DST - Tonight (tomorrow morning)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13026
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 22:34    Post subject: DST - Tonight (tomorrow morning) Reply with quote
You boys got your $hit set right for DST starting tomorrow morning @ 2:00am (in the US)

2nd sunday in March to 1st sunday in November.

Just trying to head off tomorrows posts in regards to: "My time didn't update, what do I do"

Should be added to the "Peacock" sticky Razz

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Sponsor
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 22:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
There goes my uptime record Crying or Very sad
_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13026
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 22:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not my gateway.. I wrecked that last week but still my record:
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
hpsenicka
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 825
Location: near Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can apply these settings without rebooting, so why would uptime be affected?
soulstace
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 6427

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was wondering the same thing.

maybe because the Apply button sometimes makes the router reboot.
kruegs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yup, I hit apply and my router rebooted. Cool
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
yup...that first page is a reboot apply.
_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
mazilo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:51    Post subject: Re: DST - Tonight (tomorrow morning) Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
You boys got your $hit set right for DST starting tomorrow morning @ 2:00am (in the US)

2nd sunday in March to 1st sunday in November.

Just trying to head off tomorrows posts in regards to: "My time didn't update, what do I do"

My WRT54GS v3 runs on DDWRT v24sp1 is configured as you mentioned above and today its clock still hasn't sprung forward. Sad

_________________
Mazi
UK non-geo DID #: +447031942574
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13026
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:56    Post subject: Re: DST - Tonight (tomorrow morning) Reply with quote
mazilo wrote:
barryware wrote:
You boys got your $hit set right for DST starting tomorrow morning @ 2:00am (in the US)

2nd sunday in March to 1st sunday in November.

Just trying to head off tomorrows posts in regards to: "My time didn't update, what do I do"

My WRT54GS v3 runs on DDWRT v24sp1 is configured as you mentioned above and today its clock still hasn't sprung forward. Sad


Mine either..

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Slione
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 215
Location: Michigan

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 13:15    Post subject: Re: DST - Tonight (tomorrow morning) Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
mazilo wrote:
barryware wrote:
You boys got your $hit set right for DST starting tomorrow morning @ 2:00am (in the US)

2nd sunday in March to 1st sunday in November.

Just trying to head off tomorrows posts in regards to: "My time didn't update, what do I do"

My WRT54GS v3 runs on DDWRT v24sp1 is configured as you mentioned above and today its clock still hasn't sprung forward. Sad


Mine either..


Or mine...... Crying or Very sad

_________________
WRT1900AC v1-build r30731
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13026
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 13:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just hit "apply settings" on the main setup page without changing anything and the time updated, as well as the router rebooting so uptime is back to zero.

Is there a way to force the update without having the router reboot? A command via the admin page or telnet?

How often does it update itself? Going through the syslog file, it doesn't look like even once a day.

Edit: It does not look link an entry is made in the syslog in regards to contacting the NTP server and checking / updating the time. The most I can find is when traff data is committed to nvram.

No big deal.. Just one of those "have you ever wondered why" things.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 14:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mine had not updated either, so I disabled and enabled NTP server, and it was back to being correct.

Barryware's method would have saved me one of two reboots....

Good thing I don't use my router webgui when I need to know the time.....my bridged router can be wrong for a few weeks. Not losing my uptime on that one!

I only need my time correct for time based access restrictions. Can't think of another use for them. Is there one?

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Luniz2k1
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 1261
Location: Ohio USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 17:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Run the following:
Code:
ntpclient pool.ntp.org
stopservice process_monitor
startservice process_monitor


Give a sec or 2 between each command. No reboot needed. Uptime will not be lost.

_________________
(05/02/17) std - 31924
Linksys WRT400N
Buffalo WHR-G300N

Got OpenDNS?
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13026
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Luniz2k1 wrote:
Run the following:
Code:
ntpclient pool.ntp.org
stopservice process_monitor
startservice process_monitor


Give a sec or 2 between each command. No reboot needed. Uptime will not be lost.


You my friend... Are the Man!

Edit: It worked perfectly Very Happy

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
jfranklin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 21:42    Post subject: Setting DST on old build Reply with quote
I'm still running v23 SP2 std on my public facing device, and for the last few years have just accepted that time will be off for a few weeks, but I'm now in a position that time based access restrictions are needed, and want to know if there is a way to update the zone info without flashing to a newer build.

If I have to update so be it, just would rather keep what I have as it's working fine.

(I did search the forums for this, but didn't come up with anything yet.)
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum