Lackluster speeds on WRT600n?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Blazian
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 1359
Location: VA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
carmichael wrote:
Can I use the eko mega 12427 wrt610n on my wrt600n? I don't see a 12427 (or 12426) regular mini/mega builds.


Yes it is safe.

_________________
R7000 Kong vpn 23550-R01 (Main Router)
WRT610Nv2 converted E3000 vpnKong 21661 (RB)
WRT600N v1.1 BS std-nokaid 13637(5Ghz CB)(2.4Ghz AP)
WRT54G v5 BS micro 14684(RB)
Sponsor
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Still no change with eko 12427. Only about 2.8MB/s via ftp and 1080p video still studders. I can actually get it to play smoother using VLC since it has a larger buffer but it's still far from perfect.

I'm running out of things to try Sad
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
One thing I didn't notice is that the signal quality in the router status -> wireless is only at about 33%, while the wireless adapter in my computer reports a signal quality of 87%-100% and 100% link quality. Maybe that has something to do with it? Increasing the TX power does not change it.
Blazian
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 1359
Location: VA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
carmichael wrote:
One thing I didn't notice is that the signal quality in the router status -> wireless is only at about 33%, while the wireless adapter in my computer reports a signal quality of 87%-100% and 100% link quality. Maybe that has something to do with it? Increasing the TX power does not change it.


The signal strength on the router is measuring something totally different from your PC status. It's just not the same thing. So what are all of your settings consisting of? I'm sure you are using the 5Ghz band Wide Channel 40 Ack Timing 0 and WPA/WPA2-AES security. Upper channel 44-60 usually work best for me (using 60 right now). You do have WMM Support Enabled, Frame Burst and Afterburner Disabled, right?

_________________
R7000 Kong vpn 23550-R01 (Main Router)
WRT610Nv2 converted E3000 vpnKong 21661 (RB)
WRT600N v1.1 BS std-nokaid 13637(5Ghz CB)(2.4Ghz AP)
WRT54G v5 BS micro 14684(RB)
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2026
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
carmichael wrote:
Still no change with eko 12427. Only about 2.8MB/s via ftp and 1080p video still studders. I can actually get it to play smoother using VLC since it has a larger buffer but it's still far from perfect.

I'm running out of things to try Sad

Did you read the post on changing the direction of your antennas to be parallel to the floor? It seems to me that you are radiating outward from the antennas, but not downward. The only reason I mention it again is because you have not mentioned trying it.

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Blazian wrote:

The signal strength on the router is measuring something totally different from your PC status. It's just not the same thing. So what are all of your settings consisting of? I'm sure you are using the 5Ghz band Wide Channel 40 Ack Timing 0 and WPA/WPA2-AES security. Upper channel 44-60 usually work best for me (using 60 right now). You do have WMM Support Enabled, Frame Burst and Afterburner Disabled, right?


Yes everything but the ack timing was set, changing it to 0 did not change the speed. I did save, apply, and then even rebooted the router to make sure everything was changed correctly. What exactly does the signal strength on the router mean?

Quote:
Did you read the post on changing the direction of your antennas to be parallel to the floor? It seems to me that you are radiating outward from the antennas, but not downward. The only reason I mention it again is because you have not mentioned trying it.


Yup I do have them parallel to the ground, I have the router and the adapter downstairs positioned so the only thing between them is the floor. Even changing the position of the antennas to vertical does not change my speeds.

Here are images of my settings:
http://www.shackpics.com/files/1_ixdqey7nlodqgdsytn7b.jpg
http://www.shackpics.com/files/2_nimbm10g2zts2kq3wypf.jpg
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 23:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Today I moved the HTPC upstairs a few feet from the router and it changed nothing. I've tried about 6 different DD-WRT firmwares, the stock linksys one, two different wireless adapters, 2.4ghz, 5ghz, and fiddled with every setting and I still can't get speeds above 3MB/s. I used the wireless adapter software to connect and XP's wireless configuration too. I even connected the wireless adapters to different computers and got the same results.

Do I have a defective router? This was a factory refurbished unit. Or am I just missing something absurdly simple?
Blazian
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 1359
Location: VA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
carmichael wrote:
Today I moved the HTPC upstairs a few feet from the router and it changed nothing. I've tried about 6 different DD-WRT firmwares, the stock linksys one, two different wireless adapters, 2.4ghz, 5ghz, and fiddled with every setting and I still can't get speeds above 3MB/s. I used the wireless adapter software to connect and XP's wireless configuration too. I even connected the wireless adapters to different computers and got the same results.

Do I have a defective router? This was a factory refurbished unit. Or am I just missing something absurdly simple?


What is your ISP service allow you anyway?

_________________
R7000 Kong vpn 23550-R01 (Main Router)
WRT610Nv2 converted E3000 vpnKong 21661 (RB)
WRT600N v1.1 BS std-nokaid 13637(5Ghz CB)(2.4Ghz AP)
WRT54G v5 BS micro 14684(RB)
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Blazian wrote:


What is your ISP service allow you anyway?


About 1.3MB/s on Comcast, but I'm doing an FTP transfer between two computers on the LAN so it's not limited by my Comcast speed.
Blazian
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 1359
Location: VA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
carmichael wrote:
Blazian wrote:


What is your ISP service allow you anyway?


About 1.3MB/s on Comcast, but I'm doing an FTP transfer between two computers on the LAN so it's not limited by my Comcast speed.


That's your problem right there. FTP seems to always be slower than anything else. I believe if this is now you are trying to do your transfers you will never get the speeds that you want even if you were wired. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

_________________
R7000 Kong vpn 23550-R01 (Main Router)
WRT610Nv2 converted E3000 vpnKong 21661 (RB)
WRT600N v1.1 BS std-nokaid 13637(5Ghz CB)(2.4Ghz AP)
WRT54G v5 BS micro 14684(RB)
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Blazian wrote:


That's your problem right there. FTP seems to always be slower than anything else. I believe if this is now you are trying to do your transfers you will never get the speeds that you want even if you were wired. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.


If I have both computers hard wired then I get 20MB/s over FTP. That's megabytes, not megabits.
Blazian
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 1359
Location: VA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does it work when you have it hardwired?
_________________
R7000 Kong vpn 23550-R01 (Main Router)
WRT610Nv2 converted E3000 vpnKong 21661 (RB)
WRT600N v1.1 BS std-nokaid 13637(5Ghz CB)(2.4Ghz AP)
WRT54G v5 BS micro 14684(RB)
carmichael
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Blazian wrote:
Does it work when you have it hardwired?


Yeah streaming the 1080p mkv is 100% smooth when hardwired.
hans_lt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not expert, but:
Is router involved, when transferring data between 2 PC? If both are on the same band (2.4 or 5) AP allows them to to talk directly.
At least i do expect that with dd-wrt default setting under wireless advanced: "AP isolation - disable".
Your have low speed as 2 PC hardly talk each other.
Or router has to relay data - additional delay and lower speed.

But i'm novice - maybe wrong idea.

_________________
WRT610N V1, CFE .16, 12V 3.3 A PS, OC:300 Mhz, DD-WRT big 14584M Eko K2.6 + 1TG NAS USB 2.0

Wl0 25 mW N-only, Wl1 25 mW Mixed, 2.4+2.4 Ghz.
greekstile
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Posts: 458
Location: Lost

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 13:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you doing this streaming on the 5GHz band, or 2.4GHz band? I would recommend the 5GHz band, 40MHz channels, upper, 60. Also, I suggest enabling Frame Burst.

Also, if that isn't working, give BS build 11697 a try. It was an earlier build (5 months old), but it always gave me some of the best range and speed on my WRT600Ns.

_________________
WRT600N v1.0 & v1.1 - Eko 12548M std-nokaid NEWD-2
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum