WRT310N recovery.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11435
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 22:44    Post subject: WRT310N recovery. Reply with quote
Hi all,

I received a bricked WRT310N today. (To the user who sent me this unit...Brian M., please send me a PM...I accidentally deleted our previous communication and I can't remember your username...thanx)

This unit had a corrupt kernel but wouldn't allow the unit to boot, or load a tftp build of FW.

I installed Serial and JTAG headers so I could see what was happening with the unit.

The unit was not allowing tftp of any .bin

Flash chip is K8P3215UQB and BCM4705 processor (4785)

TJTAG would recognize the CPU chip...but not the flash memory chip. After a quick search...I found that others have had good luck using the /fc:19 switch with TJTAG for another Samsung 2M X16 chip.

The command line used was

tjtag -erase:kernel /fc:19 /noreset (done twice)
tjtag -erase:nvram /fc:19 /noreset

Then I tried to tftp the FW back on the unit (12476_mini.bin)...but I got the "Incorrect Header" message displayed in the Serial terminal, that indicated the CFE for this unit was looking for a header that started with "310N"

So...I created a mini build of FW with the proper header for the 310N unit. (also attached)

[EDIT] - I just found out that BrainSlayer builds have been created (at least since March) with the 310N specific header....The build I posted below is the Eko build 12476 NEWD mini that I inserted the header into.....so if you want an "official" Developer created file you can get them from BrianSlayer's directory....otherwise, feel free to use the one I posted below.

Once this build was loaded, the unit rebooted and functioned properly.

I now have a working WRT310N 4M/32M unit for testing dd-wrt.

Note the JTAG header was bent 90 degrees facing down and an access hole was cut in the case. The Serial is also bent 90 degrees so the contacts remain on the top of the mobo and can be accessed from the top of the mobo...contacts are on the underside of the mobo.


redhawk



DSCN0410.jpg
 Description:
WRT310N
 Filesize:  501.27 KB
 Viewed:  29263 Time(s)

DSCN0410.jpg



DSCN0417.jpg
 Description:
JTAG access from bottom of case.
 Filesize:  504.37 KB
 Viewed:  29263 Time(s)

DSCN0417.jpg



dd-wrt.v24_mini_wrt310N.bin
 Description:
Mini FW with 310N header for initial load with only CFE....not need to upgrade FW to FW

Download
 Filename:  dd-wrt.v24_mini_wrt310N.bin
 Filesize:  2.8 MB
 Downloaded:  2026 Time(s)


_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.


Last edited by redhawk0 on Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:41; edited 5 times in total
Sponsor
latinpapie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 274
Location: San Jose, Ca

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 22:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
great work! hey try flashing the 310N with the NEWD-2 builds i want to try it but i dont have a jtag cable in case it bricks
_________________
E3000 K2.6 Eko 16758 Mega
E3000 CB K2.6 EKO 16758 STD USB NAS
WRT610N V2 CB K2.6 Eko15337 STD Nokaid
WRT310N V2 CB K2.6 BS 15362 STD Nokaid
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11435
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 22:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
latinpapie wrote:
great work! hey try flashing the 310N with the NEWD-2 builds i want to try it but i dont have a jtag cable in case it bricks


I just posted in that thread...yes..it runs NEWD2 (nokaid tested)

redhawk

_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
latinpapie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 274
Location: San Jose, Ca

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 23:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
yeah as soon as i posted this one i looked over in the other thread and saw that post lol but thanks man! im going to upload the mini build on mine!
_________________
E3000 K2.6 Eko 16758 Mega
E3000 CB K2.6 EKO 16758 STD USB NAS
WRT610N V2 CB K2.6 Eko15337 STD Nokaid
WRT310N V2 CB K2.6 BS 15362 STD Nokaid
dellsweig
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1476
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 23:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
latinpapie wrote:
great work! hey try flashing the 310N with the NEWD-2 builds i want to try it but i dont have a jtag cable in case it bricks


I just posted in that thread...yes..it runs NEWD2 (nokaid tested)

redhawk


redhawk

now that you have a 310N to "play" with - why dont you try to enable the serial console on the WAN rj45
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11435
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 23:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
dellsweig wrote:
now that you have a 310N to "play" with - why dont you try to enable the serial console on the WAN rj45


Cool...I forgot about this. (I remember reading about it previously, but without a unit...it didn't quite register)

Is there a special cable that is needed for this....what is it called?

redhawk

_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
dellsweig
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1476
Location: New York, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 23:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
Cool...I forgot about this. (I remember reading about it previously, but without a unit...it didn't quite register)

Is there a special cable that is needed for this....what is it called?

redhawk


I got an rj45 to serial adapter - it lets you plug the wires onto whatever pin you want

These are used for cisco gear all the time

check this out

http://www.kame.net/~suz/cisco-cable.html
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13026
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 23:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
This cisco cable... This would be rs232 or is it ttl output from the router?
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11435
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 13:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I found the K8P3215UQB datasheet for the flash chip. I have sent it to Tornado for future JTAG support.

But...until then.../fc:19 with TJTAG3 is working to communicate with the device.

redhawk

_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
ggunawan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
I found the K8P3215UQB datasheet for the flash chip. I have sent it to Tornado for future JTAG support.

But...until then.../fc:19 with TJTAG3 is working to communicate with the device.

redhawk


guys, my brick router (WRT310N) need to recover, I just tried JTAG3 with jtag -erase:kernel /fc:19 /noreset and success twice, then tried with: jtag -erase:nvram /fc:19 /noreset and success also.
but the Power LED flashes and when I'm trying to ping to default IP 192.168.1.1 no respond. WIFI LED is lit. am I doing someting wrong or I'm missed step? and what is the meaning of 30/30/30.. thank you and apologize for my English.. Smile
HardReset
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 13:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
ggunawan wrote:
redhawk0 wrote:
I found the K8P3215UQB datasheet for the flash chip. I have sent it to Tornado for future JTAG support.

But...until then.../fc:19 with TJTAG3 is working to communicate with the device.

redhawk


guys, my brick router (WRT310N) need to recover, I just tried JTAG3 with jtag -erase:kernel /fc:19 /noreset and success twice, then tried with: jtag -erase:nvram /fc:19 /noreset and success also.
but the Power LED flashes and when I'm trying to ping to default IP 192.168.1.1 no respond. WIFI LED is lit. am I doing someting wrong or I'm missed step? and what is the meaning of 30/30/30.. thank you and apologize for my English.. Smile


Do you have a static IP set on your rig? 192.168.1.10, mask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.1...

_________________
PM for Pin Short Instructions Razz
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11435
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 13:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
ggunawan wrote:
and what is the meaning of 30/30/30.. thank you and apologize for my English.. Smile


You need to read the peacock thread at the top of this forum.

hard reset (30/30/30) is covered...as well as how to flash with tftp.

if you have cleared the kernel and nvram...you MUST reload the unit with firmware for it to work again. follow the tftp instructions (peacock step #11) and use the 310n.bin specific build for the first flash. (provided in the original post of this thread)

redhawk

_________________
Donations have dwindled so testing is limited to C/CB and R/RB modes on just a few newer models. No old router testing performed any longer.

Looking for more test units (newer models only) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
ggunawan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
@HardReset: do you mean my computer IP? I have set fixed to 192.168.1.2,

by the way, I'm trying to backup the CFE,KERNEL by using : jtag -backup:cfe /fc:19 /noreset
but the process show "fffffff fffffff fffffff" for each block, this happen both CFE and Kernel. is that mean that the CFE is blank? how to program it? I never use command jtag -erase:cfe ..
ggunawan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 13:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
ggunawan wrote:
and what is the meaning of 30/30/30.. thank you and apologize for my English.. Smile


You need to read the peacock thread at the top of this forum.

hard reset (30/30/30) is covered...as well as how to flash with tftp.

if you have cleared the kernel and nvram...you MUST reload the unit with firmware for it to work again. follow the tftp instructions (peacock step #11) and use the 310n.bin specific build for the first flash. (provided in the original post of this thread)

redhawk


@redhawk: thank you for your quick respond.
let me check the thread first.
HardReset
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
ggunawan wrote:
@HardReset: do you mean my computer IP? I have set fixed to 192.168.1.2,

by the way, I'm trying to backup the CFE,KERNEL by using : jtag -backup:cfe /fc:19 /noreset
but the process show "fffffff fffffff fffffff" for each block, this happen both CFE and Kernel. is that mean that the CFE is blank? how to program it? I never use command jtag -erase:cfe ..


Yep.. cfe is blank assuming your jtag setup is working.. I wonder how that happened Confused

Sorry about being vague with the static thing.. The first thing to do is ping the router after eraseing nvram & kernel. If the cfe is good, the router will respond. It is common for a user to forget to set a static IP in the rig. I do it all the time (forget).

Except for the flashchip being forced, your jtag setup see's the processor right.

If you cfe backup is all ff's, then you need to flash a cfe 1st.

_________________
PM for Pin Short Instructions Razz
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum