How do I reset a La Fonera v24 SP1 to default settings?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:27    Post subject: How do I reset a La Fonera v24 SP1 to default settings? Reply with quote
I've been trying to do this with no success for the past few days.

I followed the directions as seen at: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/La_Fonera_Flashing#Resetting_NVRAM

Which did not work for me.
I detailed my results of that attempt here in the forum at:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=47163

Any fresh ideas?
Thank You Very Much!
Idea Very Happy Question
Sponsor
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1377
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, if you want to reset this to default
DD-WRT SP 1 settings

You can goto your web interface - usually 192.168.1.1

and reset default settings.

You can also use the 30-30-30 option

1) with power on, hold reset button for 30 seconds
2) while still holding the reset button, unplug the fonera, then wait for 30 secs,
3) while STILL holding reset button, plug fonera back in and hold for 30 seconds

This should have you holding the reset button for 90 seconds total, all setting re-enabled by default.

Now if you are trying to reset your fonera back to Fonera software, NOT DD-WRT loaded,
you have to get the original fonera firmware to re-load through redboot.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
Netgear Nighthawk R7000 - DD-WRT Build R44251
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT IPQ806x Trunk R14185 5.4 Kernel

TP-Link Archer C7 V3 - DD-WRT Build R44085
Linksys E3000 - FreshTomato Build MIPSR2 2020.5
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 0:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank You for your reply.
I'm very familiar with the 30-30-30 method and
tried that first (multiple times) before moving to more drastic measures or getting on the forum to ask.
Sorry I did not clarify I had already tried that.
There also is no web interface available or SSID
broadcast any longer ever since I tried the 30-30-30
originally.

I do have redboot and seems I'm going to have to start the entire flashing of the device process all over again from scratch.

I was hoping to learn something and be able to fix what is wrong without completely shotgunning the problem with an entirely new flash.

Probably got a corrupt flash or file missing at this point.

Steve
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1377
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 7:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you at least have redboot, the safest way is to restart from scratch.

do an

fis init -f

to completely wipe the flash except for redboot.

then re-start from flashing the linux.bin file.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
Netgear Nighthawk R7000 - DD-WRT Build R44251
Linksys EA8500 - OpenWRT IPQ806x Trunk R14185 5.4 Kernel

TP-Link Archer C7 V3 - DD-WRT Build R44085
Linksys E3000 - FreshTomato Build MIPSR2 2020.5
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 23:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been doing this for a week and I just tried it again.

I continually after each try end up with a La Fonera 2100 box that run redboot but will not get past that point. it never loads DD-WRT and becomes available at 192.168.1.1 nor does it broadcast an SSID.

It is continually pingable and telnettable at 192.168.1.254

I have followed the flashing instructions carefully
and have followed your instructions for initializing the flash.

I have also tried the instructions for reseting to defaults.

Here are the istructions I am working off of
and what I see when I do a fis list

What am I missing?? or what is missing in the isntructions? I seeminly don't have anything working o nthe flash other than redboot.

Everything goes 'normal' with no errors when I follow
the flash procedure all the way to reset where I lose the telnet connection.

There is a newer flashing procedure for v24 RC7 and later:

fis init
load -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin
fis create linux
The last command, 'fis create linux', takes a considerable amount of time: 45 minutes or more in some cases. Do not lose your patience and power-cycle your FON, or you'll have to start Steps 8 and 9 over again!

Your telnet session may terminate during the "fis create linux" process - just try to re-establish a connection (at IP 192.168.1.254:9000) from time to time. You will be ready for the next step, when you get the redboot prompt again: RedBoot>

Do not reboot yet because boot script needs to be modified:

RedBoot> fconfig
Run script at boot: true
Boot script:
.. fis load -l vmlinux.bin.l7
.. exec
Enter script, terminate with empty line
>> fis load -l linux
>> exec
>>
Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 10
Use BOOTP for network configuration: false
Gateway IP address:
Local IP address: 192.168.1.254
Local IP address mask: 255.255.255.0
Default server IP address: <blank>
Console baud rate: 9600
GDB connection port: 9000
Force console for special debug messages: false
Network debug at boot time: false
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xa87e0000-0xa87f0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xa87e0000: .
RedBoot>reset


At this point I only have redboot working..
when you power it up it's telnetable at 192.168.1.254
and it NEVER times out like a normal working DD-WRT.

RedBoot> fis list
Name FLASH addr Mem addr Length Entry point
RedBoot 0xA8000000 0xA8000000 0x00030000 0x00000000
linux 0xA8030000 0x80041000 0x00622000 0x80041000
FIS directory 0xA87E0000 0xA87E0000 0x0000F000 0x00000000
RedBoot config 0xA87EF000 0xA87EF000 0x00001000 0x00000000
RedBoot>
remaker
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like you never created an "nvram" file in the flash?

I haven't used the Fonera, but AR430W needs an NVRAM file, so I suppose Fonera does, too.

I think you need
fis create -f 0xA83D0000 -l 0x00010000 -n nvram

And it is omitted from the post RC7 instructions. But I think it is still needed. It is needed in AR430W.
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 15:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Omitted?
Yes I'd like to find out if that's the problem is a key item missing from the instructions?
How to we verify and get it back in the istructions?
Repeatedly for a week now I've flashed and keep creating just a box that runs redboot continuously.
It comes up in redboot and stays in redboot.
I can ping or telnet to 192.168.1.254 all day.
It does not time out.

Here's an actual transaction of me flashing the unit and creating just a redboot box :-)


RedBoot> ip_address -l 192.168.1.254/24 -h 192.168.1.21
IP: 192.168.1.254/255.255.255.0, Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Default server: 192.168.1.21
RedBoot> fis init
About to initialize [format] FLASH image system - continue (y/n)? y
*** Initialize FLASH Image System
... Erase from 0xa87e0000-0xa87f0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xa87e0000: .
RedBoot> load -r -b 0x80041000 linux.bin
Using default protocol (TFTP)
Raw file loaded 0x80041000-0x80662fff, assumed entry at 0x80041000
RedBoot> fis create linux
... Erase from 0xa8030000-0xa8652000: ...................................................................................................
... Program from 0x80041000-0x80663000 at 0xa8030000: ...................................................................................................
... Erase from 0xa87e0000-0xa87f0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xa87e0000: .
RedBoot> fconfig
Run script at boot: true
Boot script:
Enter script, terminate with empty line
>>
Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 10
Use BOOTP for network configuration: false
Gateway IP address:
Local IP address: 192.168.1.254
Local IP address mask: 255.255.255.0
Default server IP address:
Console baud rate: 9600
GDB connection port: 9000
Force console for special debug messages: false
Network debug at boot time: false
Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
... Erase from 0xa87e0000-0xa87f0000: .
... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xa87e0000: .
RedBoot>reset
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
>>I think you need
>>fis create -f 0xA83D0000 -l 0x00010000 -n nvram

Would this also apply to the Fonera or is that specific to the broadcom hardware?

I really don't want to brick my unit ;-)

Also is there a detailed explanation anywhere here that really explains what's going on? I'd really like to learn more how it actually works and get a little frusterated with being in the dark on this.

Like what exactly does the nvram do? and why do you pick that address pace? just an arbitrary block size?
or is the software expecting it to be there?

I'm guessing the nvram is where all the user setting s get stored.

:-)

Steve
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 17:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I ran fis create -f 0xA83D0000 -l 0x00010000 -n nvram

no errors

Re-ran fconfig

the reset.

I still only have a continuously reachable redboot box at 192.168.1.254

any idea what else I might be missing?
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 17:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
RedBoot> fis list
Name FLASH addr Mem addr Length Entry point
RedBoot 0xA8000000 0xA8000000 0x00030000 0x00000000
linux 0xA8030000 0x80041000 0x00622000 0x80041000
nvram 0xA83D0000 0xA83D0000 0x00010000 0xFFFFFFFF
FIS directory 0xA87E0000 0xA87E0000 0x0000F000 0x00000000
RedBoot config 0xA87EF000 0xA87EF000 0x00001000 0x00000000
RedBoot>
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've started all over again and tried flashing an older version from scratch.

Each steps goes as planned and with no errors.
WHen all done and I issue the last command (reset)
The device reboots but never runs DD-WRT.

I just get a box that is runnign redboot (with no timeout) and always can be reached at 192.168.1.254

What gives?
What am I missing?
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK I think I see where I'm going wrong.

RedBoot> fconfig
Run script at boot: true
Boot script:
Enter script, terminate with empty line
>>
Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 10
Use BOOTP for network configuration: false

I'm not entering any boot script!
Didn't realize (until now) I'm supposed to put something in there
other than just hitting enter.

Der!
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
There's got to be a SERIOUS lack of proper documentation going on here.
I simply want to flash this unit with V24 SP1
and it ain't going very easily.
I'm making slow progress.

Now if I manually

fis load -l linux

It tries to run.

I see the WLAN flash 2 times then the box reboots
and goes back into continuous redboot.

I also tried fis create nvram and it worked the same
with or without nvram created.

The isntructions for v24 sp1 don't even mention nvram at all!

Nor do they say (at all) that you have to go back and do certain steps from old firmware releases.

This sucks!!

I'm missing steps and they're omitted from the documentation..

-OR I'm still tripping over myself and missing something. :)

But really.. for a whole week now?



HELP!
Please send me a padded room! now! Smile
michiganbroadband
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK I got it working finally.
Between actually flashing some old software onto it and getting it to go and then again starting over I have it working.

As it turns out NO root fs was needed at all
just linux

I have no idea why so many tries (from scratch)
would not load.

I was manually doing a..

fis load -l linux
exec

but only would get it rebooting and sticking in redboot.

I notice it looks like redboot has a logging to network feature I should try it out might be handy as dd-wrt is loading (& in some cases faling).

Seems that since I actually put those into the boot scrip it now works just fine..

I was able to boot the old software as a test just fine manually.

I don't know why this was so hard for me but hey.

I seem to have it under control now and it's working.

Here's all that's needed to be in flash for a working

V24 sp1 on a Fonera 2100

RedBoot> fis list
Name FLASH addr Mem addr Length Entry point
RedBoot 0xA8000000 0xA8000000 0x00030000 0x00000000
linux 0xA8030000 0x80041000 0x00660000 0x80041000
FIS directory 0xA87E0000 0xA87E0000 0x0000F000 0x00000000
RedBoot config 0xA87EF000 0xA87EF000 0x00001000 0x00000000
RedBoot>

Take care & Cheers!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum