wrt54gs2 v.1 router

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
sozocomp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 13:53    Post subject: wrt54gs2 v.1 router Reply with quote
can someone help me please,
i have a new linksys wrt54gs2 v.1 router and would like to install dd-wrt on it. my question is what build of dd-wrt do i use on this router. all i can find information on is the wrt54gs routers.
Sponsor
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is it a supported router? I think the G2 is, but have not heard of the GS2 previously.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11473
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 16:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can we get the FCC number for that unit please.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
sozocomp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 16:47    Post subject: router numbers Reply with quote
thanks for reply guys,
redhawk0 the numbers i found are
SN# CUQ01J380850
and there was a FG-1000-03918
i did not see a FCC number
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11473
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 18:12    Post subject: Re: router numbers Reply with quote
sozocomp wrote:
thanks for reply guys,
redhawk0 the numbers i found are
SN# CUQ01J380850
and there was a FG-1000-03918
i did not see a FCC number



Hmmm...we see the model listed on the Linky web site...but I can't find the FCC info. I searched all 362 of them for a new WRT54GS2 model...none to be found.

The FCC number may be on the inside of the unit..usually (but not always), its on the sticker on the bottom along with the SN.

redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
sozocomp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 18:27    Post subject: FCC Number Reply with quote
thanks again redhawk
i got the numbers off the sticker on the bottom of router.
do you think i could call linksys and get the FCC number

sozocomp
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 18:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.linksysbycisco.com/US/en/support/WRT54GS2/download

goggling the device yields nothing..

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked


Last edited by barryware on Wed May 20, 2009 18:53; edited 1 time in total
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 18:43    Post subject: Re: router numbers Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
The FCC number may be on the inside of the unit..usually (but not always), its on the sticker on the bottom along with the SN.

redhawk


Perhaps non-US?

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 11473
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
I knew this looked familiar. We haven't figure it out yet on this thread either.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=298930


It could be a relabeled G2V1 and the new G2v1.3 is the new model.

When we look at the FW header for the GS2v1...we notice it has a different header than the original G2v1...so we are not advising that the current G2v1 procedure be tried on this router.


redhawk

_________________
I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
sozocomp
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 22:18    Post subject: WRT54GS2 linksys router Reply with quote
does this mean that dd-wrt cant be used on this router YET. thanks for the help.

sozocomp
meowingcookie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 4:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
MODEL - WRT54GS2 V1
FCC ID: Q87-WRT54G2V1
IC: 3839A-WRT54G2V1
SERIAL: CUQ---







Broadcom BCM5354KFBG
HK0906 P13
909737 R2

FOXCONN
2R1220-0152-AF
8AKMP
(two rectangles next to the ports)

hynix 844A
HY57V6416OFTP-7
KOR
(chip to the right of the main broadcom)

MX 8084220
29LV160CTTC-70G
(chip above the broadcom, to the front)

sticker inside:
NDK2CDS
7310-003A2000R LF
72004547-00
bryanburke
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
From looking at Linksys' support website for this product, methinks that this is simply the WRT54G2 "with Speed Booster".

In fact, it looks like it might have the same chipset as the G2: BCM5354 (see post above).
bryanburke
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 22:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried to flash my WRT54GS2 today with DD-WRT, and the instructions for the WRT54G2 do not work. It did not brick the router, but the TFTP program simply gave an error message for the VXWorks-prep.bin file: "Wrong file." So, until the DD-WRT developers figure this one out, we'll have to stick with the stock firmware.

But, if you would like to use your new WRT54GS2 as a Wireless Access Point, you can actually trick the stock firmware into doing this. Here's how:

1) Disconnect the WRT54GS2 from the other router or modem (from which the internet connection originates), and connect it to your computer via one of the ethernet ports (NOT the WAN port).
2) Go to the Web Interface of the WRT54GS2 (default is 192.168.1.1).
3) Enter username and password (default is "admin" for both).
4) Under Setup -> Basic Setup, do the following:

    4A) Set "Internet Connection Type" to "Automatic Configuration - DHCP".
    4B) Set the "Local IP Address" to something in the same LAN as the other router or modem you wish to connect to. Make sure this IP address is outside of the other device's DHCP pool. For example, if your other router or modem has the IP 192.168.1.1 and its DHCP pool starts at 192.168.1.10, set the WRT54GS2's IP to 192.168.1.2.
    4C) Set the "Subnet Mask" to the same subnet as your other router or modem (default is 255.255.255.0).
    4D) Set "DHCP Server" to "Disable".

5) Click "Save Settings" and wait for the router to adjust itself into a comfortable position.
6) Now connect the WRT54GS2 to the other router or modem via ethernet. Make sure you connect the ethernet cable to one of the four LAN ports on the WRT54GS2, NOT the WAN port.
7) That's it! Now you're connecting "through" your WRT54GS2 to your other device, something Linksys would like to charge you over $100 to do otherwise! Now you can set up your wireless settings to your preferences. Enjoy!
meowingcookie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 20:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had attempted the same thing as above, invalid file is always the response. Hopefully DD-WRT can get a working vxworks killer :)

If you need any more information from the router, let me know. I do not have anything to directly access however(the cable you connect to the board).
meowingcookie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 May 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
looking thru the bin files, I found this on the official firmware of the wrt54gs2 at 2C40
"VxWorks 5.5 Jan 23, 2009, 16:41:15"
and on the wrtg54g2 at 1768F
"VxWorks 5.4.2 Mar 17, 2009 12:10:38"


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=308405#308405

I noticed the v1.3 of the WRT54G is running the same vxworks.
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum