well the newd firmware bricked my wrt350N

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
sanity
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 29
Location: West Lafayette, IN

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:52    Post subject: well the newd firmware bricked my wrt350N Reply with quote
All my router is doing is having a flashing power light, i am thoroughly pissed. It does not respond to pings of any sort, ping transmission failed. I tried doing the stuff in peacock thread but to no avail, this makes me really mad that the warning that it bricks my model of router is far down in the forums. SIGH, if anyone has any ideas let me know. Im gonna go buy a worse router from walmart i think wrt150n is what they have now.
Sponsor
Phonism
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2008
Posts: 449
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Picking the latest builds are extremely risky and if you aren't prepared to take that risk, you really should use the recommended build instead.

I'm not sure if the 350 has a JTAG, but I'd really read the peacock thread carefully about recovering from a bad flash, and hopefully you will be able to get your router back up and running.

I'm sure one of those that have experience with the 350 can help you out. All hope is not lost yet =)

_________________

Asus RT-AC66U DD-WRT v24-sp2 giga - build 25015 [Main]
Linksys E3000 DD-WRT v24-sp2 mega - build 15962 [Backup]
Linksys WRT600N v1.1 DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega - build 14929 [Retired]
Linksys WRT54GS v4 DD-WRT v24-sp2 mini - build 15747 [Retired]
E3000 Info | WRT600N Info | Know-it-all thread
freddie802
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jan 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Devon, PA USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 12:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
what version of the firmware did you load?
_________________
2 x wrt600n v1.1 AP WL0 Mixed Mode WPA2 Pers Aes, WL1 N Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES V24 BS 15778 WT610N
wrt310n Wireless Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 15506 Mini
wrt54g v7 G Only Repeater Bridge WPA2 Pers AES v24 BS 12523 Micro
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 13:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
if loading the newd-2 fw bricked the device, I'm pretty sure (but not positive) that jtag would be needed to recover. In my testing, everything I bricked needed jtag but I didn't test or attempt recovery on a 350.

erase nvram & kernel, tftp stock fw, reload dd-wrt.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
rhdcheme
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2007
Posts: 168
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 14:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can recover it easily following the procedure I used. http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=36705&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45
_________________
E3000 (converted from WRT610NV2)
ASUS RT-N56U Firmware 1.0.1.4 (reverted from 1.0.1.5)
sanity
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 29
Location: West Lafayette, IN

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, i dont think setting the ip will work because i get no active ethernet connection to the router, it says its unplugged. And i have No idea what this jtag stuff is, ive been reading about it but nobody actually explains how its physically done.
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12675

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 17:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
The warning that newd-2 can brick your router is in big red letters at the commencement of the newd-2 thread. The peacock states you should always read the build threads. The announcements state you should read the announcements.

There is a link to the jtag explanation in note 6 of the peacock, at the end of the note.

You create a cable that you run from a serial port on your computer to a header that you usually have to solder into your router. Then you issue commands from your computer to remove the bad bits which will enable you to flash.

It will work, as long as you have a jtag port on the router. I believe you do. Good luck!

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
sanity
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 29
Location: West Lafayette, IN

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I can try whats in this thread http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash

But am I right in knowing that it wont work because there is no active ethernet connection when I connect an ethernet cable?
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12675

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
IMHO, Note 6 of the peacock lists the steps to follow...from setting your computer to a static IP to processes to ping to jtag (link) if necessary.

Bottom line....if you can't get ttl= ping responses after trying the steps, you need to jtag.

Under the bottom line.....you likely need to jtag.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anybody got a pic or a link to a pic of the 350 MB? Never saw one...
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
sanity
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 29
Location: West Lafayette, IN

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 20:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=10835&highlight=wrt350n+jtag,
rhdcheme
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jun 2007
Posts: 168
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
Anybody got a pic or a link to a pic of the 350 MB? Never saw one...


I think here (at least the relevant portion for jtag):

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=10835&highlight=jtag+wrt350n

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=36705&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

_________________
E3000 (converted from WRT610NV2)
ASUS RT-N56U Firmware 1.0.1.4 (reverted from 1.0.1.5)
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gracias... Got it... the 5 pin is jtag right? Shocked
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cool... A radio card (pcmcia).. Has anyone dumped a wpc600n in one of these? Is this a dual radio device stock?
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum