How do I fix this problem with my WRT54G v2, or is it bricke

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 20:06    Post subject: How do I fix this problem with my WRT54G v2, or is it bricke Reply with quote
I was following the instructions by Bualdoot (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT54G/GL/GS/GX#v2.0) I "upgraded" the linksys firmware which was actually a downgrade then I get stuck with this and can't go anywhere
also i've tried to do the 30/30/30 and that didn't work



linksys.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  34.24 KB
 Viewed:  9334 Time(s)

linksys.jpg


Sponsor
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 20:20    Post subject: Re: How do I fix this problem with my WRT54G v2, or is it br Reply with quote
Wizzer wrote:
I was following the instructions by Bualdoot (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT54G/GL/GS/GX#v2.0) I "upgraded" the linksys firmware which was actually a downgrade then I get stuck with this and can't go anywhere
also i've tried to do the 30/30/30 and that didn't work


It looks like it could be a browser issue. Clear you cache & cookies, restart you browser & try again.

I use IE6 or 8 depending on the rig I'm using.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried IE8 and it didn't do anything for it. Firefox 3.5 also doesn't do anything.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 20:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wizzer wrote:
I tried IE8 and it didn't do anything for it. Firefox 3.5 also doesn't do anything.


If it is not a browser issue, then if it were me, I would re-flash the firmware via tftp. Use the linksys tftp utility, not the os command line.

How come you downgraded? You could have just plowed dd-wrt via the linksys upgrade gui.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Shawn360
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 1237

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 20:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wizzer wrote:
I tried IE8 and it didn't do anything for it. Firefox 3.5 also doesn't do anything.
Try Chrome, Safari, etc.
Do a longer hard reset instead of 30/30/30 try
2minutes/2minutes/2minutes or longer.

30/30/30 hard reset before and after each upgrade.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hard_reset_or_30/30/30
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried 30/30/30, and 2/2/2 they didn't work. Tried browsers and they didn't work. I try using the Linksys TFTP and that fails to get a response.
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wizzer wrote:
Tried 30/30/30, and 2/2/2 they didn't work. Tried browsers and they didn't work. I try using the Linksys TFTP and that fails to get a response.


Try the tftp2.exe tool, you can do a search here on the forums for it. I've seen this or something similar and it helped the person that couldn't get it done in other ways.

You could also run the command arp -a from a windows command prompt, just to make sure your router didn't change IP addresses. I'm sure it didn't, but you said:
Quote:
I try using the Linksys TFTP and that fails to get a response.
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
TFTP2 doesn't work either. Same error "Unable to get a response from the server." I know it didn't change IP address because I can still get on it through the web gui, it just looks messed up like that. Thanks for the help, though. I'm all ears for other help.

When i start the TFTP transfer, it knocks the router out so you can't access it at all.
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your using a wired connection with your IP set manually?
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes. I have the wired connection to 192.168.1.2
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wizzer wrote:
Yes. I have the wired connection to 192.168.1.2


Try changing that address to 192.168.1.100 and then try to tftp the firmware after a reset.
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nope. Still unable to get a response from the server.
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try unplugging the router and issue the command:

ping -n 100 192.168.1.1

While that's running plug the router back in and post the ttl values as the router boots back up.
Wizzer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=543ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
autobot
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1596

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do the same thing except press reset for 30 seconds instead of unplugging the router. Were looking for a ttl of 128.
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum