me the following error ""unable to get response from the server", i was followed the instructions but i can't load dd-wrt

somebody can help me?

thanks
taimur
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
dg9ekc wrote:
Hi

download http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/08-06-09-r12615/WHR-G300N/firmware.tftp

download http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/tornado/Windows-TFTP/tftp2.exe

1. Power off router
2. Turn off firewall
3. Start tftp2 . select the firmware.tftp set Server : to 192.168.11.1
4. Set your networkcard to 192.168.11.x Gateway 192.168.11.1
5. Power on router , when the networkcard detects connection klick upgrade.
6. Wait
7. When the router have rebootet set your networkcard to 192.168.1.x Gateway 192.168.1.1
8 Try http://192.168.1.1 and set login name and Password.


You just saved me! Thank you!
Dave Wave
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had DD-WRT running on my router and did a 30-30-30. I then got the two red flashs, pause two flashes with no ping response. I followed the directions to reflash, which the router accepted (rapid flashing), but I still end up back at two red flashes, pause, with no ping response.

Any Ideas?

THanks

-Dave
louben1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 20:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dave Wave,

I have had to reflash the WHR-G300N's a couple of times before DD-WRT properly loaded. The timing of loading the new OS was the tricky part. I also don't usually do 30-30-30 after the flash unless I have a problem with the device. Best of luck.

Louis
taimur
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dave Wave wrote:
I had DD-WRT running on my router and did a 30-30-30. I then got the two red flashs, pause two flashes with no ping response. I followed the directions to reflash, which the router accepted (rapid flashing), but I still end up back at two red flashes, pause, with no ping response.

Any Ideas?

THanks

-Dave


Follow the 2nd post, above.
Dave Wave
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did that exactly as written. It takes the flash, the red light flashes quickly, the router resets, then back to slow red flashes....sigh

-Dave
taimur
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
You need to give more information, what build are you flashing? Does it say update successful?
Dave Wave
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Nov 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am using the r-12615. The flash says it is succesful, and the red light goes to rapid blinking. The router reboots on its own(all lights come on, then off), then back to two red flashes, pause, repeat.

-Dave
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum