Lackluster speeds on WRT600n?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 3:56    Post subject: Lackluster speeds on WRT600n? Reply with quote
Just got a WRT600n and flashed it with the brainslayer micro v24-sp2 build 12318 (6/19/09) and it works fine but speeds over wireless could be better.

First of all, are any of the newer firmwares stable? The one I used was mentioned to be a very stable build. All I care about is reliability and speed, don't need any other features really.

I messed around with transferring files over N 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands and I could only get about 3.9MB/s (megabytes just to be clear) over 5ghz and about 2.8MB/s over 2.4. Both connections were at 270mbps and I followed the advice in this thread: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54419

There are about 6 2.4ghz networks around me but zero 5ghz ones.

I'm not too experienced with tweaking any of the other settings so any guides would be appreciated.

I tested this with 2 wireless computers. One had a Marvell TopDog EC85 wireless N card (gateway laptop) and the other was a desktop with a Dlink DWA-130 wireless N USB adapter (which can only pick up 2.4ghz I just found out :/ ) Both computers were in the same room as the router during testing and I tested by transferring files over FTP.

I read the WRT600n review on smallnetbuilder and they were easily getting 80mbps, I'm not even getting half that.

So what can I do? Tweak settings, upgrade wireless adapters (are those 2 crap?), newer firmware?

Thanks!

Edit: Oh forgot to add, I ran these tests with no encryption to try to maximize the speeds.
Sponsor
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
You should search for the user "Blazian" on posts about the best wireless settings. He has made them into a "science".

As for myself, the WRT600n works quite well on speed for both wireless and wired.

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:18    Post subject: Re: Lackluster speeds on WRT600n? Reply with quote
carmichael wrote:
Just got a WRT600n and flashed it with the brainslayer micro v24-sp2 build 12318 (6/19/09) and it works fine but speeds over wireless could be better.

Do you mean mini because last I knew micro is missing the gigabit switch driver and may not have support for both radios. Even if that's changed, micro should not be used on models that have more than 2MB flash.

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:33    Post subject: Re: Lackluster speeds on WRT600n? Reply with quote
phuzi0n wrote:

Do you mean mini because last I knew micro is missing the gigabit switch driver and may not have support for both radios. Even if that's changed, micro should not be used on models that have more than 2MB flash.


Yeah you're correct, I meant mini.
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
After some messing around I was able to get the speeds up to 6-8MB/s but my other goal was to be able to stream 1080p MKVs to my HTPC. Right now it's *almost* smooth but not quite, especially during high movement scenes (higher bitrate). Any ideas on how to fix that?
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been messing around with this for the past few days and I still can't get consistent results. Sometimes I can get 6MB/s sometimes it drops to below 100KB/s.

I'm leaning towards the wireless adapter in my two computers being crap, especially the Dlink DWA-130. Any recommendations on something better? Or should I just get another dd-wrt capable router and run it in bridge mode?
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 16:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
So how far away are the wireless devices? The reason I ask, if you are going to try and spend the money on a different hardware, maybe you should try getting those wireless devices a wired connection. It is something to consider. Besides, a few feet of wire is definitely cheaper than new hardware.
_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
Blazian
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 1359
Location: VA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 17:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
carmichael wrote:
I've been messing around with this for the past few days and I still can't get consistent results. Sometimes I can get 6MB/s sometimes it drops to below 100KB/s.

I'm leaning towards the wireless adapter in my two computers being crap, especially the Dlink DWA-130. Any recommendations on something better? Or should I just get another dd-wrt capable router and run it in bridge mode?


Is your USB ports on your PC have the most updated Drivers? I know I had XP on my desktop and I couldn't find the right drivers for it to be 2.0 capable with Sony Walkmans for longest time. Also do you have optimal settings on the DWA-130 and does it have it's latest driver also? Also, like crashfly asked how far away are you from the AP?

_________________
R7000 Kong vpn 23550-R01 (Main Router)
WRT610Nv2 converted E3000 vpnKong 21661 (RB)
WRT600N v1.1 BS std-nokaid 13637(5Ghz CB)(2.4Ghz AP)
WRT54G v5 BS micro 14684(RB)
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Latest drivers for everything. The computer is downstairs and about 25 feet south of where the router is. I've never ran cabling through walls before.

I'm upgrading from a stock linksys G router so obviously I could not mess with many of the settings so am I possibly missing something when setting up this router? I honestly don't know a whole lot about all the advanced settings on there.
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 20:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Something to consider is how your router is situated. If it is standing upright, or even the antennas are pointed straight up, that could account for a lot of your problems in that the signal radiates 'out' from the antenna. If you put one or both of the straight antenna on the side to where they are parallel with the ground, then the signal should start 'radiating' downward as well. But honestly, it would depend on how your router is set in the first place.
_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 20:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router is sitting horizontal with the antennas pointed up just like in this picture: http://www.ubergizmo.com/photos/2007/10/linksys-wrt600n.jpg
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Imagine the signal is a big circular donut shape with the antenna poking through the hole of the donut. You want to turn the antenna parallel to the floor so that the signal radiates downward rather than outward.

If there's any metal or dense material in the way then the signal will have a tough time getting through.

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 23:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well I got a Linksys WUSB600N adapter. I have it connected at 5ghz and it does work better and I can stream 720p mkvs but not a 1080p one, it still studders quite a bit.

This Linksys connection tool has a statistics box which shows the transmit and receive rates. I noticed that when I first connect they're both at 270mbps but when I start playing the video, the transmit rate always drops to 108mbps, sometimes 168 or so. The receive rate never actually stays at 270mbps, usually around 200-150 but I've seen it go lower. The numbers go back up to 270mbps once I stop playing the video. The rate in the status page of the router seems to jump all over the place as well, currently it's at 162mbps with nothing playing.

My signal strength jumps between 87%-100%, I did up to tx power to 100. Channel 36 (5.180ghz) seems to give me the best signal strength.

So what am I missing? I seem to have a good signal strength but the rates keep on jumping, especially when using the wireless. I can only get about 3.1MB/s when transferring a file via ftp.
csm746
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I finally got consistent high speed with 12426 & 27 eko mega 610n. Both 12461 & 12476 have been much slower. Like 81 & 108 when before I was getting 216 & 243. Same settings and locations. I am running NEWD-2 mega and have tried 610n 12476. Right now my speed in 54 mbs on a 5 ghz connection with 40 mhz channel width and I have tried a number of freqs. These last two builds have been very erratic in the speed dept. Same stuff carmichael is reporting.
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can I use the eko mega 12427 wrt610n on my wrt600n? I don't see a 12427 (or 12426) regular mini/mega builds.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum